Our News on Newswise

Newswise: CF0I4369_1.jpg

Community science birding data does not yet capture global bird trends

Ornithologists at the University of Utah say that community science bird data shows different trends in bird populations than professional bird surveys do, especially in developing countries. More observations are needed, the researchers say, both...
7-Jul-2020 1:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Sorenson Impact Center names impact investor Geoff Davis CEO

Geoff Davis will take on the new role of CEO for the Sorenson Impact Center at the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah. He begins his new position on July 13, 2020.
30-Jun-2020 12:10 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: testoptionalbanner16x9.jpg

University of Utah to drop SAT/ACT test requirements

In a two-year pilot study, the University of Utah is electing to make the submission of standardized test scores, the SAT or ACT, optional for applicants beginning with the fall 2021 admissions cycle.
26-Jun-2020 10:20 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Know the risks of investing in forests

Some governments are counting on planted forests as offsets for greenhouse gas emissions—a sort of climate investment. But as with any investment, it’s important to understand the risks. If a forest goes bust, researchers say, much of that...
15-Jun-2020 1:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

David Eccles School of Business “Navigating COVID-19” Webinars Inform Utah’s Coronavirus Crisis Policies and Business Outcomes

A COVID-19 webinar series at the University of Utah’s David Eccles School of Business has helped shape Utah's formal response to the coronavirus pandemic while counseling hundreds of businesses statewide – a practical and service-driven model...
17-Jun-2020 6:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Utah’s Arches Continue to Whisper Their Secrets

Two new studies from University of Utah researchers show what can be learned from a short seismic checkup of natural rock arches and how erosion sculpts some arches—like the iconic Delicate Arch—into shapes that lend added strength.
11-Jun-2020 1:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Laudromat_Pexels.jpg

Women’s Communication Shapes Division of Labor in Household

A new study led a team that analyzed the role that communication plays in the division of household labor. They found that partner communication is the most important factor linking the division of household labor to satisfaction in the...
9-Jun-2020 1:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

A sound treatment

University of Utah biomedical engineering assistant professor Jan Kubanek has discovered that sound waves of high frequency (ultrasound) can be emitted into a patient’s brain to alter his or her state. It’s a non-invasive treatment that...
20-May-2020 2:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

The University of Utah, located in Salt Lake City in the foothills of the Wasatch Range, is the flagship institution of higher learning in Utah. Founded in 1850, it serves more than 32,000 students from across the United States and the world. With more than 90 major subjects at the undergraduate level and more than 100 major fields of study at the graduate level, including law and medicine, the university prepares students to live and compete in the global workplace. Learn more about all the U has to offer online at http://www.utah.edu.

Experts

Contacts

Brooke Adams
Executive Communications Manager/Senior News Writer
Social/behavioral sciences, social work, law, business, MPA, MPP, Center for Veterans Studies

brooke.adams@utah.edu

801-587-2130

Morgan Aguilar
Communications Specialist

Morgan.aguilar@utah.edu

801-581-4638

Jana Cunningham
communications specialist
humanities, fine arts, graduate school, education, parks/recreation/tourism, architecture+planning

Jana.Cunningham@utah.edu

801-581-3862

Katie Drake
Communications Specialist
Business

Katie.Drake@Eccles.Utah.edu

801-971-9626

Paul Gabrielsen
Science writer
chemistry atmospheric science geology math hydrology biology

paul.gabrielsen@utah.edu

801-585-6861

Vincent Horiuchi
Public Relations Associate
engineering

Vincent.Horiuchi@utah.edu

801-585-7499

Thad Kelling
Marketing & Public Relations Director
Lassonde Entrepreneur Institute

thad.kelling@utah.edu

801-587-8811

Sheena McFarland
Associate Director
Marketing & Communications, David Eccles School of Business

sheena.mcfarland@eccles.utah.edu

801-587-5796

Libby Mitchell
Managing Editor

libby.mitchell@utah.edu

Lisa Potter
Science Writer
Metallurgical engineering, mining engineering, biology, physics, astronomy, anthropology, geography

lisa.potter@utah.edu

801-585-3093

Annalisa Purser
Communications Specialist
Academic affairs, continuing education, equity & diversity, sustainability, student affairs

Annalisa.Purser@utah.edu

801-581-7295

Melinda Rogers
Media Relations Manager
S.J. Quinney College of Law

melinda.rogers@utah.edu

801-587-2130

Nakaiya Stucki
Billing

n.Stucki@utah.edu

Shawn Wood
Communications Specialist
human resources, alumni, auxiliary services, commuter services, facilities, information technologies

shawn.wood@utah.edu

801-585-9244

Twitter

close
1.68348