Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareWashington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO USA

Our News on Newswise

thompson-tess-bio.jpg

Unmet Social Needs Among Medicaid Members Lead to Stress, Chronic Conditions

A survey of Medicaid members found that increasing levels of unmet social needs were positively associated with stress, smoking and chronic conditions, according to new research from the Brown School at Washington University in St. Louis.Scientists,...
13-Feb-2019 4:30 PM EST Add to Favorites

Olin Study: The Unintended Consequences of Tinkering with Online Prices

Retailers didn't realize offering different prices to consumers actually could backfire — until researchers from Washington University in St. Louis, UCLA and Alibaba had the data to show it. Using data from 100 million Alibaba customers who...
11-Feb-2019 11:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

BronwenKoneckyinlab1.jpg

Understanding tropical rainfall, both past and present

A drop of rainwater that falls on a cassava field in Uganda takes a different path than one that falls 500 miles east in Somalia. Knowing where rain comes from now, and where it might come from under future climate scenarios, is important for the...
11-Feb-2019 6:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

ForgettingPresidentsWUSTL470.jpg

Trump's Legacy Still Uncertain, Suggest Experts on Nation's Collective Memory

While Trump’s legacy may indeed hinge on his ability to overcome partisan differences, ongoing research from Washington University in St. Louis suggests that most U.S. presidents are destined to fade quickly from the nation’s collective memory.
7-Feb-2019 5:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Prehistoric Food Globalization Spanned Three Millennia

Prehistoric peasant farmers struggling to put more food on the table fueled the global spread of some of the world’s first and most important domesticated grain crops beginning as early as 7,000 years ago, according to an international study led...
5-Feb-2019 5:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Avidan2.jpg

Less anesthesia during surgery doesn’t prevent post-op delirium

One in four older adults experiences delirium after surgery. In an attempt to change that, researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis closely monitoring brain activity during surgery and minimized anesthesia dosage if...
1-Feb-2019 1:00 PM EST Add to Favorites

180815_MM_PETscan068_forweb.jpg

Women’s Brains Appear Three Years Younger Than Men’s

Women's brains appear to be three years younger than men's of the same age, according to a study of brain metabolism by researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. The findings could explain why women maintain their...
31-Jan-2019 1:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Drug target identified for chemotherapy-resistant ovarian, breast cancer

Researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis may have found a path toward improving the effectiveness of chemotherapy in people with breast or ovarian cancer caused by defects in one of the BRCA genes. The researchers...
4-Feb-2019 11:05 AM EST Add to Favorites


see all news

Our Experts on Newswise

This national emergency is 'fictitious'

15-Feb-2019 1:05 PM EST

Kim_Medley_760-300x300.jpg

WashU Expert: Mosquitoes and ticks do better in extreme cold than we do

30-Jan-2019 2:05 PM EST

WashU Expert: Wisconsin move to limit power of incoming governor signal of new norm

6-Dec-2018 3:05 PM EST

Chakrabarty-Rajan.jpg

Expert's research shows we've been underestimating soot's effect on global warming

26-Nov-2018 11:05 AM EST

151123_jaa_abram_van_engen_0065.jpg

Who were the Pilgrims? Expert discusses Pilgrims, Puritans and the theology of sympathy.

19-Nov-2018 10:05 AM EST

WashU Expert: Trump’s New NAFTA Won’t Lower Domestic Drug Prices

4-Oct-2018 3:05 PM EDT

WashU Expert: Threatening the International Criminal Court could further isolate the U.S.

11-Sep-2018 11:05 AM EDT

RentsJacket.jpg

Marketing Causes Inequality, New Book Suggests

The dramatic rise of income inequality since 1970 has largely been caused by advances in marketing, says a law professor at Washington University in St. Louis.“Marketers have become better at creating and exploiting market distortions in legal...
31-Aug-2018 12:05 PM EDT

see all experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

No experts available.

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Karen Daubert
Executive Director, Administration & University Relations

kdaubert@wustl.edu

314-935-8154

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives
Engineering

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Gerry Everding
Senior News Editor, Social Sciences
American culture, politics, psychology, and economics

gerry_everding@wustl.edu

314-935-6375

Chuck Finder
Executive Director, Media Relations

chuck.finder@wustl.edu

412-996-5852

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

James Goodwin
Associate Director, Cancer News
cancer medical

jgoodwin@wustl.edu

314-286-0166

Brandie Jefferson
Senior News Director

brandie.jefferson@wustl.edu

(314) 935-5272

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Susan Killenberg McGinn
Exeutive Director of University News Service
University Communications

smcginn@wustl.edu

314-935-5254

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!