Our News on Newswise

Alzheimer’s blood test performs as well as FDA-approved spinal fluid tests

Scientists report a major step toward a simple blood test for Alzheimer’s disease. Researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis and Lund University in Sweden showed that a blood test is as good at identifying people in...
21-Feb-2024 11:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 65d353fe08a77_DSC00448Song.jpg

Weedy rice gets competitive boost from its wild neighbors

Weedy rice is an agricultural pest with a global economic impact. It is an aggressive weed that outcompetes cultivated rice and causes billions of dollars in yield losses worldwide. A study from Washington University in St. Louis offers new insights...
19-Feb-2024 8:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

New cell-based immunotherapy offered for melanoma

Siteman Cancer Center, based at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, is one of the first centers nationwide to offer a newly approved cell-based immunotherapy that targets melanoma.
20-Feb-2024 4:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Water quality monitor, locust-inspired electronic nose under development

Two teams of engineers led by faculty in the McKelvey School of Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis will work toward developing products to monitor drinking water quality and to detect explosives with an electronic nose with one-year,...
20-Feb-2024 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

The ties that bind

In a study published in the journal Environmental Science & Technology, WashU researchers discovered that a common mineral called goethite — an iron-rich mineral that is abundant in soils that cover the Earth — tends to incorporate trace metals...
15-Feb-2024 2:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

WashU awarded up to $20M to create portable device to scan for eye diseases

Chao Zhou, a professor of biomedical engineering in the McKelvey School of Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis, has been awarded an up to $20 million contract from the Advanced Research Projects Agency for Health (ARPA-H).
14-Feb-2024 8:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 65bc02c848e07_Fig3.png

Prehistoric mobility among Tibetan farmers, herders shaped highland settlement patterns, cultural interaction, study finds

New research from Washington University in St. Louis and Sichuan University in China explores how and why ancient communities built social relationships and cultural identities across the extreme terrain in Tibet.
1-Feb-2024 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Looking for love? Try finding purpose as well

The world of online dating can be overwhelming with the dizzying array of options for attracting a partner but new research from Washington University in St. Louis shows that those looking for love may have more success if they also seek a sense of...
31-Jan-2024 8:00 AM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: 65a6d7216aa5b_shutterstock2169540905.jpg

WashU Expert: VC bust? Time to return to fundamentals in 2024

After years of record investments and outsized returns fueled by ultralow interest rates, 3,200 U.S. private venture-backed companies — mostly tech startups — went out of business last year. Doug Villhard at Washington University in St. Louis'...
16-Jan-2024 2:05 PM EST

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Shawn Ballard
Science Writer

s.ballard@wustl.edu

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science
Physical Sciences, Mathematics

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Sara Savat
Senior News Director

sara.savat@wustl.edu

3149359615

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Leah Shaffer

lshaffer@wustl.edu

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter

Instagram

Instagram feed not yet configured. Click "Edit Instagram Feed" to enter your Instagram details.
close
0.53624