Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareIndiana University
Bloomington, IN USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: BotSlayer_infographic.jpg

Tracking coordinated disinformation campaigns online made easier with new BotSlayer tool

Indiana University's Observatory on Social Media has launched a new tool, BotSlayer, that instantly detects coordinated attempts to manipulate public opinion using social media.
12-Sep-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: KSBJeffPrince_20170828_004.jpg

Indiana University Kelley School of Business professor Jeff Prince appointed chief economist at FCC

Jeff Prince, a professor in the Indiana University Kelley School of Business, has been appointed as chief economist at the Federal Communications Commission. He will begin work at the commission on Sept. 3.
28-Aug-2019 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

IRS Budget Cuts Result in $34.3 Billion in Lost Tax Revenue From Large Firms

Budget cuts at the Internal Revenue Service threaten the agency's effectiveness and have led to billions of dollars in lost tax revenue, new research from the Indiana University Kelley School of Business shows.
13-Aug-2019 4:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Druginteractiondatavisualizationwithtext2.jpg

Women and elderly at higher risk of dangerous drug interactions

Indiana University data scientists have found evidence that women and older adults are more likely to be prescribed multiple drugs that interact dangerously.
12-Aug-2019 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: kinsey_reporter_splashscreen.jpg

Kinsey Institute Launches Effort to Collect Data on Sexual Assault, Aggression

The Kinsey Institute has released an updated version of its smartphone app for the anonymous collection of data on sexual behavior that addresses the subject of sexual assault and aggression.
7-Aug-2019 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: e62qkhrt1k_actual.jpg

Buying local? Higher price means higher quality in consumers' minds

Why are we willing to pay much more for a six pack of craft beer, a locally produced bottle of wine or a regional brand item, often choosing them over national brands? It's because when people prefer to "buy local," they more frequently base their...
23-Jul-2019 2:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: MindX_logo.jpeg

IU-connected startup enabling precision medicine for mental health, pain

MindX Sciences, a startup founded on science developed at Indiana University, is working to commercialize the first objective tests to assess pain and a number of mental health issues that historically have been difficult to measure.
2-Jul-2019 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: COHEN_Samantha_with_dog.jpg

Puppy love: Choosing the perfect pooch poses challenges similar to dating

Indiana University psychologists who study relationship choice have found that when it comes to picking a canine companion, what people say they want in a dog isn't always in line with what they choose.
25-Jun-2019 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

Founded in 1820, Indiana University is one of the world's foremost public institutions. With more than 111,000 students and 19,000 employees statewide, IU continues to pursue its core missions of education and research while building a foundation for the university's enduring strengths in teaching and learning, world-class scholarship, innovation, creative activity, community engagement and academic freedom. Bloomington is the flagship campus of the university, and each one of IU's seven campuses is an accredited, four-year degree-granting institution.

Experts

No experts available.

Contacts

Cadence Baugh Chang
Digital Communications Specialist

clbaugh@iu.edu

Haley Begay
Communications Intern

hbegay@iu.edu

James Boyd
Manager of External Relations
Cybersecurity, IT issues

joboyd@indiana.edu

812-855-0156

Lauren Bryant
Editor of Research & Creative Activity

labryant@indiana.edu

812-855-4152

Chuck Carney
Director of Media Relations

ccarney@iu.edu

812-855-1892

Jamie Cesanek
Intern Journalist

jcesanek@iu.edu

Kelsey Cook
Associate Director of Research Communications

kelrcook@iu.edu

(317) 274-5090

Amber Denney
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications

ambdenne@iu.edu

317-278-7703

Joel Fosha
IIDC Office of Public Relations
Science

foshaj@indiana.edu

812-855-6508

Kevin Fryling
Senior News and Media Specialist, Science

kfryling@iu.edu

812-856-2988

Sherry Garrity
Arts/Humanities

sgarrity@indiana.edu

812-856-0695

Kim Hannel
News Editor

khannel@iu.edu

317-274-7733

Drew Hansen
Communications Intern

hansendr@iu.edu

317-999-8090

Leigh Hedger
Digital Content and Analytics Senior Coordinator

lahedger@iu.edu

317-274-5494

Jonathan Hines
Communications & Outreach Manager, IU's Environmental Resilience Institute

johines@iu.edu

812-856-3610

Steve Hinnefeld
News and Media Specialist
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

slhinnef@indiana.edu

812-856-3488

Christine Johnson
Executive Director of Research Communications

cj100@iu.edu

Mary Keck
Public Affairs & Presidential Communications Specialist

marykeck@iu.edu

(812) 856-2148

Sally Krause
Director of Marketing & Strategic Communications
School of Nursing

skrause@iu.edu

317-278-2048

Steven Martin
Senior Communications Specialist

stgmart@iu.edu

3172781505

Steve Martin
Senior Communications Specialist
Technology Commercialization

stgmart@iu.edu

Bethany Nolan
News and Media Specialist

nolanb@indiana.edu

812-855-6494

Mary Olk
Communications Specialist/Content Strategist

meolk@iu.edu

317-274-5432

Ryan Piurek
Strategic Communications Director, Bloomington
Arts humanities

rpiurek@indiana.edu

812-855-5393

Jennifer Piurek
Editor

jpiurek@indiana.edu

812-856-4886

Amanda Roach
Assistant Director Strategic Communications

ajr1@iu.edu

812-856-3717

Rich Schneider
Senior News & Media Specialist

rcschnei@iu.edu

(317) 278-4564

Michael Schug
Communications Manager, IU Simon Cancer Center

maschug@iupui.edu

317-278-0953

John Schwarb
Senior Communications Specialist

schwarbj@iu.edu

317-274-2195

Karen Spataro
Director of Strategic Communications

keschbac@iu.edu

317-278-3676

Karen Spataro
Communications Director

keschbac@iu.edu

617-233-3627

April Toler
News and Media Specialist

artoler@iu.edu

812-856-3006

George Vlahakis
Associate Director of Communications and Media Relations
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

vlahakis@iu.edu

812-855-0846

Michelle Watson
News Editor

mw89@iu.edu

812-856-9035

Nicole Wilkins
Assistant Director of Strategic Communications

nnwilkin@iu.edu

812-856-2119

Marah Yankey
Senior News and Media Specialist

mqharbis@iu.edu

(812) 856-1442

Andrea Zeek
Senior Content and Media Strategist
medicine

anzeek@iu.edu

317-278-1703

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!