Our News on Newswise

Newswise: Kimacuteitch.jpg

Acute itching in eczema patients linked to environmental allergens

New research from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis indicates that allergens in the environment often are to blame for episodes of acute itch in eczema patients, and that the itching often doesn’t respond to antihistamines...
14-Jan-2021 4:50 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: nl0c03493_0005.gif

New way to control electrical charge in 2D materials: Put a flake on it

Physicists at Washington University in St. Louis have discovered how to locally add electrical charge to an atomically thin graphene device by layering flakes of another thin material, alpha-RuCl3, on top of it. A paper published with scientists at...
14-Jan-2021 8:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: DSC_0138_forweb2.jpg

Improving tests for tropical worm diseases aim of $2.95 million grant

Researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have received a grant to develop better diagnostic tests for worm infections as part of an international effort to eliminate two tropical infectious diseases: lymphatic filariasis...
6-Jan-2021 4:55 PM EST Add to Favorites

Orange Is the New ‘Block’

Photosynthetic organisms tap light for fuel, but sometimes there’s too much of a good thing. New research from Washington University in St. Louis reveals the core structure of the light-harvesting antenna of cyanobacteria or blue-green algae —...
6-Jan-2021 3:40 PM EST Add to Favorites

For moms, oxygen during childbirth often unnecessary

A comprehensive analysis – led by researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis – has found no benefit in providing supplemental oxygen to mothers during labor and delivery, a decades-long and common practice. Infants born...
30-Dec-2020 4:15 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: Picture1_forweb.jpg

Common brain malformation traced to its genetic roots

Researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have shown that Chiari 1 malformation can be caused by variations in two genes linked to brain development, and that children with large heads are at increased risk of developing...
29-Dec-2020 8:10 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: Nehorai-Arye-rollup.jpg

Modeling can help balance economy, health during pandemic

An interdisciplinary team led by faculty at the McKelvey School of Engineering has developed a model to help navigate the delicate line between maintaining the economy and limiting the spread and mortality rate of COVID-19.
28-Dec-2020 10:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Seeking to avoid ‘full lockdown,’ cells monitor ribosome collisions

But sometimes ribosomes get stuck or stall on roadblocks along defective mRNA molecules. New research from Washington University in St. Louis shows that cells monitor for ribosome collisions to determine the severity of the problem and how best to...
14-Dec-2020 8:05 PM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: TrumpTalks.jpg

WashU Expert: Trump self-pardon might open him to prosecution

13-Jan-2021 11:20 AM EST

Newswise: shutterstock_310783064.jpg

WashU Expert: What is the 25th Amendment?

8-Jan-2021 2:55 PM EST

Is compromise possible in a split Senate?

8-Jan-2021 2:45 PM EST

Newswise: shutterstock_1043134735.jpg

WashU Expert: Aid package will only postpone inevitable housing crisis

22-Dec-2020 3:30 PM EST

Newswise: Ning-Zhang.jpg?w=325&h=250&auto=format&q=65&fit=facearea&facepad=3

Cybersecurity expert on why SolarWinds attack was so successful, and how to prevent a repeat

18-Dec-2020 4:15 PM EST

WashU Experts: We need economic rescue, and we need it now 

18-Dec-2020 4:10 PM EST

Newswise: Brad-Jolliff-scaled.jpg

WashU Expert: China probe returns with ‘treasure trove’ of moon rocks

16-Dec-2020 1:05 PM EST

Building better vaccines for the elderly

Chemist Meredith Jackrel studies protein misfolding and how it leads to disease. She is collaborating engineers to develop amyloid-inspired vaccine technologies specifically tailored for seniors. The approach could be relevant to COVID-19 as the...
4-Dec-2020 12:55 PM EST

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Chuck Finder
Executive Director, Media Relations

chuck.finder@wustl.edu

412-996-5852

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

James Goodwin
Associate Director, Cancer News
cancer medical

jgoodwin@wustl.edu

314-286-0166

Brandie Jefferson
Senior News Director
Engineering, Collaboration/Innovation

brandie.jefferson@wustl.edu

(314) 935-5272

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Susan Killenberg McGinn
Exeutive Director of University News Service
University Communications

smcginn@wustl.edu

314-935-5254

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science
Physical Sciences, Mathematics

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Sara Savat
Senior News Director

sara.savat@wustl.edu

3149359615

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter

close
1.35889