Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 61a54602235ef_Benjamin Sanchez-Terrones.jpg

Diagnosing breast cancer

University of Utah electrical and computer engineering assistant professor Benjamin Sanchez-Terrones is developing a diagnostic tool for breast cancer that uses a safe, low-voltage electrical current instead of radiation. The device can therefore be...
30-Nov-2021 8:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 6192bf7c465db_digital divide 16x9.jpg

The digital divide is a human rights issue

A University of Utah researcher argues access to high-speed internet, or broadband, is a human rights and social justice issue as lack of access disproportionately impacts low-income, People of Color, seniors, Native Americans and rural residents....
15-Nov-2021 3:20 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 61898ee4be958_Huanan Zhang.jpg

Wash-and-wear sensors

University of Utah chemical engineering assistant professor Huanan Zhang has developed a process that turns clothing fabric into biosensors which measure a muscle’s electrical activity as it is worn. This could become a much better solution in...
9-Nov-2021 7:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Waste of space

University of Utah mechanical engineering professor Jake Abbott has discovered a method to manipulate orbiting space debris by using spinning magnets. This allows agencies to either help clear out such debris or repair damaged satellites by moving...
29-Oct-2021 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

More than half of Utah’s households unable to afford median home price, report shows

The State of the State’s Housing Market report, released today by the Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute, shows that more than half of Utah’s households are now unable to afford the median-home priced home in 2021.
22-Oct-2021 12:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Power walk

University of Utah mechanical engineering researchers have developed a lightweight powered exoskeleton that allows lower-limb amputees to walk with much less effort. The device uses motors, microprocessors and advanced algorithms to aid the user in...
8-Oct-2021 12:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 615f2a0d0af9b_CMETELLA-1-09.jpg

Roman noblewoman’s tomb reveals secrets of ancient concrete resilience

Over time, concrete cracks and crumbles. Well, most concrete cracks and crumbles. Structures built in ancient Rome are still standing, exhibiting remarkable durability despite conditions that would devastate modern concrete. One of these...
8-Oct-2021 12:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

$10,000 Awarded to Student Entrepreneurs Solving Housing Affordability

Today, Ivory Innovations announced the winners of the 2021 Hack-A-House, a student-driven entrepreneurial competition resulting in innovations to reduce housing costs.
5-Oct-2021 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

The University of Utah, located in Salt Lake City in the foothills of the Wasatch Range, is the flagship institution of higher learning in Utah. Founded in 1850, it serves more than 32,000 students from across the United States and the world. With more than 90 major subjects at the undergraduate level and more than 100 major fields of study at the graduate level, including law and medicine, the university prepares students to live and compete in the global workplace. Learn more about all the U has to offer online at http://www.utah.edu.

Contacts

Morgan Aguilar
Communications Specialist

Morgan.aguilar@utah.edu

801-581-4638

Amy Choate-Nielsen
Communications Specialist, Associate Editor University of Utah Magazine

Amy.Choate@utah.edu

801-830-9434

Jana Cunningham
communications specialist
humanities, fine arts, graduate school, education, parks/recreation/tourism, architecture+planning

Jana.Cunningham@utah.edu

801-581-3862

Katie Drake
Communications Specialist
Business

Katie.Drake@Eccles.Utah.edu

801-971-9626

Paul Gabrielsen
Science writer
chemistry atmospheric science geology math hydrology biology

paul.gabrielsen@utah.edu

801-585-6861

Vince Horiuchi
Public Relations Associate
engineering

Vincent.Horiuchi@utah.edu

801-585-7499

Thad Kelling
Marketing & Public Relations Director
Lassonde Entrepreneur Institute

thad.kelling@utah.edu

801-587-8811

Sheena McFarland
Associate Director
Marketing & Communications, David Eccles School of Business

sheena.mcfarland@eccles.utah.edu

801-587-5796

Libby Mitchell
Managing Editor

libby.mitchell@utah.edu

Lisa Potter
Science Writer
Metallurgical engineering, mining engineering, biology, physics, astronomy, anthropology, geography

lisa.potter@utah.edu

801-585-3093

Annalisa Purser
Communications Specialist
Academic affairs, continuing education, equity & diversity, sustainability, student affairs

Annalisa.Purser@utah.edu

801-581-7295

Tracy Rees
Marketing and Communications Specialist

tracy.rees@utah.edu

801.910.8135

Melinda Rogers
Media Relations Manager
S.J. Quinney College of Law

melinda.rogers@utah.edu

801-587-2130

Nakaiya Stucki
Billing

n.Stucki@utah.edu

Shawn Wood
Communications Specialist
human resources, alumni, auxiliary services, commuter services, facilities, information technologies

shawn.wood@utah.edu

801-585-9244

Twitter

close
3.12163