Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareWashington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 2016_Nationwide_US_presidential_county_map_shaded_by_vote_share.svg.png

The divide between us: Urban-rural political differences rooted in geography

A new study by Washington University in St. Louis political scientists finds that how close people live to a major metropolitan area and their town’s population density play a significant role in shaping their political beliefs and partisan...
19-Feb-2020 2:40 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: Opioid-760x507.jpg

Battling treatment resistant opioid use disorder

Similar to treatment resistant depression, there is a subpopulation of those addicted to opioids who do not respond to standard opioid use disorder (OUD) treatments. In a new paper, an addiction expert at the Brown School at Washington University in...
19-Feb-2020 2:35 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: TOCgraphic.jpg

Walking the wire: Real-time imaging helps reveal active sites of photocatalysts

Nanoscale photocatalysts are small, man-made particles that harvest energy from sunlight to produce liquid fuels and other useful chemicals. But even within the same batch, the particles tend to vary widely in size, shape and surface composition....
19-Feb-2020 12:55 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: FP-Paraiba_forweb.jpg

Why Zika virus caused most harmful brain damage to Brazilian newborns

Researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have found that the strain of Zika that circulated in Brazil during the microcephaly epidemic that began in 2015 was particularly damaging to the developing brain.
18-Feb-2020 3:25 PM EST Add to Favorites

Predicting chaos using aerosols and AI

Using aerosols as ground truth, researchers at the McKelvey School of Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis have developed a deep learning method that accurately simulates chaotic trajectories — from the spread of poisonous gas to the...
10-Feb-2020 3:30 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 200205_Bateman_R_03.jpg

Investigational drugs didn’t slow memory loss, cognitive decline in rare, inherited Alzheimer’s, initial analysis indicates

Top-line data reported from international trial
10-Feb-2020 7:35 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: giphy.gif

Collaboration lets researchers ‘read’ proteins for new properties

Clumps of proteins inside cells are a common thread in many neurodegenerative diseases, including amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) or Lou Gehrig’s disease. These clumps, or solid aggregates of proteins, appear to be the result of an abnormality...
6-Feb-2020 6:15 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: johnny-cohen-OxOxqLAWvE0-unsplash-760x507.jpg

Being raised by grandparents may increase risk for childhood obesity

Grandparental child care is linked to nearly a 30% increase in childhood overweight and obesity risk, finds a new analysis from the Brown School at Washington University in St. Louis.In a study, published online Jan. 22 in Childhood Obesity,...
6-Feb-2020 2:10 PM EST Add to Favorites


see all news

Our Experts on Newswise

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

  • Keywords:
    Entreprenership, business strategy, Innovation
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Scotus, Supreme Court, criminal law, Constitution, Federal Courts
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Black Masculinity, Sexuality, Race Theory, Popular Culture
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Biology, Ecology, Evolution, Evolution Biology
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Religion, Evangelicals, Religion And Politics
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Aerosol, Engineering, Nanotechnology, Air Pollution
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Big Pharma, Health Policy, Drug Law, Drug Regulation, Health Law
     
     
  • Keywords:
    African American Literature, African American culture, Feminist Theory, Popular Fiction
     
     
  • Keywords:
    Health Insurance, Health Care Reform, Rural Health Care, Medicare, Medicaid
     
     

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Gerry Everding
Senior News Editor, Social Sciences
American culture, politics, psychology, and economics

gerry_everding@wustl.edu

314-935-6375

Chuck Finder
Executive Director, Media Relations

chuck.finder@wustl.edu

412-996-5852

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

James Goodwin
Associate Director, Cancer News
cancer medical

jgoodwin@wustl.edu

314-286-0166

Brandie Jefferson
Senior News Director
Engineering, Collaboration/Innovation

brandie.jefferson@wustl.edu

(314) 935-5272

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Susan Killenberg McGinn
Exeutive Director of University News Service
University Communications

smcginn@wustl.edu

314-935-5254

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science
Physical Sciences, Mathematics

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Sara Savat
Senior News Director

sara.savat@wustl.edu

3149359615

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!
5.51665