Our News on Newswise

Newswise: AntoniRibas19_03.jpg

UCLA physician-scientist elected to National Academy of Medicine

Dr. Antoni Ribas, a world-renowned physician–scientist and professor of medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, has been named to the National Academy of Medicine, one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine.
19-Oct-2020 12:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Breast cancer diagnosis decoder: Understanding your new diagnosis

Dr. Erin Chamberlain, a medical oncologist with the UCLA Health San Luis Obispo office, helps decipher common breast cancer terms.
15-Oct-2020 1:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Virus-mimicking drug helps immune system target cunning cancer cells

UCLA researchers have found that a drug that activates the body’s natural defenses by behaving like a virus may also make certain stealthy melanoma tumors visible to the immune system, allowing them to be better targeted by immunotherapy.
12-Oct-2020 11:20 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: DavidMiklowitz_3.jpg

Therapy plus medication better than medication alone in bipolar disorder

A review of 39 randomized clinical trials by scientists from UCLA and their colleagues from other institutions has found that combining the use medication with psychoeducational therapy is more effective at preventing a recurrence of illness in...
14-Oct-2020 12:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: FeusnerJamie.jpg

Cognitive behavioral therapy normalizes brain abnormality in OCD patients

UCLA scientists and colleagues studying the effects of cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) discovered an abnormality in the brains of people with obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD) that may also help to predict who is most likely to respond to CBT.
13-Oct-2020 6:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Effects of poverty on childhood development seen in children as young as 5

How kindergarten teachers helped UCLA researchers highlight the impact of socioeconomic barriers on children’s health and development.
8-Oct-2020 6:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Nasalswab-mufid-majnun-unsplash.jpg

Scientists pioneer faster, cheaper COVID-19 testing technology

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has granted emergency use authorization for UCLA Health to launch a new method of COVID-19 detection using sequencing technology called SwabSeq. Capable of testing thousands of samples at once, the method...
7-Oct-2020 5:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Levine-Andrew.jpg

‘Brain fog’ following COVID-19 recovery may indicate PTSD

A new report suggests that lingering “brain fog” and other neurological symptoms after COVID -19 recovery may be due to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), an effect observed in past human coronavirus outbreaks such as SARS and MERS.
6-Oct-2020 4:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

Welcome to the UCLA Health Sciences Media Relations newsroom! The UCLA Health Sciences Media Relations team can help to identify the best sources for your stories about UCLA patient care, research and education.

UCLA's innovation, dedication, and ability to re-imagine medicine are having a profound effect on the healing arts all around the world. These scientific breakthroughs are due in large part to UCLA Health Sciences faculty, researchers, doctors, nurses and staff.

We can help you find expert comment for breaking medical, science and health policy stories. The team has access to pager numbers, cell phones and assistants to help you reach the right people when you are on tight deadlines. Media relations officers also can provide complete logistical support for broadcast and photography shoots, and serve as field producers for video or radio interviews, and for video B-roll and photographs.

Experts

Contacts

Melissa Abraham
Executive Director, Communications

mabraham@support.ucla.edu

310-206-0632

Brianna Aldrich
Director of Communications
dentistry, oral health

baldrich@dentistry.ucla.edu

310-206-0835

Duane Bates
Communications Director

dbates@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-4430

Ted Braun
Marketing & Media Relations Director
UCLA / Santa Monica Campus

tbraun@mednet.ucla.edu

310-319-4567

Carla Denly
Assistant Dean

cdenly@support.ucla.edu

3108256738

Tiare Dunlap
Development and Comm Coord

tdunlap@mednet.ucla.edu

3102068367

Marrecca Fiore
Senior Media Relations Officer
Psychiatry, Neuroscience

MFiore@mednet.ucla.edu

Judy Fortin
Executive Director of Communications

jfortin@mednet.ucla.edu

424 465 4960

Phil Hampton
Director, Media Relations

phampton@mednet.ucla.edu

Denise Heady
Media Relations Manager
Cancer

dheady@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-2805

Nick Kazden
Broad Center

NKazden@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-8367

Jane Murcia
Media Relations Repressentative/ Analytics
Nutrition/Diet, Dermatology

JMurcia@mednet.ucla.edu

David Olmos
Director, News Strategy & Editing
UCLA Depression Grand Challenge, autism, UCLA Cannabis Research Initiative

dolmos@mednet.ucla.edu

3102678276

Enrique Rivero
Senior Media Relations Officer
Kidney transplant; geriatrics; internal medicine; endocrinology; infectious diseases; AIDS/HIV

erivero@mednet.ucla.edu

310-267-7120

Elaine Schmidt
Senior Media Relations Officer
Neurosurgery, concussion, spinal cord injury, genetics, vision, radiology, ENT, medical education

eschmidt@mednet.ucla.edu

310-267-8323

Simi Singer
Media Relations Manager
medicine

SSinger@mednet.ucla.edu

310-319-4349

Brad Smith
Senior Public Relations Officer

bssmith@support.ucla.edu

424.832.6408

Twitter

close
1.01438