Our News on Newswise

University of Kentucky Researchers Unite to Fight COVID-19

Researchers and faculty from multiple disciplines across the University of Kentucky are coming together as part of the global effort to treat, understand and eradicate COVID-19. A new workgroup within UK’s College of Medicine is bringing together...
3-Apr-2020 8:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites

University of Kentucky Researchers Seek to Develop Antiviral Membrane Mask

University of Kentucky researcher Dibakar Bhattacharyya has the concept and the means to develop a medical face mask that would capture and deactivate the COVID-19 virus on contact.
3-Apr-2020 8:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites

University of Kentucky Research Could Help Predict Progression of Parkinson's Disease

Researchers from the University of Kentucky’s College of Medicine are leading a clinical study that could provide a promising new method for early detection of Parkinson’s disease.
17-Mar-2020 9:40 AM EDT Add to Favorites

UK’s Superfund Research Center Connects with Community for a Healthier Kentucky

Research conducted within UK’s Superfund Research Center (UK-SRC) suggests that proper nutrition can reduce the toxicity of environmental pollutants. Dawn Brewer leads the UK-SRC’s Community Engagement Core, which is working to connect this...
5-Mar-2020 10:20 AM EST Add to Favorites

B cells may travel to remote areas of the brain to improve stroke recovery

New University of Kentucky research shows that the immune system may target other remote areas of the brain to improve recovery after a stroke.
17-Feb-2020 9:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

New Study Examines Ways to Improve Cancer Literacy in Young Students

A new study led by University of Kentucky Markey Cancer Center researchers suggests that implementing cancer education curricula in middle and high schools may improve cancer literacy in Kentuckians and ultimately help reduce cancer rates.
10-Feb-2020 2:55 PM EST Add to Favorites

Protein Could Offer Therapeutic Target for Breast Cancer Metastasis

A new study by University of Kentucky Markey Cancer Center researchers suggests that targeting a protein known as heat shock protein 47 could be key for suppressing breast cancer metastasis.
5-Feb-2020 8:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

A High-Fiber Diet May Counteract the Harmful Health Effects of Pollutants

Research from the University of Kentucky’s Superfund Research Center shows that a diet high in fiber could possibly reverse the adverse effects that environmental toxins have on cardiovascular health.
30-Jan-2020 8:55 AM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: MichaelClark.jpg

University of Kentucky Expert, Economist Michael Clark Weighs in on Impact of COVID-19

7-Apr-2020 8:40 AM EDT

Newswise: Dutch.jpg

Virology Expert Answers Key Questions on COVID-19

University of Kentucky virologist Rebecca Dutch answers key questions related to the novel coronavirus. Dutch discusses the virus’ origin, transmission rates, mutation, testing, the difference between COVID-19 and SARS/MERS, and more.
2-Apr-2020 4:00 AM EDT

Virologist available to answer key questions about COVID-19

31-Mar-2020 11:05 AM EDT

Understanding Brain Inflammation and Stroke Recovery

University of Kentucky professor Ann Stowe’s research may pave the way to understanding and improving how the brain recovers from stroke.
19-Feb-2020 8:55 AM EST

University of Kentucky's Ambassador Cavanaugh Available to Discuss Implications of U.S. Strike on Iran

7-Jan-2020 10:35 AM EST

Experts available for comment on inflammation/TREM-2, AD mimics, anticholinergics and biomarkers at #AAIC19

12-Jul-2019 11:05 AM EDT

Newswise: IMG_3753.jpeg

A cyclone didn't stop @UK_Ortho's Dr. Kim Kaiser from hiking to the South Base Camp of Mt. Everest. After spending 15 days on the trail, she's ready to apply what she learned about wilderness medicine to patients right here in the Commonwealth

23-May-2019 9:00 AM EDT

Newswise: 190425Nelson3343.JPG

Expert available to discuss newly-characterized AD mimic and its impact on research/treatment strategies around dementia

1-May-2019 11:05 AM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

The University of Kentucky is a public, land grant university dedicated to improving people's lives through excellence in education, research and creative work, service, and health care. As Kentucky's flagship institution, the university plays a critical leadership role by promoting diversity, inclusion, economic development, and human well-being.

Contacts

Ann Blackford
Dentistry, health sciences, nursing and public health

ann.blackford@uky.edu

859-323-6442

Jay Blanton
Executive Director of Public Relations

jay.blanton@uky.edu

859-257-6605

Katy Bennett
Marketing Specialist
Education law student government marketing

katy.bennett@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kelley Bozeman
Brand Management Deputy Director

kelleyb@uky.edu

859-257-3303

Grace Colville
Information Specialist
Family and Community Medicine, University Health Services

grace.colville@uky.edu

8595622294

Ryan Girves
Information Specialist

ryan.girves@uky.edu

Alicia Gregory
Video Producer

apgreg@uky.edu

859-257-2980

Gail Hairston
Public Relations Officer
Human resources, facilities management & sustainability medical

gail.hairston@uky.edu

859-257-3302

Whitney Hale
Senior Information Specialist
Fine arts and libraries

Whitney.Hale@uky.edu

859-257-8716

Kathy Johnson
Deputy Director, News Bureau
public safety

kathy.johnson@uky.edu

859-257-3155

Amy Jones-Timoney
Senior Informations Specialist for Multimedia News
Admissions, development and campus video

aljoneb@email.uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kristi Lopez
Director, Med Ctr. News Bureau
medical

kristi.lopez@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Meg Mills
Information Specialist
Education, Communication, Information Technology, Library Science, Human Development

margaret.mills@uky.edu

859-323-7978

Allison Perry
Public Relations Officer

allison.perry@uky.edu

859-323-2399

Lindsey Piercy
Information Specialist
Social Work, Humanities, Law, Engineering

lindsey.piercy@uky.edu

859-323-5613

Mallory Powell
Information Specialist Senior
Center for Clinical and Translational Science

mallory.powell@uky.edu

859-323-2395

Jenny Wells
Senior Information Specialist
Communications, financial aid, capital projects and audio

jenny.wells@uky.edu

859-257-5343

Elizabeth Chapin
Information Specialist

elizabeth.chapin@uky.edu

859-562-2207

Danielle Donham
Information Specialist - Law, Agriculture, Food and Environment, Graduate School, Public Policy

danielle.donham@uky.edu

859-562-2660

Mallory Olson

mallory.olson@uky.edu

Hillary Smith
Public Relations Officer

hillary.smith@uky.edu

859-257-5307

Twitter

close
4.10642