Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 20201020_Lata_Balakrishnan_LK_014R.jpg

Study reports chemical mechanism that boosts enzyme observed in cancer

A study led by researchers at IUPUI and Indiana University Bloomington is the first to describe a biochemical mechanism that influences activity in a protein linked to cancer, aging, inflammatory responses and addiction-related behaviors.
20-Oct-2020 9:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Betzelphoto.jpg

New model of human brain 'conversations' could inform research on brain disease, cognition

A team of Indiana University neuroscientists has built a new model of human brain networks that sheds light on how the brain functions.
14-Oct-2020 5:10 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: cguarana-lrg.jpg

IU Kelley School of Business research finds that blue-light glasses improve sleep and workday productivity

During the pandemic, the amount of screen time for many people working and learning from home as well as binge-watching TV has sharply increased. New research finds that wearing blue-light glasses just before sleeping can lead to a better night's...
15-Oct-2020 7:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: jessica-calarco-headshot.jpg

Pandemic exacerbates longstanding conflicts in couples with young children

The COVID-19 pandemic is taking a toll on couples with young children and on mothers’ wellbeing, according to preliminary findings of two new studies by Indiana University researchers.
13-Oct-2020 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: boehm-edited.jpg

IU study examines effects of low-level lead exposure and alcohol consumption

A new IU study examining effects of low-level developmental lead exposure in mice could explain why some people dependent on alcohol return to using.
13-Oct-2020 9:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Black police officers disciplined disproportionately for misconduct, IU research finds

An examination of racial differences in the disciplining of police officers in three of the largest U.S. cities consistently found that Black officers were more frequently disciplined for misconduct than White officers, despite an essentially equal...
12-Oct-2020 6:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: jjnnjbjznj_w768.jpg

Individual suicide risk can be dramatically altered by social 'sameness,' study finds

Similarities among individuals living in the same communities can dramatically change their risk of dying by suicide, according to a new study by Indiana University researchers.
5-Oct-2020 3:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: LaCosseCanningBowmanMurphyLogelInfographic.jpg

A social-belonging intervention improves STEM outcomes for ESL students

A study conducted at 19 universities by IU researchers and their colleagues in the U.S. and Canada, found that a brief social belonging exercise, administered online before students arrive on campus, boosts the performance and persistence of...
24-Sep-2020 10:35 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Unique healthy breast tissue bank expert available in time for Breast Cancer Awareness Month story ideas

12-Oct-2020 3:50 PM EDT

Breast cancer experts available during Breast Cancer Awareness Month

5-Oct-2020 4:40 PM EDT

Newswise: JenniferBute.jpg

Experts available to comment on communicating support for pregnancy loss

5-Oct-2020 1:35 PM EDT

Newswise: lederman-leandra.jpg

U.S. tax scholar available to comment on Donald Trump's tax returns

28-Sep-2020 11:35 AM EDT

Newswise: element_12_f030833acd8bb3b4c21ac9af087e9d6d-251-SGISBauerleDanzmanSarah_20170308_004.jpg

International political economist available to comment on Trump administration’s TikTok, WeChat ban

18-Sep-2020 10:15 AM EDT

Newswise: FILIPPELLI_Gabriel.jpg

Hurricane and climate experts from @IndianaUniv are available to comment on #HurricaneSally's landfall in Alabama

16-Sep-2020 12:30 PM EDT

Newswise: element_12_c361a4e42316da417741620e3b2cf4fd-gabriel%20filippelli%20(2).jpg

IU experts available to comment on Hurricane Laura and Storm Surge

26-Aug-2020 3:20 PM EDT

Newswise: anderson.jpg

Record-breaking drop in U.S. GDP: experts available to comment

During the second quarter of 2020, real gross domestic product decreased at an annual rate of 32.9 percent, according to the advance estimate released July 30 by the U.S. Commerce Department's Bureau of Economic Analysis. The fall in economic output...
30-Jul-2020 2:55 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Founded in 1820, Indiana University is one of the world's foremost public institutions. With more than 111,000 students and 19,000 employees statewide, IU continues to pursue its core missions of education and research while building a foundation for the university's enduring strengths in teaching and learning, world-class scholarship, innovation, creative activity, community engagement and academic freedom. Bloomington is the flagship campus of the university, and each one of IU's seven campuses is an accredited, four-year degree-granting institution.

