Our News on Newswise

High School Student Publishes Scientific Paper with Assistance from Texas Tech Professor

David Weindorf collaborated with Florida teenager Julia Kagiliery to determine the sulfur content of lignite coal using portable X-ray fluorescence spectrometry and an optical color sensor.
11-Dec-2019 11:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Research: Despite What You Might Think, Sexting Isn’t Just About Sex

A new analysis from the Texas Tech University Department of Psychological Sciences shows three different, equally prevalent purposes behind sexually based messages.
26-Nov-2019 8:50 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: pogrund-rona.jpg

Sowell Center Awarded $1.25 Million Grant to Train Visual Impairment Specialists

The Virginia Murray Sowell Center for Research and Education in Sensory Disabilities at Texas Tech University will train scholars as teachers of students with visual impairments, or orientation and mobility specialists, and allow them to complete a...
12-Nov-2019 3:50 PM EST Add to Favorites

Brain Research: In the Same Way Addiction Sufferers Crave Substances, Their Family Members Crave Them

For people with substance use disorders, their brains tell them they must use to stay alive. Now, we know the same thing happens in the brains of the people caring for them.
30-Sep-2019 4:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Groundbreaking.jpg

History Made as Texas Tech University Breaks Ground on School of Veterinary Medicine

The school, located at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in Amarillo, is expected to enroll its first class in Fall 2021.
19-Sep-2019 12:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Researchers Develop Better Method to Remove Toxic Dyes From Wastewater

A team of Texas Tech University researchers working in advanced textiles has found a new way to remove toxic dye pollutants from wastewater, and their approach is safer, cheaper and easier than traditional methods.
27-Aug-2019 4:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Herrera-Estrella Leads Sequencing of Avocado Genome

A new study illuminates the avocado’s family history and lays the foundation for the species’ improvement.
6-Aug-2019 12:25 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Texas Tech Vietnam Center & Archive Oral Histories Will Soon Be More Accessible

Thanks to a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the archive is making its interviews keyword searchable.
2-Aug-2019 8:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

As a public research university, Texas Tech advances knowledge through innovative and creative teaching, research, and scholarship. The university is dedicated to student success by preparing learners to be ethical leaders for a diverse and globally competitive workforce. The university is committed to enhancing the cultural and economic development of the state, nation, and world.

Experts

Contacts

Amanda Bowman

amanda.bowman@ttu.edu

806-742-2136

Amanda Castro-Crist
Media Relations Specialist

amanda.castro-crist@ttu.edu

806-742-2136

Chris Cook
Managing Director Communications & Marketing

chris.cook@ttu.edu

806-834-4129

Allison Hirth
Video Reporter

allison.hirth@ttu.edu

8067422136

Michelle Hougland
Assistant Managing Director of the Office of Commu

michelle.hougland@ttu.edu

806-742-2136

Scott Lacefield
Senior Director Communications and Marketing

scott.lacefield@ttu.edu

806-742-0012

McKenzi Morris
Media Relations Specialist

mckenzi.morris@ttu.edu

806-742-2136

Sally Post
formerly senior director

sally.post@ttu.edu

806-742-2136

Randy Rosetta

randy.rosetta@ttu.edu

806-742-2136

Karin Slyker
Senior Editor

karin.slyker@ttu.edu

806-834-3520

George Watson
Senior Editor
Agriculture, Law, Business, Media and Communication, Architecture

george.watson@ttu.edu

806-834-2555

David Weindorf
Senior Editor

david.weindorf@ttu.edu

806-834-5287

Glenys Young
Media Relations Specialist

glenys.young@ttu.edu

806-834-3079

Twitter

close
0.93245