Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareWashington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 1-s2.0-S0006320719307797-gr1.jpg

Four ways to curb light pollution, save bugs

Artificial light at night negatively impacts thousands of species: beetles, moths, wasps and other insects that have evolved to use light levels as cues for courtship, foraging and navigation. Writing in Biological Conservation, Brett Seymoure, the...
18-Nov-2019 2:35 PM EST Add to Favorites

Heart pump devices associated with serious complications in some patients shortly after heart stent procedure

In critically ill patients who require a heart pump to support blood circulation as part of stent procedures, specific heart pumps have been associated with serious complications, according to a new study led by cardiologists at Washington...
18-Nov-2019 12:15 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: Argument.jpg

Toward a more civil discourse

In our current climate of sometimes intense vitriol, reappropriation — by which a group of people reclaims words or artifacts that were previously used in a way disparaging of that group — can tame uncivil discourse, finds a new study by...
17-Nov-2019 3:45 PM EST Add to Favorites

Straight from the source

Ever since scientists discovered that certain microbes can get their energy from electrical charges, researchers have wondered how they do it. Bacteria don’t have mouths, so they need another way to bring their fuel into their bodies. New research...
5-Nov-2019 10:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: Schoolyard-Image760.jpg

New study advocates a positive approach to school safety

Policy responses to school shootings have not prevented them from happening more frequently, but restorative justice has the potential to avert bad behavior and school shootings, finds a new study from Washington University in St. Louis.The study,...
29-Oct-2019 3:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: RyanBogdanRecord-600x400.jpg

Which came first: brain size or drinking propensity?

Contrary to the belief that drinking can literally shrink one's brain, a new study that includes researchers from Arts & Sciences suggests that a small brain might be a risk factor for heavier alcohol consumption.
28-Oct-2019 4:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Flu antibody protects against numerous and wide-ranging strains

A human antibody that protects mice against a wide range of lethal flu viruses could be the key to a universal vaccine and better treatments for severe flu disease, according to a new study from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis,...
22-Oct-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: TcellsInMouseTumor_sized.jpg

Clues to improve cancer immunotherapy revealed

A new study by researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis indicates a way for cancer immunotherapy to spur a more robust immune response. Such knowledge could lead to the development of better cancer vaccines and more...
21-Oct-2019 1:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

  • Keywords:
    Entreprenership, business strategy, Innovation
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Scotus, Supreme Court, criminal law, Constitution, Federal Courts
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Black Masculinity, Sexuality, Race Theory, Popular Culture
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Biology, Ecology, Evolution, Evolution Biology
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Religion, Evangelicals, Religion And Politics
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Aerosol, Engineering, Nanotechnology, Air Pollution
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Big Pharma, Health Policy, Drug Law, Drug Regulation, Health Law
     
     
  • Keywords:
    African American Literature, African American culture, Feminist Theory, Popular Fiction
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Health Insurance, Health Care Reform, Rural Health Care, Medicare, Medicaid
     
     

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Gerry Everding
Senior News Editor, Social Sciences
American culture, politics, psychology, and economics

gerry_everding@wustl.edu

314-935-6375

Chuck Finder
Executive Director, Media Relations

chuck.finder@wustl.edu

412-996-5852

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

James Goodwin
Associate Director, Cancer News
cancer medical

jgoodwin@wustl.edu

314-286-0166

Brandie Jefferson
Senior News Director
Engineering, Collaboration/Innovation

brandie.jefferson@wustl.edu

(314) 935-5272

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Susan Killenberg McGinn
Exeutive Director of University News Service
University Communications

smcginn@wustl.edu

314-935-5254

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science
Physical Sciences, Mathematics

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!
1.6335