Newswise — Bethesda, Md. – Sept. 20, 2016 – The Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP), the premier global, non-profit organization serving molecular diagnostics professionals, today announced the recipients of the Jeffrey A. Kant Leadership Award and the AMP Meritorious Service Award. Together with the AMP Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics, these awards will be presented at the AMP 2016 Annual Meeting.

Eric Lander, PhD, President and Founding Director of the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, and Professor of Biology at MIT and Professor of Systems Biology at Harvard Medical School, has earned this year’s Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics. The award recognizes lifetime, pioneering, and special achievements by professionals in the field. “Dr. Lander was one of the early pioneers of the human genome,” said Charles E. Hill, MD, PhD, AMP President. “Throughout his career, Dr. Lander and his colleagues have developed tools and applied methods that have transformed our understanding of the molecular basis of rare and common genetic diseases, including cancer. His seminal publications, fundamental discoveries, and significant scientific contributions have had a massive impact on human health by providing us with the framework for the modern practice of clinical molecular diagnostics.”

Timothy J. O’Leary, MD, PhD, will receive the Jeffrey A. Kant Leadership Award, recognizing his exceptional leadership in the advancement of AMP’s mission and vision. “Over the years, Dr. O’Leary played a pivotal role at AMP, including serving as President in 2011 and as the Editor-in-Chief of The Journal of Molecular Diagnostics from 2010-2014,” said Hill. “We are immensely appreciative for his commitment to the profession and our community.” Before retiring in 2015, Dr. O’Leary dedicated over 36 years of his career to federal service, most recently serving at the Department of Veterans Affairs as Director, Clinical Sciences Research and Development Service, Director, VA Cooperative Studies Program, Deputy Chief Research and Development Officer, and Chief Research and Development Officer.

Neal I. Lindeman, MD, Director of the Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH) Molecular Diagnostics Laboratory, will receive the AMP Meritorious Service Award. This award recognizes AMP members whose dedication to and volunteer efforts for the Association are exceptional, over an extended period, and often behind‐the‐scenes. “Dr. Lindeman has worked tirelessly on AMP’s behalf over the years, and he has been an extraordinary leader on the development, release and revision of the Molecular Testing Guideline for Selection of Lung Cancer Patients for EGFR and ALK Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitors,” said Hill. In addition, Dr. Lindeman has served in a number of other volunteer capacities, including serving as the Solid Tumors Representative to the Nominating Committee 2013-14, and as a member of several working groups that were a part of the Clinical Practice Committee 2009-12.

ABOUT AMPThe Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP) was founded in 1995 to provide structure and leadership to the emerging field of molecular diagnostics. AMP's 2,300+ members practice in the various disciplines of molecular diagnostics, including bioinformatics, infectious diseases, inherited conditions, and oncology. They include individuals from academic and community medical centers, government, and industry; including pathologist and doctoral scientist laboratory directors; basic and translational scientists; technologists; and trainees. Through the efforts of its Board of Directors, Committees, Working Groups, and members, AMP is the primary resource for expertise, education, and collaboration in one of the fastest growing fields in healthcare. AMP members influence policy and regulation on the national and international levels, ultimately serving to advance innovation in the field and protect patient access to high quality, appropriate testing. For more information, visit

MEDIA CONTACT:Andrew 415-722-2129