Our News on Newswise

AAAS names eight Washington University faculty as 2021 fellows

Eight faculty members at Washington University in St. Louis are among 564 new fellows selected by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the Science family of...
26-Jan-2022 6:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

New footprinting technique helps answer questions about proteins in living systems

Chemists demonstrated an innovative footprinting method to answer questions about proteins in biological systems with applications in drug design, binding and screening.
21-Jan-2022 3:40 PM EST Add to Favorites

Tug of sun, moon could be driving plate motions on ‘imbalanced’ Earth

A study led by geophysicist Anne M. Hofmeister proposes that imbalanced forces and torques in the Earth-moon-sun system drive circulation of the whole mantle. The new analysis provides an alternative to the hypothesis that the movement of tectonic...
21-Jan-2022 2:20 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 61e983297794c_MetabolicTreatmentWeightLossDeBosch.jpg

Drug mimics beneficial effects of fasting in mice

An investigational cancer drug that starves tumors of their energy supply also shows evidence of improving whole body metabolism, leading to improved weight control, according to a new study in mice from researchers at Washington University School...
20-Jan-2022 10:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: AtlantaNO2MartinCooper.jpg

Lockdown drove pollution changes between – even within – cities

For the first time, researchers can infer levels of nitrogen dioxide on scales as small as a square kilometer thanks to a new method developed in the lab of Randall Martin.
19-Jan-2022 11:55 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 61e20912c649b_IL7forGlioblastomaImage.jpg

Boosting T cells improves survival in mice with glioblastoma

A new study from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis shows that treatment with an immune-boosting protein called interleukin 7 (IL-7) in combination with radiation improves survival in mice with glioblastoma. The study in mice...
15-Jan-2022 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 61defc0e020fa_CervicalCancerCell_Markovina.jpg

New treatment target ID’d for radiation-resistant cervical cancer

Understanding how cells die is key to developing new treatments for many diseases, whether the goal is to make cancer cells die or keep healthy cells alive in the face of other illnesses, such as massive infections or strokes. Two new studies from...
12-Jan-2022 11:10 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: ON-OFF-Odor-Record.jpg

The "surprisingly simple" arithmetic of smell

Algorithm finds ON neurons, which are activated when an odorant is present, and OFF neurons, which are silenced when an odorant is present but become activated after the odor presentation ends.
10-Jan-2022 1:50 PM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: 61e06c04045d7_shutterstock_2000217353 (1).jpg

WashU Experts: What the future holds for Ukraine, Kazakhstan

13-Jan-2022 1:30 PM EST

WashU Expert: Filibuster carve-out protects majority rule

13-Jan-2022 11:05 AM EST

Newswise: Lu_Chenyang.jpg?w=600&h=400&auto=format&q=65&fit=facearea&facepad=3

That new Fitbit does more than count steps. It may save your life one day

4-Jan-2022 4:50 PM EST

Newswise: shutterstock_1889190784.jpg

WashU Experts: One-year anniversary of siege on U.S. Capitol

23-Dec-2021 11:35 AM EST

Newswise: Neil_Richards_Book.jpg

Is privacy dead?

In a new book, “Why Privacy Matters,” one of the world’s leading experts in privacy law, Neil Richards, the Koch Distinguished Professor in Law and co-director of the Cordell Institute for Policy in Medicine & Law at Washington University in...
6-Dec-2021 4:45 PM EST

Newswise: shutterstock_65757709-760x505.jpg

WashU Expert: Roe v. Wade reflects neutrality that Kavanaugh seeks

2-Dec-2021 2:25 PM EST

WashU Expert: Are supply chain disruptions here to stay? Panos Kouvelis shares predictions for 2022 and beyond.

15-Nov-2021 3:25 PM EST

Newswise: 180801_jaa_erik_herzog_0222_760_2.jpg

Time to retire daylight saving time

27-Oct-2021 4:00 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

Jim Goodwin
Associate Director, Cancer News
cancer medical

jgoodwin@wustl.edu

314-286-0166

Brandie Jefferson
Senior News Director
Engineering, Collaboration/Innovation

brandie.jefferson@wustl.edu

(314) 935-5272

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science
Physical Sciences, Mathematics

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Sara Savat
Senior News Director

sara.savat@wustl.edu

3149359615

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter

close
0.45529