Newswise — Today, the Johns Hopkins Institute for Excellence in Education (IEE) awarded nine educators for their outstanding teaching here at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. The awards included the Martin D. Abelhoff Award for Lifetime Achievement in Medical and Biomedical Education, the Lisa J. Heiser Award for Junior Faculty Contribution in Education, and several other teaching awards and grants for educational projects.

David B. Hellmann, M.D., vice dean of Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center and director of its Department of Medicine, was awarded the Martin D. Abeloff Award. This is the highest of the IEE's honors and is named for a man whose long and illustrious career at Johns Hopkins left an indelible mark. Hellmann is one of Johns Hopkins’ best physicians, teachers and program builders. He is the inaugural Aliki Perroti Professor of Medicine, a position that recognizes his leadership in education. Hellmann’s clinical care and research focus is on vasculitis; over the last four years, Hellmann has evaluated over 200 patients with systemic vasculitis. Areas of interest have included Wegener’s granulomatosis, temporal arteritis, Takayasu’s arteritis and polyarteritis nodosa. Hellmann is director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Innovative Medicine, which promotes patient-centered care through the creative collaboration of research, teaching and patient care programs.

Satish P. Shanbhag, M.B.B.S., M.P.H., an assistant professor of hematology, won the Lisa J. Heiser Award for Junior Faculty Contribution in Education, which is given to a junior faculty member who has made an outstanding contribution in medical/biomedical education and has shown great promise for future meaningful contributions to medical and biomedical education.

Danelle Cayea, M.D., an assistant professor of geriatric medicine, was given the award for teaching with less than 10 years on faculty. For teaching with 10 or more years on faculty, the award went to Michael Choi, M.D., an associate professor of nephrology. For part-time faculty, Michael Crocetti, M.D., an assistant professor of pediatrics, was given the teaching award.

For his work leading and mentoring, Noel Rose, M.D., Ph.D., a professor of pathology, received an award for outstanding achievement in education. Janet Serwint, M.D., a professor of pediatrics, was given an award for her educational scholarship. Toby Cornish, M.D., Ph.D., an assistant professor of pathology, and Ralph Hruban, M.D., a professor of pathology, received the award for educational innovation.

Two grants were also awarded to offer Johns Hopkins faculty the resources necessary to enhance their educational skills, complete a scholarly project and encourage careers as educational leaders. The 2014 Berkheimer Faculty Education Scholar grant went to Amit K. Pahwa, M.D., and Danelle Cayea, M.D., for their project “Improving Medical Students’ Practice of High Value Care.” The 2014 international grant was awarded to Debra J.H. Mathews, Ph.D., for her project “Ethics and Policy in Synthetic Biology: The Development and Testing of a Massive Open Online Course.”

The IEE honored the Focused Advanced Specialty Track (FAST) Program in emergency medicine, which is a unique four-year program where fellows in their fourth year pursue subspecialty training. The FAST program fast-tracks fellows through their training, shortening the length from the typical two-year subspecialty focus.

The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine has always been recognized nationally and internationally for having the best teachers and medical and biomedical educational resources in the world. Since a major component of the mission of the IEE is to value the excellent teaching members of our faculty do, we honor them and their service to the greater good and the education of all of those training at Johns Hopkins.

More information: ###

Johns Hopkins Medicine (JHM), headquartered in Baltimore, Maryland, is a $6.7 billion integrated global health enterprise and one of the leading health care systems in the United States. JHM unites physicians and scientists of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine with the organizations, health professionals and facilities of The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System. JHM's vision, “Together, we will deliver the promise of medicine,” is supported by its mission to improve the health of the community and the world by setting the standard of excellence in medical education, research and clinical care. Diverse and inclusive, JHM educates medical students, scientists, health care professionals and the public; conducts biomedical research; and provides patient-centered medicine to prevent, diagnose and treat human illness. JHM operates six academic and community hospitals, four suburban health care and surgery centers, and more than 30 primary health care outpatient sites. The Johns Hopkins Hospital, opened in 1889, was ranked number one in the nation for 21 years in a row by U.S. News & World Report. If you would rather not receive future communications from Johns Hopkins Medicine, let us know by clicking here.

Johns Hopkins Medicine, 901 South Bond St., Suite 550, Baltimore, MD 21231 United States