Our News on Newswise

Sugar metabolism is surprisingly conventional in cancer

A study shows that cancer cells don't want to waste glucose, they just consume it too quickly. The normal pathways for transporting fuel within the cell get saturated. The discovery was made possible with metabolomics, which allowed Gary Patti and...
10-Aug-2022 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62f2df7e8cb84_Macrophage-with-nanoparticlesforweb.jpg

Experimental Drug Reduces Risk of Death From Blood Vessel Rupture in Mice

Nanoparticles (red) are taken up by immune cells (green with blue nuclei). Researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have shown that an experimental nanoparticle-based drug therapy protects mice from sudden death due to...
9-Aug-2022 6:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: srikanthFluoroDOTrecord.jpg

‘Simple yet powerful’: Seeing cell secretion like never before

Washington University in St. Louis researchers have developed a novel method for visualizing the proteins secreted by cells with stunning resolution, making it the James Webb version for visualizing single cell protein secretion.
5-Aug-2022 12:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

One Researcher’s Artifact Is Another’s Result

What is an artifact, anyways? Who gets to decide? An anthropologist and a philosopher dig into the meaning of data artifacts in scientific research.
4-Aug-2022 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Pairing imaging, AI may improve colon cancer screening, diagnosis

A research team from the lab of Quing Zhu, the Edwin H. Murty Professor of Engineering  in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the McKelvey School of Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis, has combined optical coherence...
4-Aug-2022 5:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62e7afd66157b_CitrullusMBEcoverartRenner28Jul2022.jpg

Seedy, not sweet: Ancient melon genome from Libya yields surprising insights into watermelon relative

Biologists investigated the oldest known seeds from a watermelon relative, dating back 6,000 years. The researchers shared two new genomes of ancient seeds and described how Neolithic humans in Libya likely used the seeds, not the bitter flesh, from...
1-Aug-2022 6:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: TitinFiberRECORD.jpeg?w=600&h=400&auto=format&q=70&cs=tinysrgb&fit=crop

NSF grant to help Zhang lab build better muscle with synthetic biology

Researchers at the McKelvey School of Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis have developed a synthetic chemistry approach to polymerize proteins inside of engineered microbes.
29-Jul-2022 12:25 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62d96029ac8e8_NoahTemperatureArtwork2.png

The Birds and the Bees — and the Temperature Gauge

Animals will often put their lives on the line for reproduction, even if it comes at the cost of being the wrong temperature. Thermal biology co-adapts with the traits favored by sexual selection, including things like courtship displays, ornamental...
21-Jul-2022 6:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

Brandie Jefferson
Senior News Director
Engineering, Collaboration/Innovation

brandie.jefferson@wustl.edu

(314) 935-5272

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science
Physical Sciences, Mathematics

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Sara Savat
Senior News Director

sara.savat@wustl.edu

3149359615

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter

close
0.48555