Our News on Newswise

Research analyzes relationship between agriculture, emergence of new diseases

Researchers propose a new way of understanding how diseases spread between animals and humans, by focusing on the effect that agriculture, ecological and sociopolitical factors have on disease emergence and transmission.
18-Sep-2023 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

IU School of Medicine expands point-of-care ultrasound training

Indiana University School of Medicine is expanding its training program for point-of-care ultrasound (POCUS) by investing in portable ultrasound systems for all students, residents, and fellows across seven specialties to use in curricula and...
12-Sep-2023 8:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 64fa1fa92f41c_BakasSpyridon35.JPG

Internationally recognized computational researcher Spyridon Bakas, PhD, to serve as inaugural director of Division of Computational Pathology

Indiana University School of Medicine Department of Pathology is launching a new Division of Computational Pathology and a Research Center for Federated Learning in Precision Medicine.
7-Sep-2023 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 64f8b00b1561a_schwartz-peter.jpg

Dangerous Ignorance: What Patients Don’t Understand about Pharmacogenomics

Do you know what pharmacogenomics is? You might not, but you should, and all patients should.
6-Sep-2023 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 64f89d7dd8c23_NCRAD15.jpg

IU researchers identify new gene mutation that alters Alzheimer’s disease risk

A groundbreaking study led by experts from Indiana University School of Medicine has shed new light on the genetic underpinnings of Alzheimer's disease.
6-Sep-2023 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 64f77c2749f71_profilepic.jpg

Study: health equity an important aspect of improving quality of care provided to children in emergency departments

A new multi-site study led by Indiana University School of Medicine found increasing pediatric readiness in emergency departments reduces, but does not eliminate, racial and ethnic disparities in children and adolescents with acute medical...
6-Sep-2023 7:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 64ee2e6adf5ec_TorkeFowlerv2.png

Statewide project to provide care and support to people living with dementia and their care partners

An Indiana University School of Medicine statewide project in collaboration with Indiana University Health was recently funded to support people living with dementia as well as their family care partners find more support and resources, thanks to a...
30-Aug-2023 7:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 64e77dad3c88e_YaoYingMaMDPhD.jpg

Overlooked part of brain could play critical role in addiction recovery

Researchers from Indiana University School of Medicine have discovered a neglected brain region that could play a critical role in how likely a person with drug use disorders is to relapse, even after a long withdrawal period. Their findings were...
24-Aug-2023 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: 64f73d8bf0691_thomas-duszynski.jpeg

Experts available to comment on the potential of a 'tripledemic'

With an uptick in COVID cases and cold and flu season approaching, health experts are warning of a possible "tripledemic". Experts from Indiana University are able to comment.
5-Sep-2023 10:25 AM EDT

Newswise: 64cc076ba6f38_daniella-chusyd-headshot.jpg

What can elephants tell us about human aging? IU public health researcher wants to find out

IU researcher Daniella Chusyd and her team are studying elephants' unique evolutionary strategies to better understand human aging — research which will also help better understand the impact human activities can have on elephant health and aging,...
3-Aug-2023 2:05 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Founded in 1820, Indiana University is one of the world's foremost public institutions. With more than 111,000 students and 19,000 employees statewide, IU continues to pursue its core missions of education and research while building a foundation for the university's enduring strengths in teaching and learning, world-class scholarship, innovation, creative activity, community engagement and academic freedom. Bloomington is the flagship campus of the university, and each one of IU's seven campuses is an accredited, four-year degree-granting institution.

Experts

Contacts

Emily Banas

ebanas@iu.edu

Ken Bikoff

kbikoff@indiana.edu

(812) 856-0176

James Boyd
Director of Marketing and Communications
at School of Public and Environmental Affairs

joboyd@indiana.edu

(812) 856-5490

Barbara Brosher
Communications consultant

bbrosher@iu.edu

812-855-1175

Chuck Carney
Director of Media Relations

ccarney@iu.edu

812-855-1892

Kelsey Cook
Associate Director of Research Communications

kelrcook@iu.edu

(317) 274-5090

Amber Denney
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications

ambdenne@iu.edu

317-278-7703

Rosanne Emerick
Administrative Business Manager

rdye@iu.edu

812-855-5123

Joel Fosha
IIDC Office of Public Relations
Science

foshaj@indiana.edu

812-855-6508

Kevin Fryling
Senior News and Media Specialist, Science

kfryling@iu.edu

812-856-2988

Sherry Garrity
Arts/Humanities

sgarrity@indiana.edu

812-856-0695

Christina Griffiths

griffchm@iu.edu

317-671-3114

Kim Hannel
News Editor

khannel@iu.edu

317-274-7733

Jonathan Hines
Communications & Outreach Manager, IU's Environmental Resilience Institute

johines@iu.edu

812-856-3610

Kirk Johannesen
Communications Consultant

ktjohann@iu.edu

812-855-2193

Mary Keck
Communications Manager

marykeck@iu.edu

(812) 856-2148

Laura Klaum
Director of External Affairs & Special Projects

lklaum@iupui.edu

317-274-1484

Sally Krause
Director of Marketing & Strategic Communications
School of Nursing

skrause@iu.edu

317-278-2048

Bill Layden
Adjunct Professor of Practice

bilayden@iu.edu

812-855-4867

Bethany Nolan
News and Media Specialist

nolanb@indiana.edu

812-855-6494

Jennifer Piurek
Director, Communications and Special Projects
Office of the Provost

jpiurek@indiana.edu

812-856-4886

Ryan Piurek
Assistant Vice President, Presidential Communications and Special Projects

rpiurek@indiana.edu

812-855-5393

Amanda Roach
Assistant Director Strategic Communications

ajr1@iu.edu

812-856-3717

Melissa Thomas
Associate Director of Communications
Business

mhelsby@iu.edu

April Toler
Executive Director of Communications, Office of the Vice President for Research

artoler@iu.edu

812-855-3851

Debbie Ungar
Communications Manager for Center for Global Health

debungar@iu.edu

3175019043

George Vlahakis
Associate Director of Communications and Media Relations
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

vlahakis@iu.edu

812-855-0846

Karen Walker

WALKERK@IU.EDU

8128764539

Michelle Watson
News Editor

mw89@iu.edu

812-856-9035

Marah Yankey
Senior News and Media Specialist

mqharbis@iu.edu

(812) 856-1442

Andrea Zeek
Assistant Director of Research Communications, School of Medicine

anzeek@iu.edu

317-278-3646

Twitter

Instagram

Instagram feed not yet configured. Click "Edit Instagram Feed" to enter your Instagram details.
close
0.78682