Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareWashington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO USA

Our News on Newswise

190318_sjh_lisa_gorham_08-760x508.jpg

How Team Sports Change a Child's Brain

Adult depression has long been associated with shrinkage of the hippocampus, a brain region that plays an important role in memory and response to stress. Now, new research from Washington University in St. Louis has linked participation in team...
21-Mar-2019 1:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

LynnCorneliusSkinExam1-600x400.jpg

Topical immunotherapy keeps skin cancer risk at bay

A combination of two topical creams already shown to clear precancerous skin lesions from sun-damaged skin also lowers the risk that patients will later develop squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, according to a new study.
19-Mar-2019 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Performance-based pay linked to employee mental-health problems, study shows

In the first big-data study combining objective medical and compensation records with demographics, researchers at Washington University in St. Louis and Aarhus University in Denmark discovered once a company switches to a pay-for-performance...
20-Mar-2019 10:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

_DSC21942.JPG

Are There Zika Reservoirs in the Americas?

Most emerging infectious diseases affecting people are zoonotic — they make the jump from other animals to humans. Transmission, however, is a two-way street. These zoonotic diseases can also jump from humans to other animals. Even if a disease is...
19-Mar-2019 4:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

JaiRudra2018.jpg

Engineering Treatments for the Opioid Epidemic

A biomedical engineer at Washington University in St. Louis is developing a therapeutic option that would prevent opiates from crossing the blood-brain barrier, preventing the high abusers seek.
14-Mar-2019 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

ratbrains.jpg

Blunting pain’s emotional component

Pain researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have shown in rodents that they can block receptors on brain cells that are responsible for the negative emotions associated with pain, such as sadness, depression and...
12-Mar-2019 11:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

30240_A6_forweb.jpg

Potential New Therapy for Crohn’s, Colitis Identified

researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have found a compound that may treat IBD without directly targeting inflammation. The compound tamps down the activity of a gene linked to blood clotting. They discovered that the...
4-Mar-2019 3:55 PM EST Add to Favorites

Stock Analysts Accentuate the Negative So Firms Can Achieve More Positives, Study Finds

A new study, involving two Washington University in St. Louis faculty at Olin Business School, finds that analysts disseminate earnings news by revising share-price targets or stating they expect firms to beat earnings estimates, often tempering...
28-Feb-2019 4:50 PM EST Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

No experts available.

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Karen Daubert
Executive Director, Administration & University Relations

kdaubert@wustl.edu

314-935-8154

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives
Engineering

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Gerry Everding
Senior News Editor, Social Sciences
American culture, politics, psychology, and economics

gerry_everding@wustl.edu

314-935-6375

Chuck Finder
Executive Director, Media Relations

chuck.finder@wustl.edu

412-996-5852

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

James Goodwin
Associate Director, Cancer News
cancer medical

jgoodwin@wustl.edu

314-286-0166

Brandie Jefferson
Senior News Director

brandie.jefferson@wustl.edu

(314) 935-5272

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Susan Killenberg McGinn
Exeutive Director of University News Service
University Communications

smcginn@wustl.edu

314-935-5254

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!