Our News on Newswise

Newswise: cover-ucsd-black-studies-project-1.jpg

UC San Diego Commits $2.5M to the Black Studies Project

This is a crucial time for each and every university to consider the role that Black studies plays in its intellectual and institutional formation, according to the conveners of the Black Studies Project (BSP) at UC San Diego. The current political...
22-Oct-2020 6:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: CAcityiStock-954696082.jpg

California Cities Top List of New Report Ranking U.S. Climate Action Plans

A new report evaluating the efficacy of climate action plans and commitments of the 100 largest U.S. cities finds the leadership of these municipalities stands as an important counter to the federal government’s rollback of climate policies and...
22-Oct-2020 2:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: PR20201020_oil_spill_behavior_640x400.jpg

High-Performance Computing Aids in Predicting Oil Dispersal During Spills

According to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, thousands of oil spills occur each year in the United States. Although the majority of incidents involve less than one barrel, the spills have wreaked economic and environmental...
21-Oct-2020 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: LLuping_MonoLake.jpg

Making Heads or Tails Out of Phospholipid Synthesis

A team of researchers from UC San Diego, UCLA and the University of South Carolina has demonstrated how membrane-formation takes place in water from natural alkaline sources like soda lakes and hydrothermal oceanic vents.
15-Oct-2020 4:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: BIGEXIMG_9293.jpg

UC San Diego Mexico Violence Resource Project Goes Beyond Cartels to Study Drug War

The Mexico Violence Resource Project—a new initiative from the University of California San Diego’s Center for U.S.-Mexican Studies—was recently launched to provide policymakers and journalists analysis and information to better understand the...
15-Oct-2020 3:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: PR20201012_Lake_Erie_plastic_640x400.jpg

Supercomputer Simulations Reveal Scope of Lake Erie Plastic Waste Pollution

The transport of nine types of plastics floating in Lake Erie was modeled in two studies that used the Comet supercomputer at the San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC) to compare a two-dimensional model with a new Great Lakes microplastic dataset...
12-Oct-2020 2:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: CERairplane.jpg

UC San Diego’s Center for Energy Research Awarded over $5M for Energy Projects

The University of California San Diego’s Center for Energy Research (CER) has been awarded two grants from the Department of Energy (DOE) for research focused on developing environment-friendly and cost-competitive energy sources and systems.
8-Oct-2020 11:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: iStock-1153651393.jpg

Women’s Incomes Improve When Democrats Hold Public Office, Study Finds

New research from the University of California San Diego reveals that Democratic control of state houses leads to substantial improvement in women’s incomes, wages and unemployment relative to men.
7-Oct-2020 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Wildfire Experts


11-Sep-2020 4:05 PM EDT

Newswise: 49557144758_1ce69b4e30_o.jpg

Expert source: Proximity detection in contact tracing

5-Aug-2020 3:25 PM EDT

Newswise: BertramGallant_HeadShotPhotoCredit-MarcyZimmerman.jpg

Does Remote Instruction Make Cheating Easier?

Today, colleges across the nation are making critical decisions for the coming academic year. For some, all courses will be online; for others, the decision may be to have some classes offered in person, and the rest conducted in remote or hybrid...
14-Jul-2020 7:35 PM EDT

Newswise: callender.jpg

Understanding the ethics of genetic engineering – let our experts at UC San Diego explain

7-Jun-2019 2:05 PM EDT

Newswise: siocomm_A_talley_001.jpg

Scripps Oceanographer Lynne Talley Available to Comment on the Topic of Atlantic Ocean Circulation

11-Apr-2018 5:05 PM EDT

Newswise: PR20171013_wifire_dc.jpg

Northern CA Wildfires Generate 1.5 Million Views of UC San Diego’s ‘Firemap’ Resource

A web-based tool recently developed by UC San Diego researchers under an NSF grant to perform data-driven predictive modeling and real-time tracking of fires has already been viewed about one million times and generated more than 115,000 unique...
13-Oct-2017 4:05 PM EDT

Newswise: EmmaFarley.jpg

UC San Diego Scientists Garner National High-Risk, High-Reward Awards

Emma Farley, an assistant professor at UC San Diego’s Division of Biological Sciences and School of Medicine, has been awarded the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. Melissa Gymrek, an assistant professor in the School of Medicine and...
5-Oct-2017 1:05 PM EDT

Newswise: 20160727-Best_Teacher-3311-ok.jpg

Structural Engineer Available for Interviews About Damage in Mexico Earthquake.

