Our News on Newswise

Using Emotion and Humor to Combat Science Misinformation

University of Utah professor publishes article in Proceedings of National Academics of Sciences examining the use of humor in science information.
12-Apr-2021 3:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Why lists of worldwide bird species disagree

Biologists set out to compare four main lists of bird species worldwide to find out how the lists differ—and why. They found that although the lists agree on most birds, disagreements in Southeast Asia and the Southern Ocean could mean that some...
7-Apr-2021 1:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: TaoGao.jpg

Recharge your batteries

New research from University of Utah chemical engineering assistant professor uncovers the physics behind how quickly lithium-ion batteries can recharge. With this new information, new batteries could be developed to recharge much faster than...
24-Mar-2021 6:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Automatic trail cameras keep wildlife research going during pandemic

Green and his colleagues are sharing what they’ve learned about the importance of camera traps for wildlife conservation and management. As the COVID-19 pandemic has shown, they write, automatic camera traps are good tools for a wide range of...
23-Mar-2021 5:25 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Eccles School’s MBA Online Program ranks Top 15 in the world by Financial Times

The MBA Online program at the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah has ranked No. 1 in the West, No. 6 in the United States, and No. 13 globally in the 2021 Financial Times Online MBA rankings.
22-Mar-2021 11:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: ScreenShot2021-03-18at10.22.29AM.jpg

Organic crystals’ ice-forming superpowers

At the heart of ice crystals, often, are aerosol particles – dust in the atmosphere onto which ice can form more easily than in the open air. It’s a bit mysterious how this happens, though. New research shows how crystals of organic molecules, a...
18-Mar-2021 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Figure8_Plumbing_geometry_v11.jpg

Scientists plumb the depths of the world’s tallest geyser

U scientists were ready to jump at the opportunity to get an unprecedented look at the workings of Steamboat Geyser. Their findings provide a picture of the depth of the geyser as well as a redefinition of a long-assumed relationship between the...
15-Mar-2021 3:10 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Capture.PNG

Warming climate slows tropical birds’ population growth rates

Monte Neate-Clegg and colleagues tracked the demographics of 21 bird species over 30 years of observations from a mountain forest in Tanzania. For at least six of the species, their population declined over 30 years could be most attributable to...
9-Mar-2021 5:10 PM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

The University of Utah, located in Salt Lake City in the foothills of the Wasatch Range, is the flagship institution of higher learning in Utah. Founded in 1850, it serves more than 32,000 students from across the United States and the world. With more than 90 major subjects at the undergraduate level and more than 100 major fields of study at the graduate level, including law and medicine, the university prepares students to live and compete in the global workplace. Learn more about all the U has to offer online at http://www.utah.edu.

Contacts

Brooke Adams
Executive Communications Manager/Senior News Writer
President's Office

brooke.adams@utah.edu

801-587-2130

Morgan Aguilar
Communications Specialist

Morgan.aguilar@utah.edu

801-581-4638

Jana Cunningham
communications specialist
humanities, fine arts, graduate school, education, parks/recreation/tourism, architecture+planning

Jana.Cunningham@utah.edu

801-581-3862

Katie Drake
Communications Specialist
Business

Katie.Drake@Eccles.Utah.edu

801-971-9626

Paul Gabrielsen
Science writer
chemistry atmospheric science geology math hydrology biology

paul.gabrielsen@utah.edu

801-585-6861

Vince Horiuchi
Public Relations Associate
engineering

Vincent.Horiuchi@utah.edu

801-585-7499

Thad Kelling
Marketing & Public Relations Director
Lassonde Entrepreneur Institute

thad.kelling@utah.edu

801-587-8811

Sheena McFarland
Associate Director
Marketing & Communications, David Eccles School of Business

sheena.mcfarland@eccles.utah.edu

801-587-5796

Libby Mitchell
Managing Editor

libby.mitchell@utah.edu

Lisa Potter
Science Writer
Metallurgical engineering, mining engineering, biology, physics, astronomy, anthropology, geography

lisa.potter@utah.edu

801-585-3093

Annalisa Purser
Communications Specialist
Academic affairs, continuing education, equity & diversity, sustainability, student affairs

Annalisa.Purser@utah.edu

801-581-7295

Tracy Rees
Marketing and Communications Specialist

tracy.rees@utah.edu

801.910.8135

Melinda Rogers
Media Relations Manager
S.J. Quinney College of Law

melinda.rogers@utah.edu

801-587-2130

Nakaiya Stucki
Billing

n.Stucki@utah.edu

Shawn Wood
Communications Specialist
human resources, alumni, auxiliary services, commuter services, facilities, information technologies

shawn.wood@utah.edu

801-585-9244

Twitter

close
3.32945