Our News on Newswise

Newswise: ann21040a.jpg

NOIRLab apoya la Visión del Estudio Decadal

NOIRLab de NSF apoya plenamente la visión científica de Pathways to Discovery in Astronomy and Astrophysics for the 2020s y se une a nuestra comunidad, junto a nuestra organización administradora, AURA, para defender y contribuir a la...
6-Nov-2021 3:10 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: ann21040a.jpg

NOIRLab Response to Astro2020 Decadal Survey

NSF’s NOIRLab fully supports the scientific vision of Pathways to Discovery in Astronomy and Astrophysics for the 2020s and stands ready, along with our managing organization, AURA, to join our community in advocating for and contributing to the...
6-Nov-2021 2:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: noirlab2127a.jpg

Planetas rocosos son más extraños de lo que pensábamos

Un astrónomo de NOIRLab junto a un geólogo de la Universidad Estatal de California, Fresno realizaron el primer estudio de los tipos de rocas que existen en los planetas que orbitan estrellas cercanas. Después de estudiar la composición química...
2-Nov-2021 3:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: noirlab2127a.jpg

Rocky Exoplanets Are Even Stranger Than We Thought

An astronomer from NSF’s NOIRLab has teamed up with a geologist from California State University, Fresno, to make the first estimates of rock types that exist on planets orbiting nearby stars. After studying the chemical composition of...
2-Nov-2021 2:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 617987a6102e0_DKIST-PSP-SO-Work-Together_notext-1.jpg

National Solar Observatory awarded prestigious Brinson Prize Fellowship

The NSF’s National Solar Observatory, headquartered in Boulder, Colorado, announced the receipt of a prestigious Brinson Prize Fellowship from The Brinson Foundation. The award will support a postdoctoral scholar for up to three years starting in...
27-Oct-2021 1:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Tololo captura una galaxia condenada a desaparecer

Los integrantes del cúmulo galáctico de Fornax protagonizan esta imagen del Telescopio Víctor M. Blanco de 4 metros ubicado en el Observatorio de Cerro Tololo (CTIO) en Chile, un programa de NOIRLab de NSF y observatorio AURA. En ella, la galaxia...
23-Sep-2021 5:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Plunging into the Furnace

The denizens of the Fornax galaxy cluster populate this image from the Víctor M. Blanco 4-meter Telescope, located in Chile at Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory (CTIO), a Program of NSF’s NOIRLab. The irregular galaxy lurking in the bottom...
23-Sep-2021 5:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Spectacular Portrait of Centaurus A

A spectacular portrait of the galaxy Centaurus A has been captured by astronomers using the Dark Energy Camera mounted on the Víctor M. Blanco 4-meter Telescope at Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory in Chile.
31-Aug-2021 2:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: dunn_sun_image.jpg

Sunspot cycle is stabilizing, according to worldwide panel of experts

A consortium of solar science experts, including Dr. Gordon Petrie of the NSF’s National Solar Observatory, declared consensus on the next solar cycle. The astronomers predict the next solar cycle will be very similar to the last one.
17-Sep-2020 12:40 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

The Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA) is a consortium of 47 US institutions and 3 international affiliates that operates world-class astronomical observatories for the National Science Foundation and NASA. AURA’s role is to establish, nurture, and promote public observatories and facilities that advance innovative astronomical research. In addition, AURA is deeply committed to public and educational outreach, and to diversity throughout the astronomical and scientific workforce. AURA carries out its role through its astronomical facilities.

Contacts

Kimberly Davis
Senior Administrative Assistant

kdavis@aura-astronomy.org

202-204-1340

Ranpal Gill
Head of Communications

rgill@lsst.org

+1 318 520 8509

Amanda Kocz

amanda.kocz@noirlab.edu

Shari Lifson
Corporate Communications Coordinator Washington D.C.

slifson@aura-astronomy.org

1 202 769-5232

Dionne Makila
Corporate Office Bussiness and Administration Manager

dmakila@aura-astronomy.org

202-483-2101

Kristen Metzger

KMetzger@lsst.org

Peter Michaud
PIO Manager & Managing Editor, GeminiFocus
Astronomy

pmichaud@gemini.edu

808-974-2510

Joan Najita
Chief Scientist, Press Officer

najita@noao.edu

Mark Newhouse

newhouse@noao.edu

Leonor Opazo

lopazo@ctio.noao.edu

Manuel Paredes

mparedes@gemini.edu

Claire Raftery

craftery@nso.edu

Vanessa Thomas
Public Information Officer

vanessa.thomas@noirlab.edu

John Williams

jwilliams@nso.edu

Xiaoyu Zhang
Librarian

xiaoyu.zhang@noirlab.edu

Twitter

close
0.31655