Newswise — On Thursday, July 23rd Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz will confer the 2014 E.O. Lawrence Award on nine distinguished scientists, who are being recognized for their exceptional contributions in research and development in support of the Department of Energy(DOE).

The ceremony will take place at 4:00 p.m. in the Main Auditorium of DOE Headquarters.To attend in person, it is critical to bring a government-issued ID and to RSVP no later than Friday, July 17th, 2015 at The nine Lawrence Award recipients who will receive a medal and a $20,000 honorarium at the ceremony include:

Mei Bai (Brookhaven National Laboratory) –Nuclear PhysicsFor innovation and leadership to achieve the successful acceleration and storage of polarized proton beams up to 255 GeV at the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC), and for its related impact to advancing fundamental nuclear physics.

Carolyn R. Bertozzi (Stanford University) – Atomic, Molecular, and Chemical Sciences

For transformative discoveries in the chemistry and biology of complex carbohydrates, and for innovating nanotechnologies to probe biological systems, optimize bioreactors, and develop tailored devices and materials.

Pavel Bochev (Sandia National Laboratories) – Computer, Information, and Knowledge Sciences

For pioneering advances in numerical methods for partial differential equations and the formulation of new classes of solutions, and for fostering their adoption into mission relevant applications and codes.

Eric E. Dors (Los Alamos National Laboratory) - National Security and Nonproliferation

For technical leadership and systems engineering integration of next generation satellite-based nuclear explosion sensing and detection systems, and for its impact to the nonproliferation mission.

Christopher L. Fryer (Los Alamos National Laboratory) – Fusion and Plasma Sciences

For seminal advances in theory and modeling answering fundamental questions in astrophysics, for achievement in computational multiphysics, and for contributions impacting high-energy density science.

David J. Schlegel (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) – High Energy Physics

For exceptional leadership and innovation to transform cosmology into a precision science, and for its impact to map the expansion rate of the Universe, ascertain the nature of Dark Energy, and test General Relativity.

Brian D. Wirth (University of Tennessee) – Energy Science and Innovation

For transformational advances in computational multiscale modeling of radiation effects in materials, and for their impact to fission and fusion energy technologies.

Peidong Yang (University of California, Berkeley) – Condensed Matter and Materials Sciences

For discoveries advancing synthesis and understanding of nanoscale materials, and for developing novel semiconductor nanowires and metal nanocrystals impacting applications and devices.

Jizhong (Joe) Zhou (University of Oklahoma) – Biological and Environmental Sciences

For seminal discoveries advancing understanding in environmental functional genomics and microbial ecology systems, and for innovative development of metagenomics technologies.

For additional information regarding the ceremony, please visit For questions or special accommodation requests,please email [email protected] .

For more information about the Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award and the contributions each award recipient has made to U.S. leadership in energy, science and security, please visit