Our News on Newswise

B cells may travel to remote areas of the brain to improve stroke recovery

New University of Kentucky research shows that the immune system may target other remote areas of the brain to improve recovery after a stroke.
17-Feb-2020 9:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

New Study Examines Ways to Improve Cancer Literacy in Young Students

A new study led by University of Kentucky Markey Cancer Center researchers suggests that implementing cancer education curricula in middle and high schools may improve cancer literacy in Kentuckians and ultimately help reduce cancer rates.
10-Feb-2020 2:55 PM EST Add to Favorites

Protein Could Offer Therapeutic Target for Breast Cancer Metastasis

A new study by University of Kentucky Markey Cancer Center researchers suggests that targeting a protein known as heat shock protein 47 could be key for suppressing breast cancer metastasis.
5-Feb-2020 8:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

A High-Fiber Diet May Counteract the Harmful Health Effects of Pollutants

Research from the University of Kentucky’s Superfund Research Center shows that a diet high in fiber could possibly reverse the adverse effects that environmental toxins have on cardiovascular health.
30-Jan-2020 8:55 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: CNETVisit-JesseHoaggResearch-0282.jpg

Could Drones Save Cows? Why University of Kentucky Research Team Thinks So

It's a staggering statistic — every year nearly 3 million cows in the U.S. die from health problems. And it's costing the cattle industry more than $1 billion. Could eyes in the sky be the answer? Jesse Hoagg, the Donald and Gertrude Lester...
27-Jan-2020 11:30 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: Concretetest.JPG

University of Kentucky Project Seeks to Create More Environmentally Friendly, Stronger Cement

The UK Center for Applied Energy Research has received a two-year, $1.3 million grant to develop extremely durable belite-based cement — an alternative to ordinary Portland cement — that is low-energy consuming and low-carbon dioxide releasing.
21-Jan-2020 11:15 AM EST Add to Favorites

Menthol Ban Could Increase Health Equity

Current policies that include restrictions on the sale of menthol flavored tobacco and nicotine products are less likely to reach those that would benefit from them the most, according to new research from the University of Kentucky’s College of...
16-Jan-2020 9:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: gentry-zhu-kuang.JPG

Antibiotics could be promising treatment for form of dementia

Researchers at the University of Kentucky’s College of Medicine have found that a class of antibiotics called aminoglycosides could be a promising treatment for frontotemporal dementia.
10-Jan-2020 8:35 AM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

The University of Kentucky is a public, land grant university dedicated to improving people's lives through excellence in education, research and creative work, service, and health care. As Kentucky's flagship institution, the university plays a critical leadership role by promoting diversity, inclusion, economic development, and human well-being.

Contacts

Ann Blackford
Dentistry, health sciences, nursing and public health

ann.blackford@uky.edu

859-323-6442

Jay Blanton
Executive Director of Public Relations

jay.blanton@uky.edu

859-257-6605

Katy Bennett
Marketing Specialist
Education law student government marketing

katy.bennett@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kelley Bozeman
Brand Management Deputy Director

kelleyb@uky.edu

859-257-3303

Grace Colville
Information Specialist
Family and Community Medicine, University Health Services

grace.colville@uky.edu

8595622294

Ryan Girves
Information Specialist

ryan.girves@uky.edu

Alicia Gregory
Video Producer

apgreg@uky.edu

859-257-2980

Gail Hairston
Public Relations Officer
Human resources, facilities management & sustainability medical

gail.hairston@uky.edu

859-257-3302

Whitney Hale
Senior Information Specialist
Fine arts and libraries

Whitney.Hale@uky.edu

859-257-8716

Kathy Johnson
Deputy Director, News Bureau
public safety

kathy.johnson@uky.edu

859-257-3155

Amy Jones-Timoney
Senior Informations Specialist for Multimedia News
Admissions, development and campus video

aljoneb@email.uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kristi Lopez
Director, Med Ctr. News Bureau
medical

kristi.lopez@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Meg Mills
Information Specialist
Education, Communication, Information Technology, Library Science, Human Development

margaret.mills@uky.edu

859-323-7978

Allison Perry
Public Relations Officer

allison.perry@uky.edu

859-323-2399

Lindsey Piercy
Information Specialist
Social Work, Humanities, Law, Engineering

lindsey.piercy@uky.edu

859-323-5613

Mallory Powell
Information Specialist Senior
Center for Clinical and Translational Science

mallory.powell@uky.edu

859-323-2395

Jenny Wells
Senior Information Specialist
Communications, financial aid, capital projects and audio

jenny.wells@uky.edu

859-257-5343

Elizabeth Chapin
Information Specialist

elizabeth.chapin@uky.edu

859-562-2207

Danielle Donham
Information Specialist - Law, Agriculture, Food and Environment, Graduate School, Public Policy

danielle.donham@uky.edu

859-562-2660

Mallory Olson

mallory.olson@uky.edu

Hillary Smith
Public Relations Officer

hillary.smith@uky.edu

859-257-5307

Twitter

close
0.80111