Our News on Newswise

Three-year, $1.35 million grant to aid mental health programming in western Kenya

The Astellas Global Health Foundation has awarded the Academic Model Providing Access to Healthcare (AMPATH), under the direction of the Indiana University Center for Global Health, a three-year, $1.35 million grant to provide 400,000 people with...
10-Feb-2020 4:55 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: olga.jpg

IU study looks at the effect of Medicaid expansion on hiring attempts in substance use treatment workforce

While Medicaid expansion has led to substantial increases in Medicaid reimbursement for substance use treatment, it has not specifically led to a detectable increase in hiring attempts to increase the substance use disorder and behavioral health...
30-Jan-2020 6:25 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: BioPhoto.jpg

Jellison Family Foundation gives $16 million to IU Kelley School of Business

The Brian and Sheila Jellison Family Foundation is giving $16 million to the Indiana University Kelley School of Business, with a goal of supporting free enterprise, financial literacy and lifelong learning. The Jellison Foundation hopes to inspire...
29-Jan-2020 9:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: KinseySexTechstudy.png

'Sex Tech' Study Finds Technology Facilitates Sexual and Emotional Interactions

Advances in technology have allowed us to interact with others across the globe, and a new study of adults who engage with "sex tech"—innovative technologies used to enhance sexuality—announced by the Kinsey Institute at Indiana University...
23-Jan-2020 9:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: GettyImages-essential-oil-2.jpg

Chemical compound found in essential oils improves wound healing, IU study finds

Indiana University researchers have discovered that a chemical compound found in essential oils improves the healing process in mice when it is topically applied to a skin wound.
18-Dec-2019 8:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: jgolson-lrg.jpg

'Financial infidelity': What defines it, who is at risk, and what are the consequences?

Romantic partners aren't always honest about money in their relationships, but when does hiding purchases, debt and savings constitute "financial infidelity"? Research by professors at four universities, including Indiana University, defines the...
11-Dec-2019 2:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Researchers open underwater 'living museum' in the Dominican Republic

In partnership with the government of the Dominican Republic, researchers at the Indiana University Center for Underwater Science have opened their fifth "Living Museum in the Sea" in the Caribbean country -- a continuation of the center's holistic...
5-Dec-2019 4:50 PM EST Add to Favorites

Smooth Operator: When Earnings Management Is a Good Thing

New research from the Kelley School of Business makes the case that "smoothing the numbers" can be beneficial -- if you have the right team in place to handle the job.
26-Nov-2019 3:35 PM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Founded in 1820, Indiana University is one of the world's foremost public institutions. With more than 111,000 students and 19,000 employees statewide, IU continues to pursue its core missions of education and research while building a foundation for the university's enduring strengths in teaching and learning, world-class scholarship, innovation, creative activity, community engagement and academic freedom. Bloomington is the flagship campus of the university, and each one of IU's seven campuses is an accredited, four-year degree-granting institution.

Contacts

Cadence Baugh Chang
Digital Communications Specialist

clbaugh@iu.edu

Niha Alasapuri
News and Media Intern

nalasapu@iu.edu

Haley Begay
Communications Intern

hbegay@iu.edu

James Boyd
Director of Marketing and Communications
at School of Public and Environmental Affairs

joboyd@indiana.edu

(812) 856-5490

Barbara Brosher
presidential communications specialist

bbrosher@iu.edu

812-855-1175

Lauren Bryant
Editor of Research & Creative Activity

labryant@indiana.edu

812-855-4152

Chuck Carney
Director of Media Relations

ccarney@iu.edu

812-855-1892

Jamie Cesanek
Intern Journalist

jcesanek@iu.edu

Kelsey Cook
Associate Director of Research Communications

kelrcook@iu.edu

(317) 274-5090

Amber Denney
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications

ambdenne@iu.edu

317-278-7703

Joel Fosha
IIDC Office of Public Relations
Science

foshaj@indiana.edu

812-855-6508

Kevin Fryling
Senior News and Media Specialist, Science

kfryling@iu.edu

812-856-2988

Sherry Garrity
Arts/Humanities

sgarrity@indiana.edu

812-856-0695

Kim Hannel
News Editor

khannel@iu.edu

317-274-7733

Drew Hansen
Communications Intern

hansendr@iu.edu

317-999-8090

Leigh Hedger
Digital Content and Analytics Senior Coordinator

lahedger@iu.edu

317-274-5494

Jonathan Hines
Communications & Outreach Manager, IU's Environmental Resilience Institute

johines@iu.edu

812-856-3610

Mary Keck
Communications Manager

marykeck@iu.edu

(812) 856-2148

Sally Krause
Director of Marketing & Strategic Communications
School of Nursing

skrause@iu.edu

317-278-2048

Bill Layden
Adjunct Professor of Practice

bilayden@iu.edu

812-855-4867

Steve Martin
Senior Communications Specialist
Technology Commercialization; Arts and Humanities

stgmart@iu.edu

317-278-1505

Bethany Nolan
News and Media Specialist

nolanb@indiana.edu

812-855-6494

Mary Olk
Communications Specialist/Content Strategist

meolk@iu.edu

317-274-5432

Darrin Pack
Sr. Content and Media Strategist

darpack@iu.edu

Jennifer Piurek
Director, Communications and Special Projects
Office of the Provost

jpiurek@indiana.edu

812-856-4886

Ryan Piurek
Assistant Vice President, Presidential Communications and Special Projects

rpiurek@indiana.edu

812-855-5393

Amanda Roach
Assistant Director Strategic Communications

ajr1@iu.edu

812-856-3717

Michael Schug
Communications Manager, IU Simon Cancer Center

maschug@iupui.edu

317-278-0953

John Schwarb
Senior Communications Specialist

schwarbj@iu.edu

317-274-2195

Avery Scott
Communications Intern

avescott@iu.edu

6308818186

Karen Spataro
Communications Director

keschbac@iu.edu

617-233-3627

Karen Spataro
Director of Strategic Communications

keschbac@iu.edu

317-278-3676

April Toler
Assistant Director of Communications, Office of the Vice President for Research

artoler@iu.edu

812-855-3851

George Vlahakis
Associate Director of Communications and Media Relations
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

vlahakis@iu.edu

812-855-0846

Holly Vonderheit
Executive Director, Strategic Communications

hvonderh@iu.edu

317-274-5434

Michelle Watson
News Editor

mw89@iu.edu

812-856-9035

Nicole Wilkins
Executive Director of Research Communications

nnwilkin@iu.edu

812-856-2119

Marah Yankey
Senior News and Media Specialist

mqharbis@iu.edu

(812) 856-1442

Andrea Zeek
Senior Content and Media Strategist

anzeek@iu.edu

317-278-1703

Twitter

close
Chat now!
3.01978