Swarthmore, PA USA
Add to Favorites | Newsroom RSS | Share

Our News on Newswise

Swarthmore Well-Represented at Paris Climate Talks


Swarthmore College is well-represented at what many are calling the most significant climate meeting in history. Five students and two faculty members are part of an interdisciplinary delegation attending the 21st United Nations Framework Convention...
7-Dec-2015 10:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Why Has America Stopped Winning Wars? Swarthmore Expert Explains in New Book


In his new book, Swarthmore College Political Scientist Dominic Tierney explains why the United States is struggling on the battlefield, how Washington can resolve a failing war, and how America can start winning again.
9-Jun-2015 8:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

How a Swarthmore Biologist Used eBay and 3D Printing to Enhance His Laboratory

In need of a microscope to heat shock and image transgenic plants but with a limited budget, Associate Professor of Biology Nick Kaplinsky turned to eBay, finding the hardware he needed to build his custom RootScope for under $10,000.
27-Apr-2015 8:15 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Does a Person's Sense of Smell Reveal a Weight Bias?


Researchers discovered that visual cues associated with overweight or obese people can influence one’s sense of smell, and that the perceiver’s body mass index matters, too.
7-Apr-2015 8:15 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Sense of Smell May Reveal Weight Bias


A new study suggests that a person’s sense of smell may reveal a weight bias, one that is likely more pervasive than previously believed.
26-Mar-2015 8:25 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Swarthmore Names Valerie Smith as New President


Valerie Smith, a distinguished scholar of African American literature and culture and current Dean of the College at Princeton University, was named the 15th president of Swarthmore College on Saturday, Feb., 21, following unanimous agreement by its...
21-Feb-2015 12:30 PM EST Add to Favorites

What Motivates College Students to Get the Flu Shot? Sometimes, It's as Little as $10


The preliminary findings from a new study conducted by a team of Swarthmore College researchers indicates that a combination of financial incentives – even as little as $10 – and an endorsement from close friends might by the best way to...
23-Oct-2014 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Dinosaur Family Tree Gives Fresh Insight Into Rapid Rise of Birds


The study shows that the familiar anatomical features of birds – such as feathers, wings and wishbones – all first evolved piecemeal in their dinosaur ancestors over tens of millions of years. However, once a fully functioning bird body shape...
25-Sep-2014 12:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Our YouTube Videos