Our News on Newswise

New machine learning method can better predict spine surgery outcomes

Researchers at Washington University in St. Louis have paired cutting edge statistical data science with machine learning to yield a better pathway to recovery for spine surgery patients.
3-Jun-2024 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Risk of death from COVID-19 lessens, but infection still can cause issues 3 years later

New findings on long COVID by Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis and the Veterans Affairs St. Louis Health Care system reveal that COVID-19 patients who were hospitalized within the first 30 days after infection face a 29% higher...
29-May-2024 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 665647a18e85f_shutterstock2144525085.jpg

War magnifies politicians’ gendered behavior, public biases, research finds

In the early days of conflict when tension and fear are heightened, new research from the Department of Political Science at Washington University in St. Louis shows women politicians are less likely to engage with the public and, when they do, are...
29-May-2024 7:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Helping qubits stay in sync

A new paper in Physical Review Letters explores the effects of memory in quantum systems and ultimately offers a novel solution to decoherence, one of the primary problems facing quantum technologies.
23-May-2024 5:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Subtle cognitive decline precedes end to driving for older adults

Even slight cognitive changes can affect an older person’s decision to stop driving, according to a new study by researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. The findings suggest that routine cognitive testing — in...
22-May-2024 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Peering into Pluto’s ocean

An ocean of liquid water deep beneath the icy surface of Pluto is coming into focus thanks to new calculations by Alex Nguyen, a graduate student in earth, environmental and planetary sciences in Arts & Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis.
21-May-2024 2:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Gut bacteria boost immune response to fight tumors

Researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have found that a strain of gut bacteria can boost immune responses and enhance cancer immunotherapy to fight sarcoma tumors in mice. Shown is a rendering of microbes in the...
15-May-2024 2:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: 65a6d7216aa5b_shutterstock2169540905.jpg

WashU Expert: VC bust? Time to return to fundamentals in 2024

After years of record investments and outsized returns fueled by ultralow interest rates, 3,200 U.S. private venture-backed companies — mostly tech startups — went out of business last year. Doug Villhard at Washington University in St. Louis'...
16-Jan-2024 2:05 PM EST

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Shawn Ballard
Science Writer

s.ballard@wustl.edu

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

Kerry Grens

grens@wustl.edu

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science
Physical Sciences, Mathematics

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Sara Savat
Senior News Director

sara.savat@wustl.edu

3149359615

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Leah Shaffer

lshaffer@wustl.edu

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter

close
0.68783