Newswise — SCHAUMBURG, Ill. (April 11, 2016) — The American Academy of Dermatology (Academy) has announced the results of its annual election. The Academy’s new officers and board members will lead the world’s largest dermatologic society, which represents more than 18,000 physicians who specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of skin, hair and nail conditions. These officers and board members also will hold the same positions for the American Academy of Dermatology Association. All terms of office begin in March 2017.

OFFICERSSuzanne Olbricht, MD, FAAD, will take the office of Academy president-elect. Dr. Olbricht is an associate professor of dermatology at Harvard Medical School in Boston. Dr. Olbricht previously served the Academy as secretary-treasurer, assistant secretary-treasurer, and a member of its board of directors. She has also served as chair of the Academy’s Scientific Assembly Committee. Dr. Olbricht is a past president of the New England Dermatology Society.

Ted Rosen, MD, FAAD, was elected Academy vice president. Dr. Rosen is a professor of dermatology, Baylor College of Medicine, and chief of dermatology service, Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Houston. He is currently chair of the Academy’s Audit Committee. He is a past president of the Houston Dermatological Society.

Drs. Olbricht and Rosen will be installed as president-elect and vice president-elect, respectively, in March 2017. Their one-year tenures as president and vice president will begin in February 2018.

BOARD OF DIRECTORSValerie D. Callender, MD, FAAD; Patricia K. Farris, MD, FAAD; Robert S. Kirsner, MD, PhD, FAAD; and Robert A. Weiss, MD, FAAD have been elected to the Academy’s board of directors. They will each serve a four-year term that will begin at the conclusion of the Academy’s 75th Annual Meeting in March 2017.

Valerie D. Callender, MD, FAAD, is an associate professor of dermatology at Howard University Hospital College of Medicine in Washington DC. She serves on the Academy’s International Affairs Committee. She is the immediate past president of the Women’s Dermatologic Society and is a former president of the Skin of Color Society.

Patricia K. Farris, MD, FAAD, is a clinical associate professor of dermatology at Tulane University in New Orleans. She is the past chair of several Academy committees including the Council on Communications and Youth Education Committee. She is the current chair of media relations for the Women’s Dermatologic Society.

Robert S. Kirsner, MD, PhD, FAAD, is the chair and Harvey Blank Professor of Dermatology and Cutaneous Surgery at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine. He is the former chair of the Academy’s Council on Education and Maintenance of CertificationHe is a past president of the Florida Society of Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery.

Robert A. Weiss, MD, FAAD, is a clinical associate professor of dermatology at the University of Maryland School of Medicine in Baltimore. He previously served as chair of the Academy’s Sulzberger Institute for Dermatologic Education Committee. He is the past president of the American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery, the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery and the American College of Phlebology.

Jennifer Allyn Nicole DiVito Amanda Jacobs Kara Jilek(847) 240-1730 (847) 240-1746 (847) 240-1714 (847) 240-1701[email protected] [email protected] [email protected] [email protected]

Headquartered in Schaumburg, Ill., the American Academy of Dermatology (Academy), founded in 1938, is the largest, most influential, and most representative of all dermatologic associations. A sister organization to the Academy, the American Academy of Dermatology Association is the resource for government affairs, health policy and practice information for dermatologists, and plays a major role in formulating policies that can enhance the quality of dermatologic care. With a membership of more than 18,000 physicians worldwide, the Academy is committed to: advancing the diagnosis and medical, surgical and cosmetic treatment of the skin, hair and nails; advocating high standards in clinical practice, education, and research in dermatology; and supporting and enhancing patient care for a lifetime of healthier skin, hair and nails. For more information, contact the Academy at 1-888-462-DERM (3376) or Follow the Academy on Facebook (American Academy of Dermatology), Twitter (@AADskin) or YouTube (Academy of Dermatology).

Editor’s note: To obtain photos of the Academy’s newly elected officers and board members, contact the Academy’s Communications Department at (847) 330-0230.