Experts

Contacts

Cadence Baugh Chang
Digital Communications Specialist

clbaugh@iu.edu

Niha Alasapuri
News and Media Intern

nalasapu@iu.edu

Haley Begay
Communications Intern

hbegay@iu.edu

James Boyd
Director of Marketing and Communications
at School of Public and Environmental Affairs

joboyd@indiana.edu

(812) 856-5490

Barbara Brosher
Presidential communications and public affairs specialist

bbrosher@iu.edu

812-855-1175

Lauren Bryant
Editor of Research & Creative Activity

labryant@indiana.edu

812-855-4152

Chuck Carney
Director of Media Relations

ccarney@iu.edu

812-855-1892

Jamie Cesanek
Intern Journalist

jcesanek@iu.edu

Kelsey Cook
Associate Director of Research Communications

kelrcook@iu.edu

(317) 274-5090

Amber Denney
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications

ambdenne@iu.edu

317-278-7703

Joel Fosha
IIDC Office of Public Relations
Science

foshaj@indiana.edu

812-855-6508

Kevin Fryling
Senior News and Media Specialist, Science

kfryling@iu.edu

812-856-2988

Sherry Garrity
Arts/Humanities

sgarrity@indiana.edu

812-856-0695

Kim Hannel
News Editor

khannel@iu.edu

317-274-7733

Drew Hansen
Communications Intern

hansendr@iu.edu

317-999-8090

Leigh Hedger
Digital Content and Analytics Senior Coordinator

lahedger@iu.edu

317-274-5494

Jonathan Hines
Communications & Outreach Manager, IU's Environmental Resilience Institute

johines@iu.edu

812-856-3610

Mary Keck
Communications Manager

marykeck@iu.edu

(812) 856-2148

Laura Klaum
Director of External Affairs & Special Projects

lklaum@iupui.edu

317-274-1484

Sally Krause
Director of Marketing & Strategic Communications
School of Nursing

skrause@iu.edu

317-278-2048

Bill Layden
Adjunct Professor of Practice

bilayden@iu.edu

812-855-4867

Steve Martin
Senior Communications Specialist
Technology Commercialization; Arts and Humanities

stgmart@iu.edu

317-278-1505

Bethany Nolan
News and Media Specialist

nolanb@indiana.edu

812-855-6494

Mary Olk
Communications Specialist/Content Strategist

meolk@iu.edu

317-274-5432

Darrin Pack
Sr. Content and Media Strategist

darpack@iu.edu

Jennifer Piurek
Director, Communications and Special Projects
Office of the Provost

jpiurek@indiana.edu

812-856-4886

Ryan Piurek
Assistant Vice President, Presidential Communications and Special Projects

rpiurek@indiana.edu

812-855-5393

Amanda Roach
Assistant Director Strategic Communications

ajr1@iu.edu

812-856-3717

John Schwarb
Senior Communications Specialist

schwarbj@iu.edu

317-274-2195

Avery Scott
Communications Intern

avescott@iu.edu

6308818186

April Toler
Senior Associate Director of Communications, Office of the Vice President for Research

artoler@iu.edu

812-855-3851

George Vlahakis
Associate Director of Communications and Media Relations
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

vlahakis@iu.edu

812-855-0846

Holly Vonderheit
Executive Director, Strategic Communications

hvonderh@iu.edu

317-274-5434

Michelle Watson
News Editor

mw89@iu.edu

812-856-9035

Nicole Wilkins
Executive Director of Research Communications

nnwilkin@iu.edu

812-856-2119

Marah Yankey
Senior News and Media Specialist

mqharbis@iu.edu

(812) 856-1442

Andrea Zeek
Senior Content and Media Strategist

anzeek@iu.edu

317-278-1703

Twitter

close
2.37158