Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 62e964938f48e_HOFFMANPaul.jpg

IU Ventures invests in IU alumni-founded platform transforming peer-to-peer patient support

IU Ventures has invested in InTandem Health, an Indiana University alumni-founded technology company that improve the lives and health of patients and their caregivers by digitally connecting them with individuals who have experienced the same...
2-Aug-2022 2:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62e2e46be3f8c_Networkstrangerthingsblack.jpg

New Social Media Tools Help Public Assess Viral Posts, Check for Bots

The Observatory on Social Media has released new or updated versions of three no-cost tools to offer insights into social media, including how posts go viral and what accounts are sharing them.
28-Jul-2022 3:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62e2d34aa100f_ibtv5t5udqactual.jpg

AI researchers to help Indiana manufacturers reduce energy use

IU researchers are using artificial intelligence and machine learning to help small and mid-sized Indiana manufacturers lower their carbon footprints and train students for careers in the emerging field of energy analytics.
28-Jul-2022 2:25 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62d988be928ce_20220715SardarLabCM050.jpg

Fast, Efficient COVID-19 Biosensor Under Development

IUPUI researchers are developing a "biosensing platform" for COVID-19 that's fast, efficient, accurate and highly sensitive, which could help scientists stay on top of shifting virus variants.
21-Jul-2022 1:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62cf18aa615fd_leslie-ashburn-nardo-square.png

New Study Explores Role of White Allyship on Self-Esteem of Marginalized Group Members

A new study from IUPUI researchers found that Black participants reported higher levels of self-esteem after a white ally confronted a white perpetrator of racial prejudice compared to no confrontation, but their motivations for doing so made a...
13-Jul-2022 3:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62cd7abb1d07f_cyders.jpg

Those with Substance Use Disorder Largely Resilient During the Pandemic, IU Study Finds

A study by Indiana University faculty found that despite COVID-19 pandemic challenges, those with substance use disorder were largely resilient and employed effective coping mechanisms.
12-Jul-2022 9:50 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Tax Cuts and Jobs Act did little to affect executive pay, counter to what Congress intended

Through the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, Congress attempted to curb CEO pay by repealing a long-standing exemption that allowed companies to deduct large amounts of qualified performance-based pay. New research finds the change has had little...
11-Jul-2022 12:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62c45b8a819fc_Hui-ChenLUhr.jpg

Neuroscientists to Study Effects of Marijuana Use During Adolescence with $2M NIH Grant

Over $2 million from the NIH's National Institute on Drug Abuse will help neuroscientists in the IU Gill Center for Biomolecular Science research the impact of cannabis use during adolescence.
5-Jul-2022 12:10 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: 628d0d0fcdb01_Bill-Ramos.jpg

Swim safety expert available to share tips ahead of Memorial Day

24-May-2022 1:10 PM EDT

Newswise: 628cfaee0da10_AmyKnopfsquare.jpg

Expert available to comment on improving representation in clinical trials and research

24-May-2022 12:00 PM EDT

Newswise: 6203f9e2ed75d_abastian-lrg.jpg

An IU Kelley School advertising industry veteran offers insights into Super Bowl commercials

Before coming to the Indiana University Kelley School of Business in 2002, initially as a lecturer, Ann Bastianelli, spent more than 30 years in advertising and marketing. Today a teaching professor of marketing, she remains in tune with the latest...
9-Feb-2022 12:50 PM EST

Newswise: 61fd973536884_demetra-lrg.jpg

Declining viewership for live events, including the Super Bowl, presents concerns for advertisers

This year’s NFL Championship, best known as the Super Bowl, will again be one of the most watched events. But public interest in live events appears to be declining, even for the “Big Game,” say two marketing professors at the Indiana...
4-Feb-2022 4:05 PM EST

Newswise: 61f9a05e65cef_element_12_fde66c4051c16e015bc82e49ea724cef-809-demetra-768.jpg

IU experts available to comment on advertising challenges around Winter Olympics

1-Feb-2022 4:45 PM EST

Newswise: 61f44a1eb0d2d_fred_cate.jpeg

IU experts available to comment on cybersecurity concerns around Winter Olympics

28-Jan-2022 3:20 PM EST

Newswise: 61e1a3a6dff37_kds.jpg

IU legal expert available to discuss Supreme Court decision on Biden vaccine mandate

14-Jan-2022 11:40 AM EST

Newswise: 61d4639200632_thaugh-lrg.jpg

Expert on corporate crime and sentencing policy available to discuss Holmes trial verdict

4-Jan-2022 10:05 AM EST

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Founded in 1820, Indiana University is one of the world's foremost public institutions. With more than 111,000 students and 19,000 employees statewide, IU continues to pursue its core missions of education and research while building a foundation for the university's enduring strengths in teaching and learning, world-class scholarship, innovation, creative activity, community engagement and academic freedom. Bloomington is the flagship campus of the university, and each one of IU's seven campuses is an accredited, four-year degree-granting institution.

