Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 60feee1bc612e_Image1.png

Depth of Perception

Minuscule tunnels through the cell membrane help cells to perceive and respond to mechanical forces, such as pressure or touch. Using tip-growing cells in moss and pollen tubes of flowering plants, a new study is among the first to directly...
26-Jul-2021 1:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Parker_KimRecord-300x200.jpg

Two Strands Are Tougher Than One

Despite assumptions, dsRNA has traits that make it stand apart from the more common single-stranded RNA. The finding has implications for a range of fields
28-Jul-2021 1:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 60f9cf85425c1_EmilyOnufer_Yong-HyunHan_RandolphRelease.jpg

‘Good Cholesterol’ May Protect Liver

The body’s so-called good cholesterol may be even better than we realize. New research from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis suggests that one type of high-density lipoprotein (HDL) has a previously unknown role in protecting...
22-Jul-2021 4:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 60f8740dc5e19_shutterstock_219593728.jpg

Mothers May Face Increased Workplace Discrimination Post-Pandemic, Research Warns

Inflexible schedules and biased hiring practices, combined with gendered cultural norms around breadwinning and caregiving, lead to discrimination against mothers and perpetuate existing gender inequalities in the workplace, finds two new studies...
21-Jul-2021 3:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 60f8731603dbc_shutterstock_88278034.jpg

Don’t Cry Over Spoiled Milk, Incentivize Supply Chain for Longer Shelf Life

Too much milk gets pitched, something that was an issue long before these pandemic times of global food insecurity. New research provides a blueprint for development of sustainable milk production supply chain, where waste is reduced in a...
21-Jul-2021 3:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: SrikanthBaraniNanoparticlesRecord-1400x700.jpg

Nanoparticles Create Heat From Light to Manipulate Electrical Activity in Neurons

Srikanth Singamaneni and Barani Raman in the McKelvey School of Engineering developed technology to use nanoparticles to heat, manipulate cells in the brain and heart.
20-Jul-2021 7:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Muddied Waters: Sinking Organics Alter Seafloor Records

The remains of microscopic plankton blooms in near-shore ocean environments slowly sink to the seafloor, setting off processes that forever alter an important record of Earth’s history, according to research from geoscientists, including David...
20-Jul-2021 7:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: ZhangPolymericAmyloidFibers.jpg

Microbially Produced Fibers: Stronger Than Steel, Tougher Than Kevlar

A new fiber, made by genetically engineered bacteria in the lab of Fuzhong Zhang, is stronger than steel and tougher than Kevlar.
20-Jul-2021 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Chuck Finder
Executive Director, Media Relations

chuck.finder@wustl.edu

412-996-5852

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

Jim Goodwin
Associate Director, Cancer News
cancer medical

jgoodwin@wustl.edu

314-286-0166

Brandie Jefferson
Senior News Director
Engineering, Collaboration/Innovation

brandie.jefferson@wustl.edu

(314) 935-5272

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Sue Killenberg McGinn
Exeutive Director of University News Service
University Communications

smcginn@wustl.edu

314-935-5254

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science
Physical Sciences, Mathematics

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Sara Savat
Senior News Director

sara.savat@wustl.edu

3149359615

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter

close
0.69173