Our News on Newswise

Newswise: rlboxshaper.png

Researchers Develop Framework that Improves Firefox Security

Researchers from the University of California San Diego, University of Texas at Austin, Stanford University and Mozilla have developed a new framework to improve web browser security. The framework, called RLBox, has been integrated into Firefox to...
25-Feb-2020 8:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Controlling CAR T cells with light selectively destroys skin tumors in mice

UC San Diego bioengineers have developed a control system that could make CAR T-cell therapy safer and more powerful when treating cancer. By programming CAR T cells to switch on when exposed to blue light, the researchers controlled the cells to...
17-Feb-2020 11:40 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: UCSD-JacobsSchool-20200113-FriendLab-Battery-02613-8MP.jpg

Ultrasound device improves charge time and run time in lithium batteries

Researchers at the University of California San Diego developed an ultrasound-emitting device that brings lithium metal batteries, or LMBs, one step closer to commercial viability. Although the research team focused on LMBs, the device can be used...
14-Feb-2020 2:30 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: low-power-WiFi-chip-1.jpg

New chip brings ultra-low power Wi-Fi connectivity to IoT devices

More portable, fully wireless smart home setups. Lower power wearables. Batteryless smart devices. These could all be made possible thanks to a new ultra-low power Wi-Fi radio developed by UC San Diego engineers. It enables Wi-Fi communication at...
17-Feb-2020 11:35 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: spermautismgraphic-gleeson.png

Measuring Mutations in Sperm May Reveal Risk for Autism in Future Children

SDSC researchers used SDSC’s ‘Comet’ Supercomputer to analyze genome sequences in a recent study published in Nature Medicine by an international team of scientists led by researchers at UC San Diego School of Medicine. The study describes a...
13-Feb-2020 1:10 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: BIGiStock-519915153.eps.jpg

What is the Best Way to Encourage Innovation? Competitive Pay May be the Answer

Economists and business leaders agree that innovation is a major force behind economic growth, but many disagree on what is the best way to encourage workers to produce the “think-outside-of-the-box” ideas. New research from UC San Diego...
12-Feb-2020 2:30 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: PR20200212_gpu_cloud_burst_640x400.jpg

Second GPU Cloudburst Experiment Yields New Findings

Researchers at the San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC) and the Wisconsin IceCube Particle Astrophysics Center (WIPAC) have conducted a second experimentt marshalled globally available-for-sale GPUs (graphics processing units), proving it is...
12-Feb-2020 2:10 PM EST Add to Favorites

A Nation Dangerously Divided: Race Shapes Who Wins and Who Loses in U.S. Democracy

Race is shown to be the single most important factor in American democracy, determining which candidates win elections, which voters win at the polls, and who is on the losing end of policy. These conclusions are at the center of a new book...
10-Feb-2020 7:00 AM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: callender.jpg

Understanding the ethics of genetic engineering – let our experts at UC San Diego explain

7-Jun-2019 2:05 PM EDT

Newswise: siocomm_A_talley_001.jpg

Scripps Oceanographer Lynne Talley Available to Comment on the Topic of Atlantic Ocean Circulation

11-Apr-2018 5:05 PM EDT

Newswise: PR20171013_wifire_dc.jpg

Northern CA Wildfires Generate 1.5 Million Views of UC San Diego’s ‘Firemap’ Resource

A web-based tool recently developed by UC San Diego researchers under an NSF grant to perform data-driven predictive modeling and real-time tracking of fires has already been viewed about one million times and generated more than 115,000 unique...
13-Oct-2017 4:05 PM EDT

Newswise: EmmaFarley.jpg

UC San Diego Scientists Garner National High-Risk, High-Reward Awards

Emma Farley, an assistant professor at UC San Diego’s Division of Biological Sciences and School of Medicine, has been awarded the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. Melissa Gymrek, an assistant professor in the School of Medicine and...
5-Oct-2017 1:05 PM EDT

Newswise: 20160727-Best_Teacher-3311-ok.jpg

Structural Engineer Available for Interviews About Damage in Mexico Earthquake.

