Newswise — The American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine (AANEM) is honoring Andrea J. Boon, MD, with the AANEM Scientific Award for PMR. The award recognizes mid-career members for serving as a first author, second author, or senior author on a published paper in a national or international peer-reviewed, indexed journal within the past 2 years.

Dr. Boon was awarded for her work as the senior author on a November 2018 article in Dovepress Journal of Pain Research titled, “Sensitivity of high-resolution ultrasonography in clinically diagnosed carpal tunnel syndrome patients with hand pain and normal nerve conduction studies.” 

Dr. Boon saw a way for this study to have a practical effect on her everyday work.

“This is a typical situation where I will also use neuromuscular ultrasound to measure the size of the median nerve. I often find the nerve is enlarged, sometimes only on the basis of an increased wrist forearm ratio, so I felt this was a good study to do, to evaluate when ultrasound can add to the patient’s workup in this setting,” said Dr. Boon.

Dr. Boon has served in a number of roles for the AANEM, including 18 years on the Professional Practice Committee, AANEM CPT and RUC advisor to the AMA, the Ultrasound Task Force, the Ultrasound Exam Committee, the Education Committee, the Awards Committee, and as a member of the Board of Directors.

 “I really enjoy the networking opportunities that come out of membership – connecting with others with expertise in this area and being able to bounce ideas off each other, collaborate on research projects to further our field, and familiar faces to reconnect with at other meetings around the United States and overseas that I attend in the area of neuromuscular medicine,” Dr. Boon said.

 Dr. Boon graduated from medical school in New Zealand before completing her residency in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. She completed a Clinical Neurophysiology fellowship in the Neurology department at Mayo Clinic. She has been on staff at Mayo Clinic since 2000, with a joint appointment as Professor in the Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and Neurology departments.  She is certified by the American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (ABPMR) and by the ABEM.