20-Sep-2017 1:05 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UC San Diego
At the University of California San Diego, we embrace a culture of exploration and experimentation. Established in 1960, UC San Diego has been shaped by exceptional scholars who aren’t afraid to look deeper, challenge expectations and redefine conventional wisdom. As one of the top 15 research universities in the world, we are driving innovation and change to advance society, propel economic growth and make our world a better place. Learn more at www.ucsd.edu.

Contacts

Mario Aguilera
Director of Communications
Division of Biological Sciences

maguilera@ucsd.edu

(858) 822-5148

Ana Amado-Garcia
Marketing Manager
Rady School of Management

ana.amado@rady.ucsd.edu

(858) 534-5468

Debra Bass
Sr. Communications and Public Relations Manager
UC San Diego Extension

dbass@ucsd.edu

858-822-7715

Melinda Battenberg
Public Information Officer
Rady School of Management

mbattenberg@ucsd.edu

858-534-0855

Christine Clark
Assistant Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Resource Mangement & Planning, School of Global Policy and Strategy

ceclark@ucsd.edu

858-534-7618

Alicia Clarke
Communications Manager
Qualcomm Institute

amclarke@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-5825

Katherine Connor
Media Communications Specialist
Jacobs School of Engineering

khconnor@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-8374

Cynthia Dillon
Director of Communications
Division of Physical Sciences

cdillon@ucsd.edu

858-822-0142

Michelle Franklin
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications
Research Affairs

m1franklin@ucsd.edu

858-534-8564

April Green
Communications Manager
Library

atgreen@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Brittany Hook
Communications Coordinator
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

bhook@ucsd.edu

858-822-5617

Janet Howard
Director, Digital Communications
Strategic Marketing Communications

jehoward@ucsd.edu

858-822-2986

Jessica Hutchinson
Web Director

j1hutchinson@ucsd.edu

858-822-1523

Katie Ismael
Media Communications Specialist
Qualcomm Institute

kismael@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-5898

Erika Johnson
Manager, Strategic Marketing Communications
Student Affairs, Diversity, Preuss School

erjohnson@ucsd.edu

858-534-9372

Daniel Kane
Director of Communications
Jacobs School of Engineering

dbkane@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-3262

Inga Kiderra
Director of Communications
Division of Social Sciences

ikiderra@ucsd.edu

858-822-0661

Anthony King
Director of Communications
Division of Arts and Humanities

anthonypking@ucsd.edu

858-822-7824

Nicole Kolupailo
Communications Director
The Library

nkolupailo@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Liezel Labios
Public Information Representative
Jacobs School of Engineering

llabios@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-1124

Amy Lipsitz
Social Media Strategist
Strategic Communications

alipsitz@ucsd.edu

858-822-3353

Jericho Lopez
Director, Marketing and Business Development
UC San Diego Extension

jll054@ucsd.edu

858-534-9228

Laura Margoni
Executive Director of Strategic Communications
University Communications

lmargoni@ucsd.edu

858-822-2485

Chase Martin
Media Communications Specialist
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

ccm003@ucsd.edu

858-246-3101

Robert Monroe
Senior Public Information Rep
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

rmonroe@ucsd.edu

858-822-4487

Ioana Patringenaru-Buibas
Public Information Officer
Jacobs School of Engineering

ipatrin@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-0899

Judy Piercey
Sr. Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Strategic Marketing Communications

jpiercey@ucsd.edu

8585346128

Patrick Riedling
Senior Director of Executive Communications
Chancellor's Office

priedling@ucsd.edu

(858) 246-5712

Amanda Rubalcava
Marketing Communications Specialist
University Communications

arubalcava@ucsd.edu

858-534-3121

Joleen Schultz
Director, Marketing Communications
Rady School of Management

joleen@joleenschultzassociates.com

858-534-5468

Leslie Sepuka
Associate Director
Strategic Marketing Communications

lsepuka@ucsd.edu

858-822-5309

Lauren Wood
Director of Communications
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

lmwood@ucsd.edu

858-534-3626

Jan Zverina
Director of Communications
San Diego Supercomputer Center

jzverina@sdsc.edu

858-534-5111

Twitter

close
2.67036