Our News on Newswise

Newswise: PR20210510_CERN_CloudBank.jpg

A Match Made in … the Cloud

New international partnership between San Diego Supercomputer Center and particle physics powerhouse CERN leverages alliance with Strategic Blue, a UK-based Fintech company that helps organizations optimize procurement of cloud services.
13-May-2021 6:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: CopyCatcher-Combined-Image.jpg

New Genetic ‘CopyCatchers’ Detect Efficient and Precise CRISPR Editing in a Living Organism

Scientists have developed a novel CRISPR-based genetic sensor called a “CopyCatcher” to detect instances in which a genetic element is copied precisely from one chromosome to another in cells of a fruit fly.
10-May-2021 5:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: riekICRA2021.jpg

This system helps robots better navigate emergency rooms

Computer scientists at the University of California San Diego have developed a more accurate navigation system that will allow robots to better negotiate busy clinical environments in general and emergency departments more specifically. The...
10-May-2021 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: EVchargers.jpg

We Need to Build More EV Fast-Charging Stations, Researchers Say

A team of engineers recommends expanding fast-charging stations for electric vehicles as campuses and businesses start planning for a post-pandemic world. The recommendation is based on a study of charging patterns for electric vehicles on the...
6-May-2021 7:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: performance-at-conrad-prebys-music-center-UCSanDiego-ErikJepsen_1280.jpg

Conrad Prebys Foundation Awards $500,000 Grant to Support UC San Diego Department of Music Outreach

The University of California San Diego Department of Music will expand its post-pandemic reach with support from a $500,000 grant from The Conrad Prebys Foundation. The grant, which contributes to the Campaign for UC San Diego, helps launch the...
5-May-2021 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Thin, Large-Area Device Converts Infrared Light Into Images

An infrared imager developed by UC San Diego engineers could be used to see through smog and fog; easily locate blood vessels on a patient; and see through silicon wafers to inspect the quality of electronic boards. It is also slim, compact and less...
5-May-2021 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Wills-magpie.jpg

New View of Species Interactions Offers Clues to Preserve Threatened Ecosystems

Scientists from around the world have produced a new analysis—believed to be the most detailed study of specialized ecological data from global forests—that is furthering science’s understanding of species interactions and how diversity...
30-Apr-2021 1:25 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 2021 calendar landscape.png

Reflection and Recognition: Asian and Pacific Islander American Heritage Month

This May, UC San Diego honors the 15th anniversary of its Asian and Pacific Islander American Heritage Celebration. The theme for 2021 will focus on “Empowering Community Through Reflection and Recognition.” To kick off the heritage month, we...
29-Apr-2021 1:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Your Questions, Answered: Examining Mistrust and Vaccines

On Feb. 22, the University of California San Diego brought together a panel of industry experts and esteemed faculty to kick off the university’s “Evenings of Nonconventional Wisdom” online event series hosted in celebration of the...
19-Mar-2021 5:20 PM EDT

Wildfire Experts


11-Sep-2020 4:05 PM EDT

Newswise: 49557144758_1ce69b4e30_o.jpg

Expert source: Proximity detection in contact tracing

5-Aug-2020 3:25 PM EDT

Newswise: BertramGallant_HeadShotPhotoCredit-MarcyZimmerman.jpg

Does Remote Instruction Make Cheating Easier?

Today, colleges across the nation are making critical decisions for the coming academic year. For some, all courses will be online; for others, the decision may be to have some classes offered in person, and the rest conducted in remote or hybrid...
14-Jul-2020 7:35 PM EDT

Newswise: callender.jpg

Understanding the ethics of genetic engineering – let our experts at UC San Diego explain

7-Jun-2019 2:05 PM EDT

Newswise: siocomm_A_talley_001.jpg

Scripps Oceanographer Lynne Talley Available to Comment on the Topic of Atlantic Ocean Circulation

11-Apr-2018 5:05 PM EDT

Newswise: PR20171013_wifire_dc.jpg

Northern CA Wildfires Generate 1.5 Million Views of UC San Diego’s ‘Firemap’ Resource

A web-based tool recently developed by UC San Diego researchers under an NSF grant to perform data-driven predictive modeling and real-time tracking of fires has already been viewed about one million times and generated more than 115,000 unique...
13-Oct-2017 4:05 PM EDT

