Our News on Newswise

Sorenson Impact Center Receives $600,000 Federal Grant to Support Diversity in Entrepreneurship

The Sorenson Impact Center, a think tank housed at the University of Utah’s David Eccles School of Business, has been awarded a $600,000 grant from the US Economic Development Administration (EDA).
21-Sep-2020 3:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Blowin' in the wind

University of Utah chemical engineers have conducted an air flow study of the venue that the Utah Symphony performs in to determine the best ways to mitigate the spread of COVID-19 through the emissions of wind instrument players.
18-Sep-2020 3:10 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: fridayForums_banner16x9.jpg

Confronting Racism in Higher Education

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) at the University of Utah is leading a collective call to action for truth, healing and the building of anti-racist campuses with the launch of Friday Forums on Racism in Higher Education.
17-Sep-2020 5:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

U team offers daily tips for parenting, schooling and e-learning in a pandemic

The Behavior Response Support Team (BRST, pronounced “burst), a joint project of the University of Utah’s Department of Educational Psychology and the Granite School District, provides daily tips and teaches skills for managing kids’ behavior...
14-Sep-2020 5:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: KerryKelly.jpg

Idle threat

A team led by University of Utah chemical engineering assistant professor Kerry E. Kelly has received a $1.2 million National Science Foundation grant to design and test the viability of a real-time air pollution monitoring system and display for...
1-Sep-2020 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Our energy hunger is tethered to our economic past

Current world energy consumption is tied to unchangeable past economic production. And the way out of an ever-increasing rate of carbon emissions may not necessarily be ever-increasing energy efficiency—in fact it may be the opposite.
26-Aug-2020 3:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice Neil M. Gorsuch surprises University of Utah law students at orientation

Gorsuch, who took his seat on the Court in April 2017, on Friday encouraged law students to persevere through challenging times as they start their legal studies in the midst of a global pandemic.
24-Aug-2020 7:35 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Recursion and University of Utah launch region’s largest life science incubator

Altitude Lab announced its first resident companies and opened applications for its breakthrough collaborative facility and program. It’s the first of its kind—a blended incubator/accelerator program focused on developing diverse and inclusive...
19-Aug-2020 1:25 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

The University of Utah, located in Salt Lake City in the foothills of the Wasatch Range, is the flagship institution of higher learning in Utah. Founded in 1850, it serves more than 32,000 students from across the United States and the world. With more than 90 major subjects at the undergraduate level and more than 100 major fields of study at the graduate level, including law and medicine, the university prepares students to live and compete in the global workplace. Learn more about all the U has to offer online at http://www.utah.edu.

Experts

Contacts

Brooke Adams
Executive Communications Manager/Senior News Writer
Social/behavioral sciences, social work, law, business, MPA, MPP, Center for Veterans Studies

brooke.adams@utah.edu

801-587-2130

Morgan Aguilar
Communications Specialist

Morgan.aguilar@utah.edu

801-581-4638

Jana Cunningham
communications specialist
humanities, fine arts, graduate school, education, parks/recreation/tourism, architecture+planning

Jana.Cunningham@utah.edu

801-581-3862

Katie Drake
Communications Specialist
Business

Katie.Drake@Eccles.Utah.edu

801-971-9626

Paul Gabrielsen
Science writer
chemistry atmospheric science geology math hydrology biology

paul.gabrielsen@utah.edu

801-585-6861

Vincent Horiuchi
Public Relations Associate
engineering

Vincent.Horiuchi@utah.edu

801-585-7499

Thad Kelling
Marketing & Public Relations Director
Lassonde Entrepreneur Institute

thad.kelling@utah.edu

801-587-8811

Sheena McFarland
Associate Director
Marketing & Communications, David Eccles School of Business

sheena.mcfarland@eccles.utah.edu

801-587-5796

Libby Mitchell
Managing Editor

libby.mitchell@utah.edu

Lisa Potter
Science Writer
Metallurgical engineering, mining engineering, biology, physics, astronomy, anthropology, geography

lisa.potter@utah.edu

801-585-3093

Annalisa Purser
Communications Specialist
Academic affairs, continuing education, equity & diversity, sustainability, student affairs

Annalisa.Purser@utah.edu

801-581-7295

Melinda Rogers
Media Relations Manager
S.J. Quinney College of Law

melinda.rogers@utah.edu

801-587-2130

Nakaiya Stucki
Billing

n.Stucki@utah.edu

Shawn Wood
Communications Specialist
human resources, alumni, auxiliary services, commuter services, facilities, information technologies

shawn.wood@utah.edu

801-585-9244

Twitter

close
0.69923