Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 60fb3018559af_Differences among diabetic eyes_Elsner_Papay.jpg

New Biomarkers May Detect Early Eye Changes That Can Lead to Diabetes-Related Blindness

Optometry researchers have identified new biomarkers that may advance the early detection of diabetic retinopathy, the most common diabetic eye disease and a leading cause of blindness in U.S. adults.
23-Jul-2021 5:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: cannabis-marijuana-plant-GettyImages-527107092.jpg

Prenatal exposure to THC, CBD affects offspring's responsiveness to fluoxetine

Scientists at Indiana University have found that significant amounts of the two main components of cannabis, THC and CBD, enter the embryonic brain of mice in utero and impair the mice's ability as adults to respond to fluoxetine, a drug commonly...
1-Jul-2021 7:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: kosali-simon.jpg

Study finds specialty behavioral health establishments have increased, but more needs to be done

The number of specialty behavioral health establishments, their workforce and their wages have increased steadily between 2011 and 2019, according to a new study by Indiana University and University of Michigan researchers.
2-Jun-2021 10:15 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: element_12_d5488edbceb8d6d4cfb2c0bced2bec29-937-Hank-edited68645.jpg

New study examines neighborhood and social network's relation to binge drinking among adults

Study examines how neighborhood and social network characteristics relate to adult binge drinking.
7-May-2021 3:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: GlassAwardPhoto.jpg

IU Ventures recognized for investing in diversity with Investor of the Year Mira Award

A group that invests in Indiana University-affiliated innovation has been awarded TechPoint's 2021 Investor of the Year Mira Award in recognition of their intentional effort to invest in women and minority-led startups.
30-Apr-2021 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: silverman-ross.jpg

IU researchers tackle the challenges of conducting intrastate policy surveillance

IU researchers tackle the challenges of conducting intrastate policy surveillance and find accessing county and municipal laws challenging in Indiana.
22-Apr-2021 9:25 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: CollectingFliesinYellowstone.jpg

Blow flies may be the answer to monitoring the environment non-invasively

A study led by researchers at IUPUI shows that tracking the diet of blow fly using isotope analysis is an effective way to monitor changes in the environment without disturbing local wildlife.
15-Apr-2021 10:25 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: element_12_740748a484a3fbc6efffb960eb886194-kosalisimon.jpg

IU study finds efforts to increase nurse practitioners prescribing buprenorphine falls short

Since 2016, a federal regulation has allowed nurse practitioners and physician assistants to obtain a waiver to prescribe buprenorphine, a medication used to treat opioid use disorder as a medication assisted treatment.
12-Apr-2021 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Founded in 1820, Indiana University is one of the world's foremost public institutions. With more than 111,000 students and 19,000 employees statewide, IU continues to pursue its core missions of education and research while building a foundation for the university's enduring strengths in teaching and learning, world-class scholarship, innovation, creative activity, community engagement and academic freedom. Bloomington is the flagship campus of the university, and each one of IU's seven campuses is an accredited, four-year degree-granting institution.

Experts

Contacts

Niha Alasapuri
News and Media Intern

nalasapu@iu.edu

Cadence Baugh Chang
Digital Communications Specialist

clbaugh@iu.edu

Haley Begay
Communications Intern

hbegay@iu.edu

James Boyd
Director of Marketing and Communications
at School of Public and Environmental Affairs

joboyd@indiana.edu

(812) 856-5490

Barbara Brosher
Presidential communications and public affairs specialist

bbrosher@iu.edu

812-855-1175

Lauren Bryant
Editor of Research & Creative Activity

labryant@indiana.edu

812-855-4152

Chuck Carney
Director of Media Relations

ccarney@iu.edu

812-855-1892

Jamie Cesanek
Intern Journalist

jcesanek@iu.edu

Kelsey Cook
Associate Director of Research Communications

kelrcook@iu.edu

(317) 274-5090

Amber Denney
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications

ambdenne@iu.edu

317-278-7703

Rosanne Emerick
Administrative Business Manager

rdye@iu.edu

812-855-5123

Joel Fosha
IIDC Office of Public Relations
Science

foshaj@indiana.edu

812-855-6508

Kevin Fryling
Senior News and Media Specialist, Science

kfryling@iu.edu

812-856-2988

Sherry Garrity
Arts/Humanities

sgarrity@indiana.edu

812-856-0695

Kim Hannel
News Editor

khannel@iu.edu

317-274-7733

Drew Hansen
Communications Intern

hansendr@iu.edu

317-999-8090

Leigh Hedger
Digital Content and Analytics Senior Coordinator

lahedger@iu.edu

317-274-5494

Jonathan Hines
Communications & Outreach Manager, IU's Environmental Resilience Institute

johines@iu.edu

812-856-3610

Kirk Johannesen
Communications Consultant

ktjohann@iu.edu

812-855-2193

Mary Keck
Communications Manager

marykeck@iu.edu

(812) 856-2148

Laura Klaum
Director of External Affairs & Special Projects

lklaum@iupui.edu

317-274-1484

Sally Krause
Director of Marketing & Strategic Communications
School of Nursing

skrause@iu.edu

317-278-2048

Bill Layden
Adjunct Professor of Practice

bilayden@iu.edu

812-855-4867

Steve Martin
Senior Communications Specialist
Technology Commercialization; Arts and Humanities

stgmart@iu.edu

317-278-1505

Bethany Nolan
News and Media Specialist

nolanb@indiana.edu

812-855-6494

Mary Olk
Communications Specialist/Content Strategist

meolk@iu.edu

317-274-5432

Darrin Pack
Sr. Content and Media Strategist

darpack@iu.edu

Jennifer Piurek
Director, Communications and Special Projects
Office of the Provost

jpiurek@indiana.edu

812-856-4886

Ryan Piurek
Assistant Vice President, Presidential Communications and Special Projects

rpiurek@indiana.edu

812-855-5393

Amanda Roach
Assistant Director Strategic Communications

ajr1@iu.edu

812-856-3717

John Schwarb
Senior Communications Specialist

schwarbj@iu.edu

317-274-2195

Avery Scott
Communications Intern

avescott@iu.edu

6308818186

April Toler
Senior Associate Director of Communications, Office of the Vice President for Research

artoler@iu.edu

812-855-3851

George Vlahakis
Associate Director of Communications and Media Relations
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

vlahakis@iu.edu

812-855-0846

Holly Vonderheit
Executive Director, Strategic Communications

hvonderh@iu.edu

317-274-5434

Karen Walker

WALKERK@IU.EDU

8128764539

Michelle Watson
News Editor

mw89@iu.edu

812-856-9035

Justin Whitaker
Communications Consultant

jw57@iu.edu

317-966-8177

Nicole Wilkins
Executive Director of Research Communications

nnwilkin@iu.edu

812-856-2119

Marah Yankey
Senior News and Media Specialist

mqharbis@iu.edu

(812) 856-1442

Andrea Zeek
Senior Content and Media Strategist

anzeek@iu.edu

317-278-1703

Twitter

close
0.86074