Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of Kentucky
Lexington, KY USA

Our News on Newswise

MeTooCenteredBlue.png

International Symposium Explores Global Impact of #MeToo Movement

The event will provide a space for dialogue and learning, offering opportunities to learn about the histories, challenges and goals of movements and efforts around the world that address gender inequalities and how these intersect with one another....
8-Apr-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

190327GRUNDY03_1.JPG

A New Open-Source App Helps Patient "See" His Heart on a Cell Phone

Medical jargon can be confusing and a picture is worth a thousand words. Those two principles drove a physician to develop a free app that helps referring physicians and patients see their heart in 3D.
4-Apr-2019 7:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Are Healthcare Providers "Second Victims" of Medical Errors?

Four women whose family members died as a result of medical error penned an editorial in The BMJ urging abandonment of the term "second victims" to describe healthcare providers who commit medical errors.
2-Apr-2019 3:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

A "Low Dose Aspirin" for Dementia? Drug Ready for First in-Human Testing

Alzheimer's disease wreaks emotional havoc on patients, who are robbed of their memories, their dignity, and their lives. To date, there have been very few successes in the pursuit of a treatment. But one drug that looks at AD from a different angle...
2-Apr-2019 7:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Q&A With UK Sport Psychologist Marc Cormier: What it Takes to 'Win it All'

Marc Cormier, director of the Sport and Exercise Psychology graduate program housed in the University of Kentucky College of Education Department of Kinesiology and Health Promotion and director of Counseling and Sport Psychology Services in UK...
1-Apr-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Image-1002.png

Stranger Shaming: University of Kentucky Researcher Reveals Harm in Humiliating Others

It's no secret — people are secretly taking photos of other people in public spaces and posting them to social media for amusement. This new phenomenon is being used to humiliate others, and it has become shockingly acceptable. This...
29-Mar-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

abner-erin.jpg

Does Smoking Cause Dementia? Maybe Not, Study Says

A recent study has demonstrated that smoking is not associated with a higher risk of dementia.
11-Mar-2019 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

IMG_0103.JPG

Kentucky Geological Survey researcher to develop landslide models, risk assessments in Eastern Kentucky

Funded by FEMA, the three-year project will allow Matt Crawford, a landslide researcher, to work with local officials in eastern Kentucky to adopt strategies for reducing landslide risks to infrastructure and improving response for landslide events.
27-Feb-2019 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

The University of Kentucky is a public, land grant university dedicated to improving people's lives through excellence in education, research and creative work, service, and health care. As Kentucky's flagship institution, the university plays a critical leadership role by promoting diversity, inclusion, economic development, and human well-being.

Contacts

Ann Blackford
Dentistry, health sciences, nursing and public health

ann.blackford@uky.edu

859-323-6442

Jay Blanton
Executive Director of Public Relations

jay.blanton@uky.edu

859-257-6605

Laura Wright
Public Relations Manager
Neurology cardiology emergency medicine Alzheimer's Disease Aging

laura.dawahare@uky.edu

859-257-5307

Sarah Geegan
Information Specialist
elections

sarah.geegan@uky.edu

859-257-5365

Gail Hairston
Public Relations Officer
Human resources, facilities management & sustainability medical

gail.hairston@uky.edu

859-257-3302

Whitney Hale
Senior Information Specialist
Fine arts and libraries

Whitney.Hale@uky.edu

859-257-8716

Whitney Harder
Information Specialist
Engineering, Education, Law, Social Work, Sciences

whitney.harder@uky.edu

859-323-2396

Kathy Johnson
Deputy Director, News Bureau
public safety

kathy.johnson@uky.edu

859-257-3155

Amy Jones-Timoney
Senior Informations Specialist for Multimedia News
Admissions, development and campus video

aljoneb@email.uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kristi Lopez
Director, Med Ctr. News Bureau
medical

kristi.lopez@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Carl Nathe
University Information Officer
Business

cnath1@email.uky.edu

859-257-1754

Allison Perry
Information Specialist

allison.perry@uky.edu

859-257-1754 x225

Mallory Powell
Information Specialist Senior
Center for Clinical and Translational Science

mallory.powell@uky.edu

859-323-2395

Jenny Wells
Senior Information Specialist
Communications, financial aid, capital projects and audio

jenny.wells@uky.edu

859-257-5343

Alicia Gregory
Video Producer

apgreg@uky.edu

859-257-2980

Katy Bennett
Marketing Specialist
Education law student government marketing

katy.bennett@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kelley Bozeman
Brand Management Deputy Director

kelleyb@uky.edu

859-257-3303

Blair Hoover
Information Specialist
Communication, International Center, Graduate School, Parking and Transportation, Dining, Housing

blair.hoover@uky.edu

859-257-6398

Meg Mills
Information Specialist
Education, Communication, Information Technology, Library Science, Human Development

margaret.mills@uky.edu

859-323-7978

Lindsey Piercy
Information Specialist
Social Work, Humanities, Law, Engineering

lindsey.piercy@uky.edu

859-323-5613

Olivia Ramirez
Information Specialist
Digestive Health Program and Gastroenterology; University Health Service; Orthopaedics and Sports Me

olivia.ramirez@uky.edu

8592571076

Loretta Stafford
Information Specialist
Healthcare

lorettastafford@uky.edu

8593237643

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!