Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareWashington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO USA

Our News on Newswise

Old rocks, new science: Why Apollo 11 samples are still as relevant as ever

In September 1969, Washington University in St. Louis scientists were among the first to receive samples collected from the historic Apollo 11 moon mission. At this year's Lunar and Planetary Science Convention, a student, a faculty member and an...
18-Jul-2019 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: PairofAfricanchickens-HW-760.jpg

Long live the long-limbed African chicken

Pick your chicken wisely. The choice could make or break your marriage. For generations, household farmers in the Horn of Africa have selectively chosen chickens with certain traits that make them more appealing. Some choices are driven by the...
16-Jul-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: CSDMwithYamagiwaandMatsuzawa-AiScarfAward20191.jpg

Sanz Recognized with Women-in-Primatology Award

Crickette Sanz, associate professor of biological anthropology in Arts & Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis, received the 2019 Ai’s Scarf Award, otherwise known as the Women-in-Primatology Award. The honor was announced in Kyoto,...
12-Jul-2019 4:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: GordonMain.jpg

For malnourished children, new therapeutic food boosts gut microbes, healthy development

A new type of therapeutic food, specifically designed to repair the gut microbiomes of malnourished children, is superior to standard therapy in an initial clinical trial conducted in Bangladesh.
8-Jul-2019 6:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: cover_3copy.jpg

Mustering a milder mustard

The mustards, broccolis and cabbages of the world share a distinct and bitter taste. Some consider the flavor of cruciferous plants their strongest attribute. But even in India and China, where Brassicas have been cultivated for more than 4,000...
11-Jul-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: electrolytegraph.jpg

No more trial-and-error when choosing an electrolyte for metal-air batteries

Researchers at Washington University in St. Louis have developed a one-parameter measure that makes selecting the correct electrolyte for potassium-air batteries an exercise in rationality, rather than patience.
10-Jul-2019 2:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: shutterstock_628135958-760x507.jpg

Credit Counseling Can Lead to Significant Reduction in Consumer Debt

People who take advantage of nonprofit credit counseling services have statistically significant reductions in consumer debt, finds a new study from the Brown School at Washington University in St. Louis.“We followed the credit records of...
9-Jul-2019 4:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Characterizing the ‘arrow of time’ in open quantum systems

VIDEO: Even in the strange world of open quantum systems, the arrow of time points steadily forward -- most of the time. New experiments conducted at Washington University in St. Louis compare the forward and reverse trajectories of superconducting...
9-Jul-2019 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

No experts available.

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Gerry Everding
Senior News Editor, Social Sciences
American culture, politics, psychology, and economics

gerry_everding@wustl.edu

314-935-6375

Chuck Finder
Executive Director, Media Relations

chuck.finder@wustl.edu

412-996-5852

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

James Goodwin
Associate Director, Cancer News
cancer medical

jgoodwin@wustl.edu

314-286-0166

Brandie Jefferson
Senior News Director
Engineering, Collaboration/Innovation

brandie.jefferson@wustl.edu

(314) 935-5272

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Susan Killenberg McGinn
Exeutive Director of University News Service
University Communications

smcginn@wustl.edu

314-935-5254

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science
Physical Sciences, Mathematics

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!