During its virtual Annual Meeting, the Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) announced the addition of five new Council members and the rise of Robyn Wilson Ph.D., The Ohio State University, as the new President of its 2021 Council. Wilson succeeds Seth Guikema, Ph.D., University of Michigan, who has completed his term and will continue to serve on the Council as past-president.  

Other officers elected include Ragnar Löfstedt, Ph.D., Kings College London, as president-elect, and Amanda Boyd, Ph.D., Washington State University, as secretary. Newly elected Council members serving SRA are James Hammitt, Ph.D., Harvard University, Marja Ylönen, Ph.D., Technical Research Centre of Finland, and Roshanak Nateghi, Ph.D., Purdue University.     

Under Wilson’s leadership, the Council and its committees are poised to continue delivering on the organization’s strategic plan that features SRA’s year-round thought leadership, engagement with membership and the broader society, and a renewed focus on the importance of risk science in policy and decision-making, and science in general. 

Council members who will continue to serve: Mark Borsuk, Ph.D., Duke University; Weihsueh Chiu, Ph.D., Texas A&M University; Nick Pidgeon, Ph.D., Cardiff University; Pia-Johanna Schweizer, Ph.D., Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, Germany; Vanessa Schweizer, Ph.D., University of Waterloo, Canada; Benjamin Trump, Ph.D., U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; Amina Wilkins, U.S. EPA; and Brett Burk, SRA Executive Secretariat.  


About SRA  The Society for Risk Analysis is a multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary, scholarly, international society that provides an open forum for all those interested in risk analysis. SRA was established in 1980. Since 1981, it has continuously published Risk Analysis: An International Journal, the leading scholarly journal in the field. For more information, visit www.sra.org



Register for reporter access to contact details

Society for Risk Analysis Annual Meeting, Dec-2020