Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of California San Diego
La Jolla, CA USA

Our News on Newswise

Chronicle_of_Higher_Ed_2019.jpg

Chronicle of Higher Ed Names UC San Diego One of Nation’s Most Generous Colleges

In a recent listing published by The Chronicle of Higher Education, the University of California San Diego is ranked 14th among the nation’s top 20 four-year public institutions that raised the most in private donations in the 2018 fiscal year,...
13-Feb-2019 6:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

comet017_2k.jpg

Researchers Flood Boundaries of Chemistry

The Paesani Research Group works to collect data on the properties of materials like water, apply it to machine learning, optimize the material through modifications based on simulations and then synthesize an ideal material that could be used, for...
13-Feb-2019 4:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

mammary-stiffening.jpg

How breast tissue stiffening promotes breast cancer development

By examining how mammary cells respond in a stiffness-changing hydrogel, researchers discovered that several pathways work together to signal breast cells to turn cancerous. The work could inspire new approaches to treating patients and inhibiting...
12-Feb-2019 5:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Dave_Harris.jpg

Three UC San Diego Playwrights to Receive World Premieres at Prestigious Humana New Play Festival

Three new works selected for this year’s prestigious Humana Festival of New American Plays were written by University of California San Diego playwrights, marking the first time three UC San Diego MFA students and alumni have had their work...
11-Feb-2019 10:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

AIRD_AGN_image_cutout.png

Big-Picture Research links Growth of Galaxies, Black Holes

UC San Diego’s Alison Coil and colleagues James Aird (University of Leicester, UK) and Antonis Georgakakis (National Observatory of Athens) recently published research findings to reveal how supermassive black holes are growing at the center of...
8-Feb-2019 5:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

NatureComm_figure_NUCLEIACIDJOINTS.png

Biochemists make ‘Elbow Room’ for Nanostructures with new Toolkit

New findings published in “Nature Communications” could apply to the manufacture of self-assembling nanomaterials and the creation of environmentally responsive sensors. This could lead to new methods for making nanoscale devices and more...
6-Feb-2019 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Monroviaschool.jpg

SDSC Researchers Team with UNICEF for Liberian Schools Project

The United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) has been working with researchers at the San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC) and other parts of UC San Diego to determine the location of existing Liberian schools to provide them with resources and...
4-Feb-2019 1:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Alice_and_Bob_FreeWill.jpg

Researchers limit experimental Free Will to fake Quantum Entanglement

Researchers derived a new set of modified Bell inequalities that apply to cases in which either or both experimenters have only limited freedom to select measurements. They constructed local realist models that mimicked predictions of quantum theory...
1-Feb-2019 12:05 PM EST Add to Favorites


see all news

Our Experts on Newswise

siocomm_A_talley_001.jpg

Scripps Oceanographer Lynne Talley Available to Comment on the Topic of Atlantic Ocean Circulation

11-Apr-2018 5:05 PM EDT

PR20171013_wifire_dc.jpg

Northern CA Wildfires Generate 1.5 Million Views of UC San Diego’s ‘Firemap’ Resource

A web-based tool recently developed by UC San Diego researchers under an NSF grant to perform data-driven predictive modeling and real-time tracking of fires has already been viewed about one million times and generated more than 115,000 unique...
13-Oct-2017 4:05 PM EDT

EmmaFarley.jpg

UC San Diego Scientists Garner National High-Risk, High-Reward Awards

Emma Farley, an assistant professor at UC San Diego’s Division of Biological Sciences and School of Medicine, has been awarded the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. Melissa Gymrek, an assistant professor in the School of Medicine and...
5-Oct-2017 1:05 PM EDT

20160727-Best_Teacher-3311-ok.jpg

Structural Engineer Available for Interviews About Damage in Mexico Earthquake.

