Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 627c10bec6c71_Figure-1-BK-V2-01WEB.jpg

Without Roe v. Wade, Millions Will Travel Farther for Abortion Care

The median distance to a clinic would increase from 40 miles to 113.5 miles. State-level legislation “abortion care deserts” that will disproportionally effect women of color and the impoverished. Large swathes of the country would experience a...
11-May-2022 3:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Long-term planning projections highlight economic challenges, opportunities in Utah’s coal counties

The Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute today released a report that references the institute’s 40-year population and employment planning projections to highlight how scheduled power plant closures and declining coal production will affect Utah’s...
9-May-2022 12:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Sorenson Impact Center Launches Putting Public Assets to Work Incubator

The Sorenson Impact Center, in partnership with the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) and Urban3, is launching, ‘Putting Assets to Work’, an incubator program designed to help cities and counties leverage existing government assets...
27-Apr-2022 1:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Ten Ideas to Tackle America's Housing Affordability Crisis

Today, Ivory Innovations announced the Top 10 finalists for the 2022 Ivory Prize for Housing Affordability, a national award to recognize ambitious, feasible, and scalable solutions to housing affordability.
21-Apr-2022 11:15 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62603bc07d77b_Tricerabopshorridus-small.jpg

Natural History Museum of Utah releases Triceratops Traits, a new investigation for middle school science classes

In Triceratops Traits, students work alongside paleontologists to solve an evolutionary mystery by analyzing and interpreting data from the fossil record under the premise that natural laws have operated the same throughout the history of life on...
20-Apr-2022 1:10 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62433ccc2bf58_PacificIslanderStudiesWEB.jpg

U to expand Pacific Islands Studies with momentous $1M Mellon Grant

The University of Utah’s School for Cultural and Social Transformation (Transform) has been awarded a $1,000,000 grant from the Mellon Foundation to support growth and outreach in its Pacific Islands (PI) Studies program. The award will expand...
29-Mar-2022 1:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 622f6eac7b2a9_Ramon-Barthelemy_MattCrawley_WEB.jpg

First-ever study of LGBT+ experiences in physics reveals red flags

LGBT+ physicists often face harassment and other behaviors that make them leave the profession, according to a new study, which comes as physics as a discipline has attempted to grapple with equity and inclusion issues. The authors found that the...
14-Mar-2022 12:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Salt Lake County rental rates increase by double digits in 2021; vacancy at 2%

Salt Lake County’s housing shortage and high home prices have led to the “tightest” apartment market in the county’s history, according to research released today by the Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute.
9-Mar-2022 7:05 PM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

The University of Utah, located in Salt Lake City in the foothills of the Wasatch Range, is the flagship institution of higher learning in Utah. Founded in 1850, it serves more than 32,000 students from across the United States and the world. With more than 90 major subjects at the undergraduate level and more than 100 major fields of study at the graduate level, including law and medicine, the university prepares students to live and compete in the global workplace. Learn more about all the U has to offer online at http://www.utah.edu.

Contacts

Morgan Aguilar
Communications Specialist

Morgan.aguilar@utah.edu

801-581-4638

Amy Choate-Nielsen
Communications Specialist, Associate Editor University of Utah Magazine

Amy.Choate@utah.edu

801-830-9434

Jana Cunningham
communications specialist
humanities, fine arts, graduate school, education, parks/recreation/tourism, architecture+planning

Jana.Cunningham@utah.edu

801-581-3862

Katie Drake
Communications Specialist
Business

Katie.Drake@Eccles.Utah.edu

801-971-9626

Paul Gabrielsen
Science writer
chemistry atmospheric science geology math hydrology biology

paul.gabrielsen@utah.edu

801-585-6861

Vince Horiuchi
Public Relations Associate
engineering

Vincent.Horiuchi@utah.edu

801-585-7499

Thad Kelling
Marketing & Public Relations Director
Lassonde Entrepreneur Institute

thad.kelling@utah.edu

801-587-8811

Sheena McFarland
Associate Director
Marketing & Communications, David Eccles School of Business

sheena.mcfarland@eccles.utah.edu

801-587-5796

Libby Mitchell
Managing Editor

libby.mitchell@utah.edu

Lisa Potter
Science Writer
Metallurgical engineering, mining engineering, biology, physics, astronomy, anthropology, geography

lisa.potter@utah.edu

801-585-3093

Annalisa Purser
Communications Specialist
Academic affairs, continuing education, equity & diversity, sustainability, student affairs

Annalisa.Purser@utah.edu

801-581-7295

Tracy Rees
Marketing and Communications Specialist

tracy.rees@utah.edu

801.910.8135

Melinda Rogers
Media Relations Manager
S.J. Quinney College of Law

melinda.rogers@utah.edu

801-587-2130

Nakaiya Stucki
Billing

n.Stucki@utah.edu

Shawn Wood
Communications Specialist
human resources, alumni, auxiliary services, commuter services, facilities, information technologies

shawn.wood@utah.edu

801-585-9244

Twitter

close
0.4715