Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareVirginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA USA

Our News on Newswise

image.jpg

Codifying the universal language of honey bees

In a paper appearing in April’s issue of Animal Behaviour, researchers decipher the instructive messages encoded in the insects’ movements, called waggle dances.
27-Mar-2019 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Nation’s first clinical trial to rehabilitate infant stroke victims to begin

Strokes are devastating and often associated with people over 65. But large numbers of infants have strokes, too. In the nation’s first multicenter pediatric stroke recovery trial, researchers and clinicians from 12 sites will evaluate an...
25-Mar-2019 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

First ratings for youth football helmets address sport's largest pool of athletes

The majority of people playing football in the U.S. aren’t NFL players or collegiate athletes —they’re youth players, less than 14 years old. But until now, there hasn’t been independent data evaluating the effectiveness of the helmets these...
15-Mar-2019 2:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

image.jpg

Facial Recognition Software to Identify Civil War Soldiers

Photo Sleuth may uncover the mysteries of the nearly 4 million photographs of Civil War-era images.
27-Feb-2019 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Oldest Frog Relative Found in North America 

A team of paleontologists led by Virginia Tech’s Michelle Stocker and Sterling Nesbitt of the Department of Geosciences have identified fossil fragments of what are thought to be the oldest known frogs in North America.
26-Feb-2019 10:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

driverwoandroid.jpg

Safe to use hands-free devices in the car? Yes, according to research

New research from the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute (VTTI) suggests that drivers who use hands-free electronic devices, as opposed to handheld ones, are less likely to get into a crash.
8-Feb-2019 10:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

15798712688_55e6ba1388_k.jpg

Study draws connections between sports fandom and political tribalism

According to research co-authored by Megan Duncan, assistant professor in the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, “fans of sports teams and supporters of a political parties perceive news much in the same way.”
31-Jan-2019 10:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

RS151585_20181023_Campus_Candids_AD_0009.jpg

First study to find digital ads work, on millennials

“This is first time we found that digital ads do something and what they do is they increase voter turnout among millennials in municipal elections,” said Haenschen.
30-Jan-2019 10:05 AM EST Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

Dedicated to its motto, Ut Prosim (That I May Serve), Virginia Tech takes a hands-on, engaging approach to education, preparing scholars to be leaders in their fields and communities. As Virginia’s most comprehensive university and leading research institution, Virginia Tech offers 215 undergraduate and graduate degree programs to more than 30,000 students and manages a research portfolio of more than $450 million. The university transforms knowledge to practice through technological leadership and fuels economic growth and job growth across Virginia.

Experts

No experts available.

Contacts

Michael Stowe
Media Relations Director

mstowe@vt.edu

540-231-2611

Bill Foy
Director, Broadcast Operations

fwill55@exchange.vt.edu

540-231-8719

Mark Owczarski
Assistant Vice President, University Relations

maowczar@vt.edu

540-231-5223

Tracy Vosburgh
Senior Associate VP University Relations

tracyv@vt.edu

540-231-5396

Shannon Andrea
National Capital Region, Media Relations Director

sandrea@vt.edu

Jordan Fifer
Media Relations Officer

jordanfifer@vt.edu

540-231-6997

Cecilia Leonard
Media Relations Officer

ceciliae@vt.edu

540-357-2500

John Pastor
Communications Director
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute

jdpastor@vt.edu

540-526-2222

Alison Matthiessen
Communications Director
Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine

amatthiessen@vt.edu

540-526-2525

Lori Greiner
Communications Manager
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

lgreiner@vt.edu

540-231-5863

Sookhan Ho
Communications Manager
Pamplin College of Business

sookhan@vt.edu

540-231-5071

Steven Mackay
Communications Coordinator
College of Science

smackay@vt.edu

540-231-4787

Rosaire Bushey
Communications & Outreach Specialist
Mechanical Engineering

busheyr@vt.edu

540-231-2965

Lindsay Key
Communications Director
Fralin Life Science Institute

ltkey@vt.edu

540-231-6594

Eleanor Nelsen
Communications Manager
ICTAS

enelsen@vt.edu

540-231-2761

Tiffany Trent
Communications Manager
Biocomplexity Institute of Virginia Tech

ttrent@vbi.vt.edu

540-231-6822

Paula Byron
Director of Marketing and Communications
College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences

pbyron@vt.edu

540-231-5915

Jillian Broadwell
Communication Manager

jbroad@vt.edu

Lindsey Haugh
Communications Director
College of Engineering

jangus@vt.edu

540-231-2476

Theresa Hoyle

thoyle@vt.edu

+1 540 231 8819

Ashley WennersHerron
Senior Marketing Communications Manager

abw5578@psu.edu

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!