Our News on Newswise

Newswise: BCSMhashtagonTwitter.jpg

How a Twitter hashtag provides insights for doctors and support for people with breast cancer

A UCLA-led review of nine years of social media posts with the hashtag #BCSM suggests that Twitter can be a useful resource not only for patients, but also for physicians and researchers.
22-Oct-2020 6:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Axillary surgery may not be necessary for all women with invasive breast cancer

More women could potentially be spared an axillary lymph node dissection — the surgical removal of 10-20 lymph nodes — a procedure that causes disabling arm swelling in up to 25% of women, according to a UCLA study.
22-Oct-2020 11:25 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Antiretroviral therapy can’t completely stop accelerated cell aging seen in HIV

Untreated HIV infection is linked with epigenetic changes suggesting rapid aging. A new study by UCLA researchers shows that antiretroviral therapy given over two years was unable to completely restore age-appropriate epigenetic patterns, leaving...
20-Oct-2020 6:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Scientists identify compound that stimulates muscle cells in mice

UCLA researchers have identified a compound that can reproduce the effect of exercise in muscle cells in mice. The findings are published today in the journal Cell Reports Medicine.
21-Oct-2020 1:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Astrocyte.jpg

Astrocytes Offer Potential Drug Targets for Huntington’s Disease

UCLA scientists discovered that astrocytes, a cell type long implicated in brain diseases, is remarkably malleable and shows responses in a mouse model that suggest potential targets for drugs for Huntington’s disease.
19-Oct-2020 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: AntoniRibas19_03.jpg

UCLA physician-scientist elected to National Academy of Medicine

Dr. Antoni Ribas, a world-renowned physician–scientist and professor of medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, has been named to the National Academy of Medicine, one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine.
19-Oct-2020 12:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Breast cancer diagnosis decoder: Understanding your new diagnosis

Dr. Erin Chamberlain, a medical oncologist with the UCLA Health San Luis Obispo office, helps decipher common breast cancer terms.
15-Oct-2020 1:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Virus-mimicking drug helps immune system target cunning cancer cells

UCLA researchers have found that a drug that activates the body’s natural defenses by behaving like a virus may also make certain stealthy melanoma tumors visible to the immune system, allowing them to be better targeted by immunotherapy.
12-Oct-2020 11:20 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

Welcome to the UCLA Health Sciences Media Relations newsroom! The UCLA Health Sciences Media Relations team can help to identify the best sources for your stories about UCLA patient care, research and education.

UCLA's innovation, dedication, and ability to re-imagine medicine are having a profound effect on the healing arts all around the world. These scientific breakthroughs are due in large part to UCLA Health Sciences faculty, researchers, doctors, nurses and staff.

We can help you find expert comment for breaking medical, science and health policy stories. The team has access to pager numbers, cell phones and assistants to help you reach the right people when you are on tight deadlines. Media relations officers also can provide complete logistical support for broadcast and photography shoots, and serve as field producers for video or radio interviews, and for video B-roll and photographs.

Experts

Contacts

Melissa Abraham
Executive Director, Communications

mabraham@support.ucla.edu

310-206-0632

Brianna Aldrich
Director of Communications
dentistry, oral health

baldrich@dentistry.ucla.edu

310-206-0835

Duane Bates
Communications Director

dbates@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-4430

Ted Braun
Marketing & Media Relations Director
UCLA / Santa Monica Campus

tbraun@mednet.ucla.edu

310-319-4567

Carla Denly
Assistant Dean

cdenly@support.ucla.edu

3108256738

Tiare Dunlap
Development and Comm Coord

tdunlap@mednet.ucla.edu

3102068367

Marrecca Fiore
Senior Media Relations Officer
Psychiatry, Neuroscience

MFiore@mednet.ucla.edu

Judy Fortin
Executive Director of Communications

jfortin@mednet.ucla.edu

424 465 4960

Phil Hampton
Director, Media Relations

phampton@mednet.ucla.edu

Denise Heady
Media Relations Manager
Cancer

dheady@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-2805

Nick Kazden
Broad Center

NKazden@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-8367

Jane Murcia
Media Relations Repressentative/ Analytics
Nutrition/Diet, Dermatology

JMurcia@mednet.ucla.edu

David Olmos
Director, News Strategy & Editing
UCLA Depression Grand Challenge, autism, UCLA Cannabis Research Initiative

dolmos@mednet.ucla.edu

3102678276

Enrique Rivero
Senior Media Relations Officer
Kidney transplant; geriatrics; internal medicine; endocrinology; infectious diseases; AIDS/HIV

erivero@mednet.ucla.edu

310-267-7120

Elaine Schmidt
Senior Media Relations Officer
Neurosurgery, concussion, spinal cord injury, genetics, vision, radiology, ENT, medical education

eschmidt@mednet.ucla.edu

310-267-8323

Simi Singer
Media Relations Manager
medicine

SSinger@mednet.ucla.edu

310-319-4349

Brad Smith
Senior Public Relations Officer

bssmith@support.ucla.edu

424.832.6408

Twitter

close
0.9568