Our News on Newswise

Sugar-Sweetened Drinks Linked to Increased Risk of Colorectal Cancer in Women Under 50

A new study led by Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis has found a link between drinking sugar-sweetened beverages and an increased risk of developing colorectal cancer in women under age 50. The findings suggest that heavy...
5-May-2021 8:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Bai lab develops stable, efficient, anode-free sodium battery

The lab of Peng Bai has developed a stable, anode-free sodium ion battery that is highly efficient, will be less expensive and is significantly smaller than a traditional lithium ion battery.
3-May-2021 3:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: ToddBraverRecord-300x200.jpg

Sum of incentives dictate efforts

People rarely have just one motivation to do something. New research from the lab of Todd Braver at Washington University in St. Louis suggests how, and where, they combine.
26-Apr-2021 2:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Mouse-meningeal-lymphatics_forweb.jpg

Draining brain’s debris enhances Alzheimer’s therapies in mice

Researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have found that improving the function of the brain's drainage network, known as the meningeal lymphatics, can make certain experimental Alzheimer’s therapies more effective in...
26-Apr-2021 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Long-Covid3-main-art.jpg

Among COVID-19 survivors, an increased risk of death, serious illness

A new study from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis shows that even mild cases of COVID-19 increase the risk of death in the six months following diagnosis and that this risk increases with disease severity. The comprehensive...
22-Apr-2021 11:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: shutterstock_659815792.jpg

Study finds shifting mindset increases managers’ willingness to invest in new technology

When faced with a cutting-edge technological idea, business leaders who approach the idea in more concrete terms are more likely to recognize its utility, which increases their propensity to invest, according to new research from the Olin Business...
21-Apr-2021 11:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Klein089.jpg

Anti-Aging Compound Improves Muscle Glucose Metabolism in People

In the first clinical trial of nicotinamide mononucleotide (NMN), researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have found that the compound previously demonstrated to counteract aspects of aging and improve metabolic health...
20-Apr-2021 3:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: FloydProtest.jpg

How Racial Violence Affects Black Americans' Mental Health

Black Americans experience an increase in poor mental health days during weeks when two or more incidents of anti-Black violence occur and when national interest surrounding the events is higher, according to a new study.
20-Apr-2021 11:35 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: quit-smoking-dna-Sa.jpg

WashU Expert: FDA menthol ban would benefit Black, younger Americans

3-May-2021 2:50 PM EDT

Newswise: shutterstock_1773600695.jpg

Five factors that led to Chauvin guilty verdicts

21-Apr-2021 12:15 PM EDT

Newswise: Reeves2.jpg

WashU Expert: Executive orders come ‘at great cost’

12-Apr-2021 8:05 AM EDT

Experts: Anti-Asian racism nuanced and often intertwined in misogyny

19-Mar-2021 4:10 PM EDT

Newswise: Rosenfeld-Book.jpg

"You’re Paid What You’re Worth: and Other Myths of the Modern Economy"

10-Mar-2021 5:30 PM EST

How to cope with pandemic anniversary emotions

10-Mar-2021 5:25 PM EST

Expert: A historic opportunity to combat systemic racism

28-Jan-2021 12:05 PM EST

WashU Expert: This is not the time to raise federal minimum wage

President Joe Biden has expressed support for raising the minimum wage for federal contractors and employees to $15 per hour. On Jan. 26, House and Senate Democrats took it a step further - introducing legislation to increase the federal minimum...
26-Jan-2021 5:10 PM EST

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Chuck Finder
Executive Director, Media Relations

chuck.finder@wustl.edu

412-996-5852

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

Jim Goodwin
Associate Director, Cancer News
cancer medical

jgoodwin@wustl.edu

314-286-0166

Brandie Jefferson
Senior News Director
Engineering, Collaboration/Innovation

brandie.jefferson@wustl.edu

(314) 935-5272

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Sue Killenberg McGinn
Exeutive Director of University News Service
University Communications

smcginn@wustl.edu

314-935-5254

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science
Physical Sciences, Mathematics

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Sara Savat
Senior News Director

sara.savat@wustl.edu

3149359615

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter

close
0.82146