Our News on Newswise

Newswise: Deb-Cell-paper-comparison.jpg

How the body regulates scar tissue growth after heart attacks

New UCLA research conducted in mice could explain why some people suffer more extensive scarring than others after a heart attack. The study, published in the journal Cell, reveals that a protein known as type 5 collagen plays a critical role in...
3-Jul-2020 11:35 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: IMG_4096.JPG

Study pinpoints new function for histones

Scientists discovered that histones act as an enzyme that converts copper into a form that can be used by the cells. The finding refutes earlier theories that copper spontaneously converts in the body into a usable state.
2-Jul-2020 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: HPVvaccine-WikimediaCommons.jpg

School HPV vaccine policies could result in higher vaccination rates, reduction in cancers

A UCLA-led study has found that in 2 of 3 states and jurisdictions with policies that require students entering school to receive the human papillomavirus vaccine, vaccination rates among 13-to-17-year-olds were significantly higher than in...
29-Jun-2020 7:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: ventilator-image.jpg

UCLA survey seeks public opinion on allocating resources during COVID-19

As California prepares for a potential surge of COVID-19, there is a pressing need to determine how critical care resources should be allocated, especially if there is an extreme shortage of those resources.
29-Jun-2020 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Supporting LGBTQ+ youth who are Black, Indigenous and people of color

Youth who are Black, Indigenous and people of color (BIPOC) that also identify as LGBTQ+ representation of sexual orientations and gender identities experience higher rates of social discrimination and isolation, including bullying, family rejection...
29-Jun-2020 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

States with the highest income inequality also experienced a larger number of COVID-19 deaths

States with the highest level of income inequality had a larger number of COVID-19-related deaths compared with states with lower income inequality. New York state, with the highest income inequality, had a mortality rate of 51.7 deaths per 100,000...
25-Jun-2020 7:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: LinseyOrianRebecca.jpg

New technique allows scientists to measure mitochondrial respiration in frozen tissue

UCLA scientists have developed a method for restoring oxygen-consumption activity to previously frozen mitochondria samples. By speeding up research, investigators hope to accelerate the diagnosis of people living with mitochondrial diseases and...
22-Jun-2020 6:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

ACTG Studies at AIDS 2020: Virtual

Topics include the efficacy and safety of third-line treatment regimens in resource-limited settings, viral rebound rates after treatment interruption of modern ART, and whether a standardized frailty score can improve clinicians’ ability to...
22-Jun-2020 5:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

Welcome to the UCLA Health Sciences Media Relations newsroom! The UCLA Health Sciences Media Relations team can help to identify the best sources for your stories about UCLA patient care, research and education.

UCLA's innovation, dedication, and ability to re-imagine medicine are having a profound effect on the healing arts all around the world. These scientific breakthroughs are due in large part to UCLA Health Sciences faculty, researchers, doctors, nurses and staff.

We can help you find expert comment for breaking medical, science and health policy stories. The team has access to pager numbers, cell phones and assistants to help you reach the right people when you are on tight deadlines. Media relations officers also can provide complete logistical support for broadcast and photography shoots, and serve as field producers for video or radio interviews, and for video B-roll and photographs.

Experts

Contacts

Melissa Abraham
Executive Director, Communications

mabraham@support.ucla.edu

310-206-0632

Brianna Aldrich
Director of Communications
dentistry, oral health

baldrich@dentistry.ucla.edu

310-206-0835

Duane Bates
Communications Director

dbates@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-4430

Ted Braun
Marketing & Media Relations Director
UCLA / Santa Monica Campus

tbraun@mednet.ucla.edu

310-319-4567

Carla Denly
Assistant Dean

cdenly@support.ucla.edu

3108256738

Tiare Dunlap
Development and Comm Coord

tdunlap@mednet.ucla.edu

3102068367

Marrecca Fiore
Senior Media Relations Officer
Psychiatry, Neuroscience

MFiore@mednet.ucla.edu

Judy Fortin
Executive Director of Communications

jfortin@mednet.ucla.edu

424 465 4960

Phil Hampton
Director, Media Relations

phampton@mednet.ucla.edu

Denise Heady
Media Relations Manager
Cancer

dheady@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-2805

Nick Kazden
Broad Center

NKazden@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-8367

Jane Murcia
Media Relations Repressentative/ Analytics
Nutrition/Diet, Dermatology

JMurcia@mednet.ucla.edu

David Olmos
Director, News Strategy & Editing
UCLA Depression Grand Challenge, autism, UCLA Cannabis Research Initiative

dolmos@mednet.ucla.edu

3102678276

Enrique Rivero
Senior Media Relations Officer
Kidney transplant; geriatrics; internal medicine; endocrinology; infectious diseases; AIDS/HIV

erivero@mednet.ucla.edu

310-267-7120

Elaine Schmidt
Senior Media Relations Officer
Neurosurgery, concussion, spinal cord injury, genetics, vision, radiology, ENT, medical education

eschmidt@mednet.ucla.edu

310-267-8323

Simi Singer
Media Relations Manager
medicine

SSinger@mednet.ucla.edu

310-319-4349

Brad Smith
Senior Public Relations Officer

bssmith@support.ucla.edu

424.832.6408

Mirabai Vogt-James
Communications Manager
Broad Stem Cell Research Center

mvogt@mednet.ucla.edu

310-983-1163

Twitter

close
0.93182