Newswise — Reston, VA, June 4, 2020 – The Academy for Eating Disorders (AED) is proud to announce its 2020 International Conference on Eating Disorders (ICED) awardees. Each year, AED honors those who have made significant contributions to the treatment, scientific understanding, and awareness of Eating Disorders. The honorees for 2020 include:


Global Impact Award

Jameela Jamil

This award recognizes robust and sustained contributions to individuals with Eating Disorders, the prevention thereof, and/or the systems involved in their care and research that have occurred at the global level. Such contributions are unusual in their scope and have had an enormous impact.

It is presented this year to Jameela Jamil In recognition of the impact she is having in bringing awareness and attention to the vicious mental health conditions of Eating Disorders. She founded the I Weigh movement on Instagram, which celebrates  Body Neutrality and inclusivity among other advocacy issues.  

Lifetime Achievement

Craig Johnson, PhD, CEDS, FAED

For pioneering lifetime contributions to the Academy for Eating Disorders and to the field of Eating Disorders in the areas of treatment, research, education, and administration. Dr. Johnson has been a leader in the field of Eating Disorders for over 40 years, regarding himself first and foremost as a clinician. He is currently a Senior Consultant at Eating Recovery Center and a Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Oklahoma Medical School. Actively involved in developing the field, he was the Founding Editor of the International Journal of Eating Disorders, Founder of the Academy for Eating Disorders, Founder and Past President of the National Eating Disorders Association, Co-Founder of the International Conference of Eating Disorders and a Founding member of the Eating Disorders Research Society. He has authored over 100 research articles/book chapters and 3 books.


Meehan-Hartley Award

Johanna Kandel, BA, Founder and CEO of the Alliance for Eating Disorder Awareness       

For contributions that have significantly advanced the field of Eating Disorders through impact on public policy, government, advocacy, and service to the community. Ms. Kandel is Founder and CEO of the Alliance for Eating Disorder Awareness, an organization for outreach, support, and advocacy about eating disorders. In nearly 20 years of operation, the Alliance has reached more than 340,000 individuals through its efforts. Ms. Kandel is also a powerful public speaker and advocate for Eating Disorders awareness and legislation.


Award in Clinical, Administrative, or Education Service

Lauren Muhlheim, PsyD, CEDS-S, FAED

For contributions to the clinical care and well-being of individuals with Eating Disorders through clinical contributions to the field. Dr. Muhlheim is a psychologist, certified eating disorder specialist (CEDS), and IAEDP (International Association of Eating Disorder Professionals) – approved supervisor who provides evidence-based treatment for Eating Disorders in the outpatient setting. She directs Eating Disorder Therapy LA in Los Angeles and is the author of When your Teen Has an Eating Disorder: Practical Strategies to Help Your Teen Overcome Anorexia, Bulimia, and Binge Eating.


Leadership Award in Research

Kate Tchanturia, PhD, FAED, FBPS, FAHE

In recognition of an internationally respected body of research yielding new knowledge about Eating Disorders and measurably advancing the field. Dr. Tchanturia’s main research interest is in the neuropsychological, cognitive and emotional aspects of Eating Disorders. She supervises the next generation of Eating Disorders scientists, including doctoral and MSc clinical psychology students, which ensures that her research legacy reaches far beyond her own individual work. She has achieved prolific research productivity that includes published books, book chapters, Eating Disorders treatment manuals, and numerous peer-reviewed scientific publications.


Outstanding Clinician

The  CBT-T Team of Glenn Waller, Hannah Turner, Madeleine Tatham, Victoria Mountford, and Tracey Wade for their co-authored book Brief Cognitive Behavioural Therapy for Non-Underweight Patients: CBT-T for Eating Disorders which has the potential to change clinical practice worldwide by halving the time it takes to deliver CBT from 20 sessions to just 10.


AED and ANZAED Joint Distinguished Service Award

This special award is being presented in honor of the extraordinary and visionary leadership displayed by the Virtual International Conference on Eating Disorders Scientific Committee co-chairs, Jerel Calzo, MPH, PhD, FAED and Anthea Fursland, PhD, FAED, in creating an outstanding ICED 2020 and then re-creating it as a virtual event, all achieved in the middle of a global pandemic.

Dr. Calzo is an Associate Professor in the Division of Health Promotion and Behavioral Science. He is a developmental psychologist with postdoctoral training in social epidemiology.

Dr. Fursland is involved in applied clinical research, service development, supervision, consultation, and training of general and mental health practitioners and those caring for someone with an eating disorder.



The Academy for Eating Disorders (AED) is an international professional association committed to the leadership in Eating Disorders research, education, treatment, and prevention. The goal of the AED is to provide global access to knowledge, research, and best treatment practice for Eating Disorders. For additional information, please contact Elissa Myers at (703) 626-9087 and visit the AED website at