Our News on Newswise

COVID-19 Community Relief Funds raised more than $1 billion across U.S., research led by Lilly Family School of Philanthropy professor Laurie Paarlberg finds

COVID-19 relief funds at local United Ways and community foundations across the United States raised more than $1.05 billion and distributed at least $589 million to financially vulnerable individuals and nonprofits leading the pandemic response in...
31-Jul-2020 2:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: jindal-lrg.jpg

Partnerships with bankrupt companies could be double-edged sword for investors

New research from the Indiana University Kelley School of Business found that when a company is in bankruptcy, its advertising and research and development investments can cut both ways. They increase the odds of surviving for some bankrupt...
30-Jul-2020 7:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: DanielJohnson.JPG

Predicting the spread of COVID-19 infection

IUPUI’s Daniel Johnson is working to develop a predictive model of COVID-19 based on the physical environment, social environment and cases of infection.
23-Jul-2020 10:45 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: MangilalAgarwal.jpg

IUPUI institute combats COVID-19 at the nano level

Copper, a metal commonly used throughout history for its antibacterial properties, is being utilized by researchers at IUPUI to solve a problem very relevant today: making reusable face masks safer and more comfortable for daily use.
23-Jul-2020 10:40 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: jmmejia-lrg.jpg

Racial and LGBT bias persists in ridesharing drivers despite mitigation efforts, IU research finds

Despite efforts by ridesharing companies to eliminate or reduce discrimination, research from the Indiana University Kelley School of Business finds that racial and LGBT bias persists among drivers. Platforms such as Uber, Lyft and Via responded to...
22-Jul-2020 6:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Chatbots can ease medical providers' burden, offer trusted guidance to those with COVID-19 symptoms

COVID-19 has placed tremendous pressure on health care systems, not only for critical care but also from an anxious public looking for answers. Research from the Indiana University Kelley School of Business found that chatbots -- software...
9-Jul-2020 4:25 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: debby-herbenick-headshot.jpg

Studying pandemic's effects on sexual health and well-being

One in five adults in the United States report they have experienced change – mostly a decrease – in their sexual behavior during the early months of the COVID-19 pandemic, according to a new study by Indiana University researchers.
16-Jun-2020 9:45 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: EvaPietri.jpg

Creating Inclusive Remote Work Environments

IUPUI researcher is working to understand how employers can create the most welcoming virtual environments during the pandemic, particularly for women in minority groups disproportionately affected by the virus.
8-Jun-2020 3:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: anderson.jpg

Record-breaking drop in U.S. GDP: experts available to comment

During the second quarter of 2020, real gross domestic product decreased at an annual rate of 32.9 percent, according to the advance estimate released July 30 by the U.S. Commerce Department's Bureau of Economic Analysis. The fall in economic output...
30-Jul-2020 2:55 PM EDT

Newswise: element_12_68143062622b147491baad48667d4bc0-856-baggetta_matthew-square.jpg

IU experts available to comment on President Trump's suggestion to delay 2020 election

30-Jul-2020 1:40 PM EDT

Newswise: element_12_c361a4e42316da417741620e3b2cf4fd-gabrielfilippelli2.jpg

Experts available to comment on 2020 Atlantic hurricane season

Indiana University experts are available to comment on the 2020 Atlantic Hurricane season in light of Hurricane Hanna's recent landfall in Texas, the first Atlantic hurricane to make a July landfall in that state since Hurricane Dolly in 2008.
29-Jul-2020 4:25 PM EDT

Tourism Professor Can Comment on Travel During COVID-19 Pandemic

16-Jul-2020 8:55 AM EDT

Newswise: element_12_4a0d42751b82af4cdbcadb5c7913fe7f-641-madeira-15-master-edited.jpg

IU experts available to comment on delayed executions of federal death row inmates

13-Jul-2020 11:55 AM EDT

Newswise: grown-lrg.jpg

Cancellation of non-conference college football games may lead to a new battle in the courtroom

10-Jul-2020 1:55 PM EDT

Newswise: element_12_d7d639fd2983acdcde3da15c4adfe516-749-Gonzalez%20File%20Photo.jpg

IU experts available to comment on Supreme Court decision upholding DACA

18-Jun-2020 2:05 PM EDT

Newswise: element_12_cb887fa2464eb9d3b50e57cb1215769c-calloway-thomas.jpg

IU experts available to comment on origins and significance of Juneteenth celebration

17-Jun-2020 2:10 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Founded in 1820, Indiana University is one of the world's foremost public institutions. With more than 111,000 students and 19,000 employees statewide, IU continues to pursue its core missions of education and research while building a foundation for the university's enduring strengths in teaching and learning, world-class scholarship, innovation, creative activity, community engagement and academic freedom. Bloomington is the flagship campus of the university, and each one of IU's seven campuses is an accredited, four-year degree-granting institution.

