Newswise — The American Association for Anatomy (AAA) concluded is annual election on February 1. Nearly 500 members (22% of those eligible) exercised their right and responsibility to vote for incoming leadership on the all-volunteer Board of Directors. The Board plays a critical role in the Association, setting the strategic plan, acting on behalf of the membership to advance issues of import, and driving the mission forward. Incoming and outgoing Board members will transition at the Spring Board of Directors meeting. At the same time, current President-Elect Valerie Burkey DeLeon, PhD, of the University of Florida will become President, while current President D. Rick Sumner, PhD, of Rush University Medical Center will become Past President. 

Newly elected members are: 

Martine Dunnwald, PharmD, PhD – President Elect (2021-2023)

Dr. Dunnwald is Research Associate Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology at The University of Iowa. Her research interests involve skin, epidermal development and regeneration, and orofacial clefts. She has been a member for more than 15 years and currently serves on the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee. As previous Co-Chair of the Program Committee, Dr. Dunnwald served on the Board and liaised with the Professional Development, Educational Affairs, and Scientific Affairs Committees. “These functions have given me a deep understanding of AAA, a position from which to lead the execution of AAA’s strategic plan,” she remarked. 

Samuel Marquez, PhD – Board Member (2021-2024)

Dr. Marquez is a professor in the SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University’s Department of Cell Biology. He has served on the Educational Affairs Committee since 2009 and sponsored the attendance of more than 100 students at AAA meetings. In 2019, he was appointed as the AAA representative on The FASEB Journal Editorial Board. “My prime focus will be to see that others on the ‘outside’ – people of color, of limited financial means, of non-traditional gender recognitions, and women – have a welcoming home in our association,” he said. 

Lisa Taneyhill, PhD – Board Member (2021-2024)

Dr. Taneyhill is a professor in the Department of Animal Sciences at the University of Maryland, College Park. An AAA member since 2011, she serves on the Program Committee and the Developmental Dynamics Editorial Board. She chaired the Regional Meetings Task Force and was secretary for the Society for Craniofacial Genetics and Developmental Biology. “My service has given me a deep appreciation of the structure of AAA, the governance role of the Board, the value of our journals, and the importance of meetings in promoting research, education, teaching, and professional development,” Dr. Taneyhill said.


Register for reporter access to contact details