Experts

Contacts

Niha Alasapuri
News and Media Intern

nalasapu@iu.edu

Ken Bikoff

kbikoff@indiana.edu

(812) 856-0176

James Boyd
Director of Marketing and Communications
at School of Public and Environmental Affairs

joboyd@indiana.edu

(812) 856-5490

Barbara Brosher
Communications consultant

bbrosher@iu.edu

812-855-1175

Lauren Bryant
Editor of Research & Creative Activity

labryant@indiana.edu

812-855-4152

Chuck Carney
Director of Media Relations

ccarney@iu.edu

812-855-1892

Jamie Cesanek
Intern Journalist

jcesanek@iu.edu

Kelsey Cook
Associate Director of Research Communications

kelrcook@iu.edu

(317) 274-5090

Amber Denney
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications

ambdenne@iu.edu

317-278-7703

Rosanne Emerick
Administrative Business Manager

rdye@iu.edu

812-855-5123

Joel Fosha
IIDC Office of Public Relations
Science

foshaj@indiana.edu

812-855-6508

Kevin Fryling
Senior News and Media Specialist, Science

kfryling@iu.edu

812-856-2988

Sherry Garrity
Arts/Humanities

sgarrity@indiana.edu

812-856-0695

Kim Hannel
News Editor

khannel@iu.edu

317-274-7733

Leigh Hedger
Digital Content and Analytics Senior Coordinator

lahedger@iu.edu

317-274-5494

Jonathan Hines
Communications & Outreach Manager, IU's Environmental Resilience Institute

johines@iu.edu

812-856-3610

Kirk Johannesen
Communications Consultant

ktjohann@iu.edu

812-855-2193

Mary Keck
Communications Manager

marykeck@iu.edu

(812) 856-2148

Laura Klaum
Director of External Affairs & Special Projects

lklaum@iupui.edu

317-274-1484

Sally Krause
Director of Marketing & Strategic Communications
School of Nursing

skrause@iu.edu

317-278-2048

Bill Layden
Adjunct Professor of Practice

bilayden@iu.edu

812-855-4867

Steve Martin
Senior Communications Specialist
Technology Commercialization; Arts and Humanities

stgmart@iu.edu

317-278-1505

Bethany Nolan
News and Media Specialist

nolanb@indiana.edu

812-855-6494

Mary Olk
Communications Specialist/Content Strategist

meolk@iu.edu

317-274-5432

Jennifer Piurek
Director, Communications and Special Projects
Office of the Provost

jpiurek@indiana.edu

812-856-4886

Ryan Piurek
Assistant Vice President, Presidential Communications and Special Projects

rpiurek@indiana.edu

812-855-5393

Amanda Roach
Assistant Director Strategic Communications

ajr1@iu.edu

812-856-3717

John Schwarb
Senior Communications Specialist

schwarbj@iu.edu

317-274-2195

Melissa Thomas
Associate Director of Communications
Business

mhelsby@iu.edu

April Toler
Executive Director of Communications, Office of the Vice President for Research

artoler@iu.edu

812-855-3851

Debbie Ungar
Communications Manager for Center for Global Health

debungar@iu.edu

3175019043

George Vlahakis
Associate Director of Communications and Media Relations
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

vlahakis@iu.edu

812-855-0846

Holly Vonderheit
Executive Director, Strategic Communications

hvonderh@iu.edu

317-274-5434

Karen Walker

WALKERK@IU.EDU

8128764539

Michelle Watson
News Editor

mw89@iu.edu

812-856-9035

Justin Whitaker
Communications Consultant

jw57@iu.edu

317-966-8177

Marah Yankey
Senior News and Media Specialist

mqharbis@iu.edu

(812) 856-1442

Andrea Zeek
Associate Director of Research Communications

anzeek@iu.edu

812-855-4152

Twitter

close
0.70239