Our News on Newswise

Newswise: JeffreyHendersonconvalescentplasma.jpeg

Blood Cancer Patients with COVID-19 Fare Better with Convalescent Plasma

A large, retrospective, multicenter study involving Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis indicates that convalescent plasma from recovered COVID-19 patients can dramatically improve likelihood of survival among blood cancer patients...
17-Jun-2021 11:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: MistyGood.jpeg

Immune system protein may defend against deadly intestinal disease in babies

A study led by researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis has identified a protein in the immune system that may protect babies from necrotizing enterocolitis, a leading cause of death among premature infants.
17-Jun-2021 10:45 AM EDT Add to Favorites

What makes us sneeze?

What exactly triggers a sneeze? A team led by researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis has identified, in mice, specific cells and proteins that control the sneeze reflex. Better understanding of what causes us to sneeze...
14-Jun-2021 5:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: shutterstock_1861835140.jpg

Keeping the peace

New research from Washington University in St. Louis sheds light on how — and in what context — peacekeepers can contain the spread of violence in fragile post-conflict areas.
14-Jun-2021 5:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: ErinMartinPM25Figure2.jpg

New research finds 1M deaths in 2017 attributable to fossil fuel combustion

Comprehensive evaluation of source sector, fuel contributions to the PM2.5 disease burden analyzed across over 200 countries
14-Jun-2021 3:25 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Ecoli_1400.jpg

Shrinking to Survive: Bacteria Adapt to a Lifestyle in Flux

Summer picnics and barbecues are only a few weeks away! As excited as you are to indulge this summer, Escherichia coli bacteria are eager to feast on the all-you-can-eat buffet they are about to experience in your gut. However, something unexpected...
14-Jun-2021 8:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: AVG-graphics-2Record.jpg

Improving dialysis through design

Faculty from the McKelvey School of Engineering and the School of Medicine teamed up to design better grafts for dialysis patients.
11-Jun-2021 1:10 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: monosov_forweb-rev.jpg

Study finds brain areas involved in seeking information about bad possibilities

Researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have identified the brain regions involved in choosing whether to find out if a bad event is about to happen.
9-Jun-2021 3:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Chuck Finder
Executive Director, Media Relations

chuck.finder@wustl.edu

412-996-5852

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

Jim Goodwin
Associate Director, Cancer News
cancer medical

jgoodwin@wustl.edu

314-286-0166

Brandie Jefferson
Senior News Director
Engineering, Collaboration/Innovation

brandie.jefferson@wustl.edu

(314) 935-5272

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Sue Killenberg McGinn
Exeutive Director of University News Service
University Communications

smcginn@wustl.edu

314-935-5254

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science
Physical Sciences, Mathematics

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Sara Savat
Senior News Director

sara.savat@wustl.edu

3149359615

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter

close
1.19345