Media Contact: Russell Rian214-648-3404[email protected]

Newswise — DALLAS – July 28, 2014 – Ten UT Southwestern Medical Center researchers are among the most highly cited researchers in the U.S., earning them a place on Thomson Reuters’ 2014 list of the World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds.

Researchers earn the distinction by ranking among the top 1 percent of scientists most cited for their subject field and year of publication between 2002 and 2012.

“These citations by scientific peers underscore the breadth and value of discovery under way at UT Southwestern, as well as the value of our research to the larger scientific community and the field of medicine,” said Dr. David Russell, Vice Provost and Dean of Basic Research, Professor of Molecular Genetics, and holder of the Eugene McDermott Distinguished Chair in Molecular Genetics.

Noted UT Southwestern faculty included in this year’s listing include a Nobel Laureate, four members of the National Academy of Sciences, three members of the Institute of Medicine, three members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and two Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigators.

UT Southwestern’s top-cited researchers, based on the category in which they were selected, are:

Biology & Biochemistry Dr. Daniel Rosenbaum, Assistant Professor of Biophysics and Biochemistry, holder of the Eugene McDermott Scholar in Medical Research, whose research involves G protein-coupled receptors, membrane protein structural biology, and molecular recognition.

Dr. Philipp Scherer, Professor of Internal Medicine and Cell Biology, holder of the Gifford O. Touchstone, Jr. and Randolph G. Touchstone Distinguished Chair in Diabetes Research, whose research involves fat cells, blood vessel formation, insulin-secreting cells, breast cancer, and intracellular protein trafficking.

Dr. Joseph Takahashi, Chairman of Neuroscience, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, and holder of the Loyd B. Sands Distinguished Chair in Neuroscience, whose research involves circadian biology and the discovery of genes that influence behavior.

Clinical Medicine Dr. Adi Gazdar, Professor of the Nancy B. and Jake L. Hamon Center for Therapeutic Oncology Research and Pathology and holder of the W. Ray Wallace Distinguished Chair in Molecular Oncology Research, whose research involves inactivation of tumor suppressor genes, molecular pathogenesis of human cancers especially lung cancers, preneoplastic changes preceding cancer and the role of DNA viruses in human cancers.

Dr. Scott Grundy, Professor of Internal Medicine and holder of the Distinguished Chair in Human Nutrition, whose research involves cholesterol metabolism, dietary fats, drugs affecting lipoprotein metabolism, human genetics, and metabolic syndrome.

Dr. David Johnson, Chairman of Internal Medicine and holder of the Donald W. Seldin Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine, whose research involves developing new therapies to treat lung cancer.

Dr. Eric Olson, Chairman of Molecular Biology, Director of the Hamon Center for Regenerative Science, and holder of the Pogue Distinguished Chair in Research on Cardiac Birth Defects, the Robert A. Welch Distinguished Chair in Science, and the Annie and Willie Nelson Professorship in Stem Cell Research, whose research involves microRNAs, muscle development, stem cells, and transcriptional regulation.

ImmunologyDr. Bruce Beutler, Nobel Laureate, Regental Professor, Director of the Center for Genetics of Host Defense, Professor of Immunology, and holder of the Raymond and Ellen Willie Distinguished Chair in Cancer Research, in Honor of Laverne and Raymond Willie, Sr., whose research involves identifying the molecular machinery that mammals use to fight infections.

Molecular Biology & GeneticsDr. Beth Levine, Professor of Internal Medicine and Microbiology, Director of the Center for Autophagy Research, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, and holder of the Charles Cameron Sprague Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science, whose research involves defining the role of autophagy in health and disease and how autophagy is regulated at the molecular level.

Psychiatry/Psychology Dr. Madhukar Trivedi, Professor of Psychiatry and holder of the Betty Jo Hay Distinguished Chair in Mental Health, whose research involves evidence-based psychopharmacology and treatment algorithms in mood disorders, functional brain imaging in major depressive and obsessive-compulsive disorders, and neurobiology and psychopharmacology of depression and bipolar disorder.

“The listings of Highly Cited Researchers feature authors whose published work in their specialty areas has consistently been judged by peers to be of particular significance and utility,” according to the announcement by Reuters.

About UT Southwestern Medical CenterUT Southwestern, one of the premier academic medical centers in the nation, integrates pioneering biomedical research with exceptional clinical care and education. The institution’s faculty includes many distinguished members, including six who have been awarded Nobel Prizes since 1985. Numbering more than 2,700, the faculty is responsible for groundbreaking medical advances and is committed to translating science-driven research quickly to new clinical treatments. UT Southwestern physicians provide medical care in 40 specialties to nearly 91,000 hospitalized patients and oversee more than 2 million outpatient visits a year.

###This news release is available on our home page

To automatically receive news releases from UT Southwestern via email, subscribe at