Newswise: EmmaFarley.jpg

UC San Diego Scientists Garner National High-Risk, High-Reward Awards

Emma Farley, an assistant professor at UC San Diego’s Division of Biological Sciences and School of Medicine, has been awarded the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. Melissa Gymrek, an assistant professor in the School of Medicine and...
5-Oct-2017 1:05 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UC San Diego
At the University of California San Diego, we embrace a culture of exploration and experimentation. Established in 1960, UC San Diego has been shaped by exceptional scholars who aren’t afraid to look deeper, challenge expectations and redefine conventional wisdom. As one of the top 15 research universities in the world, we are driving innovation and change to advance society, propel economic growth and make our world a better place. Learn more at www.ucsd.edu.

Contacts

Mario Aguilera
Director of Communications
Division of Physical Sciences

maguilera@ucsd.edu

(858) 822-5148

Ana Amado-Garcia
Marketing Manager
Rady School of Management

ana.amado@rady.ucsd.edu

Debra Bass
Sr. Communications and Public Relations Manager
UC San Diego Extension

dbass@ucsd.edu

858-822-7715

Melinda Battenberg
Public Information Officer
Rady School of Management

mbattenberg@ucsd.edu

858-534-0855

Christine Clark
Assistant Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Resource Mangement & Planning, School of Global Policy and Strategy

ceclark@ucsd.edu

858-534-7618

Katherine Connor
Media Communications Specialist
Jacobs School of Engineering

khconnor@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-8374

Cynthia Dillon
Director of Communications
Division of Physical Sciences

cdillon@ucsd.edu

858-822-6673

Michelle Franklin
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications
Research Affairs

m1franklin@ucsd.edu

858-534-8564

April Green
Communications Manager
Library

atgreen@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Brittany Hook
Communications Coordinator
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

bhook@ucsd.edu

858-822-5617

Jessica Hutchinson
Web Director

j1hutchinson@ucsd.edu

858-822-1523

Katie Ismael
Media Communications Specialist
Qualcomm Institute

kismael@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-5898

Erika Johnson
Manager, Strategic Marketing Communications
Student Affairs, Diversity, Preuss School

erjohnson@ucsd.edu

858-534-9372

Daniel Kane
Director of Communications
Jacobs School of Engineering

dbkane@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-3262

Inga Kiderra
Director of Communications
Division of Social Sciences

ikiderra@ucsd.edu

858-822-0661

Anthony King
Director of Communications
Division of Arts and Humanities

anthonypking@ucsd.edu

858-822-7824

Nicole Kolupailo
Communications Director
The Library

nkolupailo@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Liezel Labios
Public Information Representative
Jacobs School of Engineering

llabios@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-1124

Amy Lipsitz
Social Media Strategist
Strategic Communications

alipsitz@ucsd.edu

858-822-3353

Jericho Lopez
Director, Marketing and Business Development
UC San Diego Extension

jll054@ucsd.edu

858-534-9228

Laura Margoni
Executive Director of Strategic Communications
University Communications

lmargoni@ucsd.edu

858-822-2485

Chase Martin
Media Communications Specialist
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

ccm003@ucsd.edu

858-246-3101

Robert Monroe
Senior Public Information Rep
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

rmonroe@ucsd.edu

858-822-4487

Ioana Patringenaru-Buibas
Public Information Officer
Jacobs School of Engineering

ipatrin@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-0899

Judy Piercey
Sr. Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Strategic Marketing Communications

jpiercey@ucsd.edu

8585346128

Patrick Riedling
Senior Director of Executive Communications
Chancellor's Office

priedling@ucsd.edu

(858) 246-5712

Amanda Rubalcava
Content Strategist
University Communications

arubalcava@ucsd.edu

858-534-3121

Joleen Schultz
Director, Marketing Communications
Rady School of Management

joleen@joleenschultzassociates.com

858-534-5468

Leslie Sepuka
Associate Director
Strategic Marketing Communications

lsepuka@ucsd.edu

858-822-5309

Lauren Wood
Director of Communications
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

lmwood@ucsd.edu

858-534-3626

Ian Wright
Communications Coordinator

iwright@ucsd.edu

0015-858-246-5677

Jan Zverina
San Diego Supercomputer Center

jzverina@sdsc.edu

858-534-5111

Twitter

close
2.00255