20-Sep-2017 1:05 PM EDT

Saving the World, One Robot Swarm-Infested Hurricane at a Time

11-Sep-2017 6:05 PM EDT

Seismologists Available to Discuss North Korea 6.3 Seismic Event

3-Sep-2017 3:05 PM EDT

Researcher Available to Discuss Impact of Solar Eclipse on Solar Power Generation

16-Aug-2017 7:05 AM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UC San Diego
At the University of California San Diego, we embrace a culture of exploration and experimentation. Established in 1960, UC San Diego has been shaped by exceptional scholars who aren’t afraid to look deeper, challenge expectations and redefine conventional wisdom. As one of the top 15 research universities in the world, we are driving innovation and change to advance society, propel economic growth and make our world a better place. Learn more at www.ucsd.edu.

Contacts

Mario Aguilera
Director of Communications
Division of Biological Sciences

maguilera@ucsd.edu

(858) 822-5148

Debra Bass
Sr. Communications and Public Relations Manager
UC San Diego Extension

dbass@ucsd.edu

858-822-7715

Melinda Battenberg
Public Information Officer
Rady School of Management

mbattenberg@ucsd.edu

858-534-0855

Christine Clark
Assistant Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Resource Mangement & Planning, School of Global Policy and Strategy

ceclark@ucsd.edu

858-534-7618

Alicia Clarke
Communications Manager
Qualcomm Institute

amclarke@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-5825

Katherine Connor
Media Communications Specialist
Jacobs School of Engineering

khconnor@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-8374

Cynthia Dillon
Director of Communications
Division of Physical Sciences

cdillon@ucsd.edu

858-822-0142

Michelle Franklin
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications
Research Affairs

m1franklin@ucsd.edu

858-534-8564

Jeff Gattas
Assistant Chancellor
University Communications and Public Affairs

jgattas@ucsd.edu

858-822-6914

April Green
Communications Manager
Library

atgreen@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Brittany Hook
Communications Coordinator
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

bhook@ucsd.edu

858-822-5617

Janet Howard
Director, Digital Communications
Strategic Marketing Communications

jehoward@ucsd.edu

858-822-2986

Katie Ismael
Media Communications Specialist
Qualcomm Institute

kismael@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-5898

Erika Johnson
Manager, Strategic Marketing Communications
Student Affairs, Diversity, Preuss School

erjohnson@ucsd.edu

858-534-9372

Daniel Kane
Director of Communications
Jacobs School of Engineering

dbkane@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-3262

Inga Kiderra
Director of Communications
Division of Social Sciences

ikiderra@ucsd.edu

858-822-0661

Anthony King
Director of Communications
Division of Arts and Humanities

anthonypking@ucsd.edu

858-822-7824

Nicole Kolupailo
Communications Director
The Library

nkolupailo@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Liezel Labios
Public Information Representative
Jacobs School of Engineering

llabios@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-1124

Amy Lipsitz
Social Media Strategist
Strategic Communications

alipsitz@ucsd.edu

858-822-3353

Jericho Lopez
Director, Marketing and Business Development
UC San Diego Extension

jll054@ucsd.edu

858-534-9228

Laura Margoni
Executive Director of Strategic Communications
University Communications

lmargoni@ucsd.edu

858-822-2485

Chase Martin
Media Communications Specialist
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

ccm003@ucsd.edu

858-246-3101

Robert Monroe
Senior Public Information Rep
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

rmonroe@ucsd.edu

858-822-4487

Ioana Patringenaru-Buibas
Public Information Officer
Jacobs School of Engineering

ipatrin@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-0899

Judy Piercey
Sr. Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Strategic Marketing Communications

jpiercey@ucsd.edu

8585346128

Patrick Riedling
Senior Director of Executive Communications
Chancellor's Office

priedling@ucsd.edu

(858) 246-5712

Amanda Rubalcava
Marketing Communications Specialist
University Communications

arubalcava@ucsd.edu

858-534-3121

Joleen Schultz
Director, Marketing Communications
Rady School of Management

joleen@joleenschultzassociates.com

858-534-5468

Leslie Sepuka
Associate Director
Strategic Marketing Communications

lsepuka@ucsd.edu

858-822-5309

Lauren Wood
Director of Communications
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

lmwood@ucsd.edu

858-534-3626

Jan Zverina
Director of Communications
San Diego Supercomputer Center

jzverina@sdsc.edu

858-534-5111

Twitter

close
Chat now!
1.67842