Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of Kentucky
Lexington, KY USA

Our News on Newswise

From Pilot Study to Culture Change: How UK HealthCare Is Reducing Opioid Prescriptions

After a personal experience with a patient inspired him to make some changes, Dr. Phillip Chang worked with pharmacist Doug Oyler to initiate a small pilot study in UK HealthCare's trauma service with the goal of reducing opioid prescriptions. That...
26-Jun-2019 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 19-06-14AlbertKsinan-Photpprovided.jpg

New Study Examines the Association Between Race, Ethnicity and Exclusionary Discipline Practices

Discipline and how it is administered in schools across the U.S. continues to be a hotly debated topic. Now a University of Kentucky doctoral graduate’s expansive research on the subject has been published in the Journal of School Psychology and...
17-Jun-2019 4:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 190604BRADLEY101copy.JPG

When It Looks Like Dementia But Isn’t: Epilepsy Not Just a “Children’s Disease”

When Guy Bradley began having episodes of memory loss and confusion, doctors suspected a stroke or dementia. Instead, an EEG showed that the 69-yeard old epilepsy, which is frequently missed in older patients because it's presumed to be a...
6-Jun-2019 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 190516Seales1524.JPG

Brent Seales Awarded Prestigious Mellon Grant, Poised to Solve 2,000-Year-Old Mystery

Thanks, in large part, to a $2 million grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, UK's Brent Seales finally has the materials access, funding support and technical approach needed to solve the 2,000-year-old mystery wrapped inside the Herculaneum...
21-May-2019 11:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Economics Professor Explores Relationship Between Walmart and Food Insecurity

Whether the proliferation of Walmart supercenters is a help or a hindrance to the U.S. economy has long been a topic of debate. But according to new research from Charles Courtemanche, associate professor of economics in University of Kentucky’s...
20-May-2019 12:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

New Project Funded by NCI, NIDA, Aims to Eradicate Hepatitis C in Eastern Ky. County

With $15 million from the National Cancer Institute and National Institute on Drug Abuse and a donation of 900 doses of a 12-week treatment from Gilead Sciences Inc., University of Kentucky's Jennifer Havens has the goal of eradicating HCV in Perry...
17-May-2019 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

UK Becomes First Center in the Country to Open Total Cancer Care Protocol to Pediatric Patients

UK HealthCare recently opened the Oncology Research Information Exchange Network’s (ORIEN) Total Cancer Care Protocol to pediatric patients, becoming the first cancer program in the country to do so.
17-May-2019 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Identifying Therapeutic Targets in Sepsis' Cellular Videogame

New research published in Cell Immunity has defined the chain of molecular events that goes awry in sepsis, opening up opportunities for new treatments.
7-May-2019 4:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

The University of Kentucky is a public, land grant university dedicated to improving people's lives through excellence in education, research and creative work, service, and health care. As Kentucky's flagship institution, the university plays a critical leadership role by promoting diversity, inclusion, economic development, and human well-being.

Contacts

Ann Blackford
Dentistry, health sciences, nursing and public health

ann.blackford@uky.edu

859-323-6442

Jay Blanton
Executive Director of Public Relations

jay.blanton@uky.edu

859-257-6605

Laura Wright
Public Relations Manager
Neurology cardiology emergency medicine Alzheimer's Disease Aging

laura.dawahare@uky.edu

859-257-5307

Sarah Geegan
Information Specialist
elections

sarah.geegan@uky.edu

859-257-5365

Gail Hairston
Public Relations Officer
Human resources, facilities management & sustainability medical

gail.hairston@uky.edu

859-257-3302

Whitney Hale
Senior Information Specialist
Fine arts and libraries

Whitney.Hale@uky.edu

859-257-8716

Whitney Harder
Information Specialist
Engineering, Education, Law, Social Work, Sciences

whitney.harder@uky.edu

859-323-2396

Kathy Johnson
Deputy Director, News Bureau
public safety

kathy.johnson@uky.edu

859-257-3155

Amy Jones-Timoney
Senior Informations Specialist for Multimedia News
Admissions, development and campus video

aljoneb@email.uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kristi Lopez
Director, Med Ctr. News Bureau
medical

kristi.lopez@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Carl Nathe
University Information Officer
Business

cnath1@email.uky.edu

859-257-1754

Allison Perry
Information Specialist

allison.perry@uky.edu

859-257-1754 x225

Mallory Powell
Information Specialist Senior
Center for Clinical and Translational Science

mallory.powell@uky.edu

859-323-2395

Jenny Wells
Senior Information Specialist
Communications, financial aid, capital projects and audio

jenny.wells@uky.edu

859-257-5343

Alicia Gregory
Video Producer

apgreg@uky.edu

859-257-2980

Katy Bennett
Marketing Specialist
Education law student government marketing

katy.bennett@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kelley Bozeman
Brand Management Deputy Director

kelleyb@uky.edu

859-257-3303

Blair Hoover
Information Specialist
Communication, International Center, Graduate School, Parking and Transportation, Dining, Housing

blair.hoover@uky.edu

859-257-6398

Meg Mills
Information Specialist
Education, Communication, Information Technology, Library Science, Human Development

margaret.mills@uky.edu

859-323-7978

Lindsey Piercy
Information Specialist
Social Work, Humanities, Law, Engineering

lindsey.piercy@uky.edu

859-323-5613

Olivia Ramirez
Information Specialist
Digestive Health Program and Gastroenterology; University Health Service; Orthopaedics and Sports Me

olivia.ramirez@uky.edu

8592571076

Loretta Stafford
Information Specialist
Healthcare

lorettastafford@uky.edu

8593237643

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!