Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of Kentucky
Lexington, KY USA

Our News on Newswise

Markey Researchers Discover Role of Nuclear Glycogen in Non-small Cell Lung Cancers

Researchers at the University of Kentucky Markey Cancer Center have made a breakthrough discovery that solves a mystery long forgotten by science and have identified a potentially novel avenue in pre-clinical models to treat non-small cell lung...
12-Sep-2019 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 190115BrownUKnow057.JPG

Are Children Interested in Politics? University of Kentucky Researcher Provides Insight in New Study

With the 2020 U.S. presidential election fast approaching, should the youngest members of society be engaged in the political discussion? Findings of a new collaborative study — conducted by researchers at the University of Kentucky, University of...
12-Sep-2019 10:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Fat-Absorbing XX Chromosomes Raise Heart Disease Risk in Women

Research in mice has confirmed that the presence of XX sex chromosomes increases the amount of fat circulating in the blood and by extension increased risk of heart disease for women.
3-Sep-2019 7:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 20190819-BarbNikolajczykPhotos-LowRes-003.JPG

What Drives Inflammation in Type 2 Diabetes? Not Glucose, Says New Research

Research led by Barbara Nikolajczyk, Ph.D., disproved the conventional wisdom that glucose was the primary driver of chronic inflammation in type 2 diabetes. The data might change opinion of tight glycemic control as the optimal strategy for type 2...
20-Aug-2019 2:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: GettyImages-963044086.jpg

University of Kentucky Chemist to Study Atmospheric Reactions of Pollution

The NSF-funded project will focus on how gases, such as ozone, react with pollutants in the atmosphere. The research may help reduce air pollution levels and consequently, human cardiovascular diseases.
13-Aug-2019 11:35 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 190408Lofwall6392.JPG

New Curriculum for Substance Use Disorder Care Available for Primary Care Providers

Dr. Michelle Lofwall, professor of behavioral science and psychiatry in the University of Kentucky College of Medicine, is one of three national addiction physician experts who led a team of healthcare professionals in developing a new core...
2-Aug-2019 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

UK Transplant Researchers Seek to Fight Organ Rejection in New Trial

For transplant patients, organ rejection can be a serious complication. A new clinical trial at the UK Transplant Center seeks to change how the body reacts to a new organ by inducing tolerance to it through a special process prior to transplant.
31-Jul-2019 2:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

How Families With Same-Sex Parents Resolve Conflict has Impact

Rachel Farr, an assistant professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of Kentucky, previously reported that children adopted by lesbian, gay and heterosexual parents are well-adjusted over time. Her most recent study, co-authored by...
30-Jul-2019 2:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

The University of Kentucky is a public, land grant university dedicated to improving people's lives through excellence in education, research and creative work, service, and health care. As Kentucky's flagship institution, the university plays a critical leadership role by promoting diversity, inclusion, economic development, and human well-being.

Contacts

Ann Blackford
Dentistry, health sciences, nursing and public health

ann.blackford@uky.edu

859-323-6442

Jay Blanton
Executive Director of Public Relations

jay.blanton@uky.edu

859-257-6605

Katy Bennett
Marketing Specialist
Education law student government marketing

katy.bennett@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kelley Bozeman
Brand Management Deputy Director

kelleyb@uky.edu

859-257-3303

Grace Colville
Information Specialist
Family and Community Medicine, University Health Services

grace.colville@uky.edu

8595622294

Ryan Girves
Information Specialist

ryan.girves@uky.edu

Alicia Gregory
Video Producer

apgreg@uky.edu

859-257-2980

Gail Hairston
Public Relations Officer
Human resources, facilities management & sustainability medical

gail.hairston@uky.edu

859-257-3302

Whitney Hale
Senior Information Specialist
Fine arts and libraries

Whitney.Hale@uky.edu

859-257-8716

Kathy Johnson
Deputy Director, News Bureau
public safety

kathy.johnson@uky.edu

859-257-3155

Amy Jones-Timoney
Senior Informations Specialist for Multimedia News
Admissions, development and campus video

aljoneb@email.uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kristi Lopez
Director, Med Ctr. News Bureau
medical

kristi.lopez@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Meg Mills
Information Specialist
Education, Communication, Information Technology, Library Science, Human Development

margaret.mills@uky.edu

859-323-7978

Allison Perry
Information Specialist

allison.perry@uky.edu

859-257-1754 x225

Lindsey Piercy
Information Specialist
Social Work, Humanities, Law, Engineering

lindsey.piercy@uky.edu

859-323-5613

Aaron Porter Jr.
Information Specialist
Podcasts, Video, Student Government, Student Organizations

appo223@g.uky.edu

Mallory Powell
Information Specialist Senior
Center for Clinical and Translational Science

mallory.powell@uky.edu

859-323-2395

Jenny Wells
Senior Information Specialist
Communications, financial aid, capital projects and audio

jenny.wells@uky.edu

859-257-5343

Laura Wright
Public Relations Officer
Neurology cardiology emergency medicine Alzheimer's Disease Aging

Laurawright@uky.edu

859-257-5307

Danielle Donham

danielle.donham@uky.edu

Mallory Olson

mallory.olson@uky.edu

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!