Experts

Contacts

Cadence Baugh Chang
Digital Communications Specialist

clbaugh@iu.edu

Niha Alasapuri
News and Media Intern

nalasapu@iu.edu

Haley Begay
Communications Intern

hbegay@iu.edu

James Boyd
Director of Marketing and Communications
at School of Public and Environmental Affairs

joboyd@indiana.edu

(812) 856-5490

Barbara Brosher
Presidential communications and public affairs specialist

bbrosher@iu.edu

812-855-1175

Lauren Bryant
Editor of Research & Creative Activity

labryant@indiana.edu

812-855-4152

Chuck Carney
Director of Media Relations

ccarney@iu.edu

812-855-1892

Jamie Cesanek
Intern Journalist

jcesanek@iu.edu

Kelsey Cook
Associate Director of Research Communications

kelrcook@iu.edu

(317) 274-5090

Amber Denney
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications

ambdenne@iu.edu

317-278-7703

Joel Fosha
IIDC Office of Public Relations
Science

foshaj@indiana.edu

812-855-6508

Kevin Fryling
Senior News and Media Specialist, Science

kfryling@iu.edu

812-856-2988

Sherry Garrity
Arts/Humanities

sgarrity@indiana.edu

812-856-0695

Kim Hannel
News Editor

khannel@iu.edu

317-274-7733

Drew Hansen
Communications Intern

hansendr@iu.edu

317-999-8090

Leigh Hedger
Digital Content and Analytics Senior Coordinator

lahedger@iu.edu

317-274-5494

Jonathan Hines
Communications & Outreach Manager, IU's Environmental Resilience Institute

johines@iu.edu

812-856-3610

Mary Keck
Communications Manager

marykeck@iu.edu

(812) 856-2148

Laura Klaum
Director of External Affairs & Special Projects

lklaum@iupui.edu

317-274-1484

Sally Krause
Director of Marketing & Strategic Communications
School of Nursing

skrause@iu.edu

317-278-2048

Bill Layden
Adjunct Professor of Practice

bilayden@iu.edu

812-855-4867

Steve Martin
Senior Communications Specialist
Technology Commercialization; Arts and Humanities

stgmart@iu.edu

317-278-1505

Bethany Nolan
News and Media Specialist

nolanb@indiana.edu

812-855-6494

Mary Olk
Communications Specialist/Content Strategist

meolk@iu.edu

317-274-5432

Darrin Pack
Sr. Content and Media Strategist

darpack@iu.edu

Jennifer Piurek
Director, Communications and Special Projects
Office of the Provost

jpiurek@indiana.edu

812-856-4886

Ryan Piurek
Assistant Vice President, Presidential Communications and Special Projects

rpiurek@indiana.edu

812-855-5393

Amanda Roach
Assistant Director Strategic Communications

ajr1@iu.edu

812-856-3717

Michael Schug
Communications Manager, IU Simon Cancer Center

maschug@iupui.edu

317-278-0953

John Schwarb
Senior Communications Specialist

schwarbj@iu.edu

317-274-2195

Avery Scott
Communications Intern

avescott@iu.edu

6308818186

April Toler
Senior Associate Director of Communications, Office of the Vice President for Research

artoler@iu.edu

812-855-3851

George Vlahakis
Associate Director of Communications and Media Relations
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

vlahakis@iu.edu

812-855-0846

Holly Vonderheit
Executive Director, Strategic Communications

hvonderh@iu.edu

317-274-5434

Michelle Watson
News Editor

mw89@iu.edu

812-856-9035

Nicole Wilkins
Executive Director of Research Communications

nnwilkin@iu.edu

812-856-2119

Marah Yankey
Senior News and Media Specialist

mqharbis@iu.edu

(812) 856-1442

Andrea Zeek
Senior Content and Media Strategist

anzeek@iu.edu

317-278-1703

Twitter

close
3.74622