Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 619d2f14b8892_Laser-Bacteria.jpg

Ultrashort-pulse lasers kill bacterial superbugs, spores

Researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have found that multidrug-resistant bacteria and bacterial spores can be killed by ultrashort-pulse lasers. The findings could lead to new ways to sterilize wounds and blood...
23-Nov-2021 1:25 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: shutterstock_1489440323.jpg

How distance from care affects cancer outcomes

In a seemingly counterintuitive finding, young adults diagnosed with central nervous system (CNS) tumors might have better survival rates the farther they live from care finds a study from the Brown School at Washington University in St. Louis.
19-Nov-2021 2:30 PM EST Add to Favorites

COVID-19 vaccine elicits weak antibody response in people taking immunosuppressant

People taking TNF inhibitors, a kind of immunosuppressive drug used to treat rheumatoid arthritis and other autoimmune conditions, produced a weaker and shorter-lived antibody response after two doses of Pfizer's COVID-19 vaccine, according to a...
19-Nov-2021 12:55 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 6196d1bcd0e01_trans.PNG

Reducing lung transplant rejection aim of clinical trial funded with $22 million grant

Physicians at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis and Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School in Boston have received a seven-year, $22 million grant from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases...
18-Nov-2021 5:20 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: Eugene-Vorobeychik.jpg?w=325&h=250&auto=format&q=65&fit=facearea&facepad=3

Re-identifying faces from genomic data is more difficult than previously thought

It’s sometimes possible to link public face images with public genomic data, but the success rates are well below what prior research papers suggest in idealized settings, new research from Yevgeniy Vorobeychik's lab shows.
18-Nov-2021 12:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: FuzhongHydrogelRecord.jpg

Synthetic biology yields easy-to-use underwater adhesives

The lab of Fuzhong Zhang at the McKelvey School of Engineering has used synthetic biology to bring together the best of spider silk and mussel foot protein in a biocompatible adhesive.
16-Nov-2021 1:10 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: TSMoonCellSystemsSensor.jpg

Building bacteria to keep us well

Close-up of E. coli bacteria. Tae Seok Moon, professor in the McKelvey School of Engineering, has designed a biosensor, using E. coli as a starting point from which to build a system that can detect individual chemicals in a person's gut.
12-Nov-2021 12:25 PM EST Add to Favorites

Noninvasive brain biopsy shows improved sensitivity in tumor detection

Researchers at Washington University in St. Louis have developed a sonobiopsy method that uses blood test instead of surgery
12-Nov-2021 8:35 AM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

Contacts

Caroline Arbanas
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
Infectious diseases, radiology and surgery medical

arbanasc@wustl.edu

314-286-0109

Tamara Bhandari
Senior Medical Sciences Writer

tbhandari@wustl.edu

314-286-0122

Sharon Derry
University News

sharon_derry@wustl.edu

314-935-6512

Elizabethe Durando
Director of Medical News
medical

elizabethe.durando@wustl.edu

314-286-0119

Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives

EEbsworth-Goold@wustl.edu

314-935-2914

Julie Flory
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Campus Communications

julie.flory@wustl.edu

314-935-5408

Jill Friedman
Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

jill.friedman@wustl.edu

314-935-5476

Jim Goodwin
Associate Director, Cancer News
cancer medical

jgoodwin@wustl.edu

314-286-0166

Brandie Jefferson
Senior News Director
Engineering, Collaboration/Innovation

brandie.jefferson@wustl.edu

(314) 935-5272

Diane Keaggy
Director, Campus LIfe News

 diane.keaggy@wustl.edu

314-935-7298

Juli Leistner
Medical Public Affairs

LEISTNERJ@WUSTL.EDU

314-286-0117

Leslie McCarthy
Executive Editor

leslie_mccarthy@wustl.edu

314-935-6603

Talia Ogliore
Senior News Director, Science
Physical Sciences, Mathematics

talia.ogliore@wustl.edu

314-935-2919

Tina Paradowski
Web Assistant

cparadowski@wustl.edu

Kristina Sauerwein
medical sciences writer
medical

k.sauerwein@wustl.edu

Sara Savat
Senior News Director

sara.savat@wustl.edu

3149359615

Neil Schoenherr
Senior News Director, Law & Brown School
Law, courts, social work, ethics, poverty/socioeconomics, health care, cultural/racial issues

nschoenherr@wustl.edu

314-935-5235

Julia Strait
Senior Medical Sciences Writer
medicine

straitj@wusm.wustl.edu

314-286-0141

Joni Westerhouse
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Medical Public Affair

westerhousej@wustl.edu

314-286-0120

Twitter

close
0.42089