20-Sep-2017 1:05 PM EDT

Saving the World, One Robot Swarm-Infested Hurricane at a Time

11-Sep-2017 6:05 PM EDT

Seismologists Available to Discuss North Korea 6.3 Seismic Event

3-Sep-2017 3:05 PM EDT

Researcher Available to Discuss Impact of Solar Eclipse on Solar Power Generation

16-Aug-2017 7:05 AM EDT

Engineering Professors and Graduate Students Talk Nanotechnology and AI at San Diego Comic-Con

19-Jul-2017 4:05 PM EDT

see all experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UC San Diego
At the University of California San Diego, we constantly push boundaries and challenge expectations. Established in 1960, UC San Diego has been shaped by exceptional scholars who aren’t afraid to take risks and redefine conventional wisdom. Today, as one of the top 15 research universities in the world, we are driving innovation and change to advance society, propel economic growth and make our world a better place. Learn more at www.ucsd.edu.

Experts

  • Pradeep Khosla

    Chancellor

    Keywords:
    ---
     
     
  • Pamela Radcliff

    Department of History Chair

    Keywords:
    History, Uc San Diego, Spain
     
     

Contacts

Mario Aguilera
Director of Communications
Biological Sciences

maguilera@ucsd.edu

(858) 822-5148

Melinda Battenberg
Public Information Officer
Rady School of Management

mbattenberg@ucsd.edu

858-534-0855

Christine Clark
Manager, Marketing and Communications
University Communications

ceclark@ucsd.edu

858-534-7618

Alicia Clarke
Communications Manager
Qualcomm Institute

amclarke@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-5825

Katherine Connor
Media Communications Specialist
Jacobs School of Engineering

khconnor@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-8374

Cynthia Dillon
Director of Communications
Division of Physical Sciences

cdillon@ucsd.edu

858-822-0142

Michelle Franklin
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications
Research Affairs

m1franklin@ucsd.edu

858-534-8564

Jeff Gattas
Assistant Chancellor
University Communications and Public Affairs

jgattas@ucsd.edu

858-822-6914

Jade Griffin
Associate Director, Marketing and Communications
University Communications

jadegriffin@ucsd.edu

858-822-5309

Brittany Hook
Communications Coordinator
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

bhook@ucsd.edu

858-822-5617

Janet Howard
Director, Digital Communications
University Communications

jehoward@ucsd.edu

858-822-2986

Katie Ismael
Media Communications Specialist
Qualcomm Institute

kismael@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-5898

Erika Johnson
Coordinator, Marketing and Communications
University Communications

erjohnson@ucsd.edu

858-534-9372

Daniel Kane
Director of Communications
Jacobs School of Engineering

dbkane@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-3262

Inga Kiderra
Director of Communications
Social Sciences

ikiderra@ucsd.edu

858-822-0661

Anthony King
Director of Communications
Division of Arts and Humanities

anthonypking@ucsd.edu

858-822-7824

Nicole Kolupailo
Communications Director (Interim)
The Library

nkolupailo@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Liezel Labios
Public Information Representative
Jacobs School of Engineering

llabios@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-1124

Juanita LaHaye
Marketing Manager Public Programs
UC San Diego Extension

jlahaye@ucsd.edu

858-822-2026

Laura Margoni
Senior Director of Communications
Strategic Communications

lmargoni@ucsd.edu

858-822-2485

Clinton Martin
Media Communications Specialist
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

ccm003@ucsd.edu

858-246-3101

Robert Monroe
Communications Specialist
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

rmonroe@ucsd.edu

858-822-4487

Ioana Patringenaru-Buibas
Public Information Officer
Jacobs School of Engineering

ipatrin@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-0899

Lisa Petrillo
Communications/Media Specialist
Halıcıoğlu Data Science Institute

lpetrillo@ucsd.edu

858-382-1252

Judy Piercey
Sr. Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Strategic Marketing Communications

jpiercey@ucsd.edu

8585346128

Joleen Schultz
Marketing Communications Director
Rady School of Management

joleen.schultz@rady.ucsd.edu

858-534-5468

Jennifer White
Marketing and Communications Specialist
UC San Diego Extension

jlw043@ucsd.edu

858-534-2013

Lauren Wood
Director of Communications
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

lmwood@ucsd.edu

858-534-3626

Jan Zverina
Director of Communications
San Diego Supercomputer Center

jzverina@sdsc.edu

858-534-5111

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!