Newswise — CHICAGO, IL, May 29, 2019 —On Thursday, May 2nd, during their Board of Directors Meeting, the Medical Library Association (MLA) recognized the organization’s 2019-2020 Incoming Officers during MLA’19, MLA’s Premiere Event held from May 3 to 8, 2019 in Chicago, Illinois. Officially elected in March of 2019, the officers will begin (or continue) each of their terms following MLA’s Premier Event.

Julia Esparza, AHIP, was elected the 2019-2020 MLA President. She succeeds Beverly Murphy, AHIP, FMLA, MLA’s 2018-2019 President. Julia is Head of User Education and Outreach Services in the Health Sciences Library of Louisiana State University.

Lisa K. Traditi, MLS, AHIP, was elected 2019-2020 MLA President-Elect. She is Deputy Director at Strauss Health Sciences Library at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus.

Beverly Murphy, AHIP, FMLA, was named Immediate Past President of MLA. She succeeds Barbara A. Epstein, AHIP, FMLA, MLA’s 2018-2019 Immediate Past President. Beverly Murphy is the Assistant Director for Communications and Web Content Management at Duke University Medical Center Library & Archives and the Hospital Nursing Liaison for Duke Health System and Watts School of Nursing.

Donna R. Berryman, AHIP, SUNY, was elected MLA Chapter Council Chair. She is the Head of Health Sciences Library Services at the University of Buffalo University Libraries.

Sally Gore was elected Member of the MLA Board of Directors. She is the Manager of Research and Scholarly Communication Services at the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

Meredith I. Solomon, MLS was elected Member of the MLA Board of Directors. She is Outreach Officer at Harvard Medical School.

Gurpreet Kaur Rana was named MLA Secretary. She is the Global Health Coordinator at Taubman Health Sciences Library at the University of Michigan.

Shannon D. Jones, MLS, MEd, AHIP, was named MLA Treasurer. She is the Director of Libraries at the Medical University of South Carolina.

Elizabeth R. Lorbeer, AHIP, was elected MLA Section Council Chair. She is the Chair and Associate Professor of the Department of the Medical Library at Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine at Western Michigan University. 


About MLA

The Medical Library Association (MLA) is a global, nonprofit educational organization, with a membership of more than 400 institutions and 3,000 professionals in the health information field. Since 1898, MLA has fostered excellence in the professional practice and leadership of health sciences library and information professionals to enhance health care, education, and research throughout the world. MLA educates health information professionals, supports health information research, promotes access to the world's health sciences information, and works to ensure that the best health information is available to all. For more information about MLA, visit

Register for reporter access to contact details