Our News on Newswise

Newswise: Ciprofloxacin.jpg

Test accurately IDs people whose gonorrhea can be cured with simple oral antibiotic

A test designed by UCLA researchers can pinpoint which people with gonorrhea will respond successfully to the inexpensive oral antibiotic ciprofloxacin, which had previously been sidelined over concerns the bacterium that causes the infection was...
4-Aug-2020 7:10 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: JNCCNheadshots.jpg

Chemotherapy is used to treat less than 25% of people with localized sarcoma

UCLA researchers have found that chemotherapy is not commonly used when treating adults with localized sarcoma, a rare type of cancer of the soft tissues or bone. In a nationwide analysis of nearly 20,000 patients whose cancer had not yet spread to...
6-Aug-2020 12:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: AppleWatch-Breathe.jpg

UCLA launches major mental health study to discover insights about depression

UCLA has launched a major new study, sponsored by and in collaboration with Apple, designed to help revolutionize detection and treatment of depression.
4-Aug-2020 4:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

ACTG Announces Launch of Novel Clinical Trial Testing Multiple Therapeutics to Treat COVID-19

The AIDS Clinical Trials Group (ACTG) has initiated the ACTIV-2 Outpatient Monoclonal Antibodies and Other Therapies Trial. ACTIV-2 includes both phase 2 and phase 3 evaluations of multiple promising investigational agents for treating early...
4-Aug-2020 11:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: TsengandAgopian.jpg

UCLA researchers receive $2.97 million grant to develop test for early detection of liver cancer

UCAL researchers are developing a nanotechnology-enabled cancer diagnostic solution that will help detect early stage liver cancer for people who are at risk of developing the disease.
4-Aug-2020 11:40 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: mika-baumeister-uz_T7h8ds04-unsplash.jpg

Psychology of Masking: Why Some People Don’t Cover Up

Although discomfort, confusion and even political affiliation are often cited as reasons that make people less likely to wear a mask in public, the psychological traits that shape a person’s behavioral choices may also factor into the decision.
28-Jul-2020 3:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Brain changes in Alzheimer’s disease may lead to new drug targets

A team of UCLA neurologists have uncovered new potential drug targets in the brains of patients with Alzheimer’s disease, after testing more than a thousand patient samples
27-Jul-2020 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 800x533combinedphoto.jpg

How airway cells work together in regeneration and aging

Researchers at the Eli and Edythe Broad Center of Regenerative Medicine and Stem Cell Research at UCLA have identified the process by which stem cells in the airways of the lungs switch between two distinct phases — creating more of themselves and...
27-Jul-2020 3:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

Welcome to the UCLA Health Sciences Media Relations newsroom! The UCLA Health Sciences Media Relations team can help to identify the best sources for your stories about UCLA patient care, research and education.

UCLA's innovation, dedication, and ability to re-imagine medicine are having a profound effect on the healing arts all around the world. These scientific breakthroughs are due in large part to UCLA Health Sciences faculty, researchers, doctors, nurses and staff.

We can help you find expert comment for breaking medical, science and health policy stories. The team has access to pager numbers, cell phones and assistants to help you reach the right people when you are on tight deadlines. Media relations officers also can provide complete logistical support for broadcast and photography shoots, and serve as field producers for video or radio interviews, and for video B-roll and photographs.

Experts

Contacts

Melissa Abraham
Executive Director, Communications

mabraham@support.ucla.edu

310-206-0632

Brianna Aldrich
Director of Communications
dentistry, oral health

baldrich@dentistry.ucla.edu

310-206-0835

Duane Bates
Communications Director

dbates@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-4430

Ted Braun
Marketing & Media Relations Director
UCLA / Santa Monica Campus

tbraun@mednet.ucla.edu

310-319-4567

Carla Denly
Assistant Dean

cdenly@support.ucla.edu

3108256738

Tiare Dunlap
Development and Comm Coord

tdunlap@mednet.ucla.edu

3102068367

Marrecca Fiore
Senior Media Relations Officer
Psychiatry, Neuroscience

MFiore@mednet.ucla.edu

Judy Fortin
Executive Director of Communications

jfortin@mednet.ucla.edu

424 465 4960

Phil Hampton
Director, Media Relations

phampton@mednet.ucla.edu

Denise Heady
Media Relations Manager
Cancer

dheady@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-2805

Nick Kazden
Broad Center

NKazden@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-8367

Jane Murcia
Media Relations Repressentative/ Analytics
Nutrition/Diet, Dermatology

JMurcia@mednet.ucla.edu

David Olmos
Director, News Strategy & Editing
UCLA Depression Grand Challenge, autism, UCLA Cannabis Research Initiative

dolmos@mednet.ucla.edu

3102678276

Enrique Rivero
Senior Media Relations Officer
Kidney transplant; geriatrics; internal medicine; endocrinology; infectious diseases; AIDS/HIV

erivero@mednet.ucla.edu

310-267-7120

Elaine Schmidt
Senior Media Relations Officer
Neurosurgery, concussion, spinal cord injury, genetics, vision, radiology, ENT, medical education

eschmidt@mednet.ucla.edu

310-267-8323

Simi Singer
Media Relations Manager
medicine

SSinger@mednet.ucla.edu

310-319-4349

Brad Smith
Senior Public Relations Officer

bssmith@support.ucla.edu

424.832.6408

Twitter

close
2.85958