Our News on Newswise

Newswise: naomiswiezy-002.jpg

Center offers COVID-19 training and resources for individuals with autism spectrum disorder

The HANDS in Autism® Interdisciplinary Training & Resource Center at IUPUI launched a Coronavirus Hub for educators, families, and medical professionals to assist them in helping individuals with autism spectrum disorder cope during the pandemic.
20-May-2020 2:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Is your job killing you? Stress, lack of autonomy and ability can lead to depression and death

As millions continue working from home during the pandemic or are required to report to jobs as essential employees, many have raised questions about how these work conditions impact our health -- and not just as they relate to COVID-19. A new study...
19-May-2020 2:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: krendl.jpg

Pandemic disrupting social networks that are key to older adults' well-being

Having a strong social network of friends and family can have a positive impact on people’s emotional and physical well-being, particularly for those 65 and older. IU researchers are now studying how the pandemic has disrupted those social...
14-May-2020 9:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 20200429_COVID-19_Testing_LK_005.jpg

IU, Indiana State Department of Health release preliminary findings about impact of COVID-19 in state

Preliminary results from a scientific study aimed at measuring the spread of the novel coronavirus in Indiana show a general population prevalence of about 2.8 percent of the state's population.
14-May-2020 7:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Scarcity reduces consumers' concerns about prices, even during a pandemic, research shows

New research published in the Journal of Consumer Marketing Research finds that scarcity actually decreases consumers' tendency to use price to judge a product's quality.
13-May-2020 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: RoodmanDavid_215x7.jpg

IU cancer researcher earns $1.6 million NCI grant for multiple myeloma bone disease therapies

David Roodman is leading research to investigate a molecule that could repair bone, decrease tumors and improve outcomes for multiple myeloma patients on specific targeted therapies.
12-May-2020 9:40 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Lu2019.jpg

Cancer researchers identify checkpoint target for colorectal cancer immunotherapy

Researchers at the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Comprehensive Cancer Center have identified a target for colorectal cancer immunotherapy.
11-May-2020 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: RWJF2019_CS_PIERCE_BARBARA-15-TOP1.jpg

School-based program aims to reduce 'teacher trauma' from COVID-19 pandemic

A research project led by IUPUI aims to assist teachers and other school personnel who experience "secondary traumas" from working with vulnerable populations, especially in times of crisis like the COVID-19 pandemic.
5-May-2020 2:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: element_12_035c19a1a36e8a95625093226a59cbf0-738-2019-01-15_De%20Bryant%20Portrait_NDA-01.jpg

IU experts available to comment on racism, social justice, policing, role of media in light of George Floyd protests

29-May-2020 2:35 PM EDT

Newswise: Fargo-headshot.jpg

Freedom of speech expert available to comment on Trump's executive order on social media

29-May-2020 10:10 AM EDT

Newswise: hernandez.jpg

Experts available to comment on racial and social inequality in COVID-19 health care

As all 50 U.S. states ease economic restrictions implemented in response to the coronavirus, health and policy experts are braced for a potential second wave of COVID-19. Based on the first phase of the crisis, the hardest-hit populations are...
26-May-2020 12:55 PM EDT

Newswise: BeckyLiu-LastresHeadshot.jpg

Expert available to comment on COVID-19 risk perception and summer vacations

Becky Liu-Lastres, assistant professor in the Department of Tourism, Event, and Sport Management at IUPUI is available to talk about COVID-19’s potential impact on vacations this summer, particularly how tourists will make travel decisions based...
18-May-2020 3:35 PM EDT

Newswise: WEINGARTEN_Harvey.jpg

Dentist available to discuss steps required to safety reopen dental practices during COVID-19 pandemic

1-May-2020 10:30 AM EDT

Newswise: mohap_hr.jpg

Expert available to talk about the importance of articulating specific end-of-life wishes

29-Apr-2020 4:35 PM EDT

Newswise: RebeccaEllis.jpg

Expert available to talk about proning benefits for COVID-19 patients

23-Apr-2020 1:50 PM EDT

Newswise: element_12_7f0b010a04be74f6946c86ee2fbeac27-845-Beth2.jpg

Expert available to discuss ways to talk to your child about missing out due to COVID-19

22-Apr-2020 11:55 AM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Founded in 1820, Indiana University is one of the world's foremost public institutions. With more than 111,000 students and 19,000 employees statewide, IU continues to pursue its core missions of education and research while building a foundation for the university's enduring strengths in teaching and learning, world-class scholarship, innovation, creative activity, community engagement and academic freedom. Bloomington is the flagship campus of the university, and each one of IU's seven campuses is an accredited, four-year degree-granting institution.

