Newswise — Joshua J. Jacobs, MD, William A. Hark, MD and Susanne G. Swift Professor and Chair of Orthopedic Surgery at Rush University Medical Center, has been elected as Vice President of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) for a one-year term.

The ABOS Board of Directors consists of 21 members, which includes 12 Active Directors, six Senior Directors, two Directors-Elect, and one Public Member Director. ABOS Board Members serve one 10-year term while the Public Member Director serves a three-year renewable term. Nominations to the ABOS Board of Directors come from the American Orthopaedic Association, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, and the American Medical Association. For a full list of ABOS Board Members, go to

Dr. Jacobs was elected to the ABOS Board in 2016. He currently serves as Chair of the ABOS Oral Examination Committee. He previously served as President of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, President of the Orthopaedic Research Society and President of the United States Bone and Joint Decade. At Rush, Dr. Jacobs specializes in adult reconstruction. He also serves as the Vice Provost for Research of Rush University. He earned his medical degree at the University of Illinois. Dr. Jacobs completed his Orthopedic Surgery Residency at the Combined Harvard Orthopaedic Residency Program in Boston and his fellowship in Adult Reconstructive Orthopaedic Surgery at Rush.

The American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, Inc. was founded in 1934 as a private, voluntary, nonprofit, independent organization to serve the best interests of the public and the medical profession. These interests are achieved through the ABOS by establishing standards for the education of orthopaedic surgeons. These standards are evaluated by the ABOS through examinations and practice evaluations. More information can be found at

Register for reporter access to contact details