Contacts

Cadence Baugh Chang
Digital Communications Specialist

clbaugh@iu.edu

Niha Alasapuri
News and Media Intern

nalasapu@iu.edu

Haley Begay
Communications Intern

hbegay@iu.edu

James Boyd
Director of Marketing and Communications
at School of Public and Environmental Affairs

joboyd@indiana.edu

(812) 856-5490

Barbara Brosher
Presidential communications and public affairs specialist

bbrosher@iu.edu

812-855-1175

Lauren Bryant
Editor of Research & Creative Activity

labryant@indiana.edu

812-855-4152

Chuck Carney
Director of Media Relations

ccarney@iu.edu

812-855-1892

Jamie Cesanek
Intern Journalist

jcesanek@iu.edu

Kelsey Cook
Associate Director of Research Communications

kelrcook@iu.edu

(317) 274-5090

Amber Denney
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications

ambdenne@iu.edu

317-278-7703

Joel Fosha
IIDC Office of Public Relations
Science

foshaj@indiana.edu

812-855-6508

Kevin Fryling
Senior News and Media Specialist, Science

kfryling@iu.edu

812-856-2988

Sherry Garrity
Arts/Humanities

sgarrity@indiana.edu

812-856-0695

Kim Hannel
News Editor

khannel@iu.edu

317-274-7733

Drew Hansen
Communications Intern

hansendr@iu.edu

317-999-8090

Leigh Hedger
Digital Content and Analytics Senior Coordinator

lahedger@iu.edu

317-274-5494

Jonathan Hines
Communications & Outreach Manager, IU's Environmental Resilience Institute

johines@iu.edu

812-856-3610

Mary Keck
Communications Manager

marykeck@iu.edu

(812) 856-2148

Sally Krause
Director of Marketing & Strategic Communications
School of Nursing

skrause@iu.edu

317-278-2048

Bill Layden
Adjunct Professor of Practice

bilayden@iu.edu

812-855-4867

Steve Martin
Senior Communications Specialist
Technology Commercialization; Arts and Humanities

stgmart@iu.edu

317-278-1505

Bethany Nolan
News and Media Specialist

nolanb@indiana.edu

812-855-6494

Mary Olk
Communications Specialist/Content Strategist

meolk@iu.edu

317-274-5432

Darrin Pack
Sr. Content and Media Strategist

darpack@iu.edu

Ryan Piurek
Assistant Vice President, Presidential Communications and Special Projects

rpiurek@indiana.edu

812-855-5393

Jennifer Piurek
Director, Communications and Special Projects
Office of the Provost

jpiurek@indiana.edu

812-856-4886

Amanda Roach
Assistant Director Strategic Communications

ajr1@iu.edu

812-856-3717

Michael Schug
Communications Manager, IU Simon Cancer Center

maschug@iupui.edu

317-278-0953

John Schwarb
Senior Communications Specialist

schwarbj@iu.edu

317-274-2195

Avery Scott
Communications Intern

avescott@iu.edu

6308818186

Karen Spataro
Communications Director

keschbac@iu.edu

617-233-3627

Karen Spataro
Director of Strategic Communications

keschbac@iu.edu

317-278-3676

April Toler
Senior Associate Director of Communications, Office of the Vice President for Research

artoler@iu.edu

812-855-3851

George Vlahakis
Associate Director of Communications and Media Relations
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

vlahakis@iu.edu

812-855-0846

Holly Vonderheit
Executive Director, Strategic Communications

hvonderh@iu.edu

317-274-5434

Michelle Watson
News Editor

mw89@iu.edu

812-856-9035

Nicole Wilkins
Executive Director of Research Communications

nnwilkin@iu.edu

812-856-2119

Marah Yankey
Senior News and Media Specialist

mqharbis@iu.edu

(812) 856-1442

Andrea Zeek
Senior Content and Media Strategist

anzeek@iu.edu

317-278-1703

Twitter

close
1.61871