Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 61969925833b6_Dr. Clapp.jpg

IU researcher leads national work focused on developing treatments for inherited childhood cancers

An Indiana University cancer researcher is leading an $11.4 million grant from the National Cancer Institute in which he and others across the country will work on identifying new treatments for tumors that develop in children, adolescents and...
18-Nov-2021 4:35 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 6195511937916_element_12_137029f9e793c045e35728a2a0504b2d-936-Adams_Zack_edited.jpg

$2.7M grant expands psychiatry-based substance use disorder services for adolescents, caregivers

Indiana University School of Medicine faculty are expanding the school's psychiatry-based substance use disorder services for adolescents and their caregivers through a five-year, $2.7 million grant from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health...
17-Nov-2021 3:40 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 6193f71131b40_gpball-lrg.jpg

Newer consumer product industry CEOs more likely to issue recalls than veteran leaders

Newly tenured CEOs in the consumer products industry are more likely to announce a product safety recall than CEOs who have been in the position longer, according to a new study of 25 years of recalls at publicly traded companies.
17-Nov-2021 12:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 61940820830e9_brain-figure-final.jpg

IU neuroscientists explore mysterious ‘events’ in the brain that open new avenues for understanding brain injuries and disorders

Using a new model of brain activity, Indiana University computational neuroscientists are exploring striking bursts of activity in the human brain that may have potential to serve as biomarkers for brain disease and conditions such as depression,...
16-Nov-2021 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 619277d81b016_wmvdj9i0x8_actual.jpg

Dreaming of being an investment shark? Better figure out if you're a night owl or morning person

The early bird might get the worm, but if you're a night owl looking to invest in the next big startup, making such a decision first thing in the morning might not be the best idea, according to a new study by researchers at Indiana University and...
15-Nov-2021 10:25 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 618bf8c87640c_YOON_Haewon-hires.jpg

'Tuition myopia' may negatively impact students' financial future, study finds

A study led by the Indiana University Kelley School of Business found that students who selected "low-cost low-return" colleges experienced lower lifetime income -- as well as a higher chance of bankruptcy -- after graduation.
10-Nov-2021 12:45 PM EST Add to Favorites

Labor shortages expected to continue in 2022, Kelley economic forecast predicts

Economists at the Indiana University Kelley School of Business expect the U.S. and Indiana economies to remain somewhat resilient amid challenges presented by COVID-19 and supply-chain issues, but labor shortages will continue to be a major concern...
4-Nov-2021 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 61717ae999a8b_headshot.jpg

IU study illustrates the need to treat smoking and mental health problems together

IU study illustrates the need to treat mental health problems and smoking together.
21-Oct-2021 10:50 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Founded in 1820, Indiana University is one of the world's foremost public institutions. With more than 111,000 students and 19,000 employees statewide, IU continues to pursue its core missions of education and research while building a foundation for the university's enduring strengths in teaching and learning, world-class scholarship, innovation, creative activity, community engagement and academic freedom. Bloomington is the flagship campus of the university, and each one of IU's seven campuses is an accredited, four-year degree-granting institution.

Experts

Contacts

Niha Alasapuri
News and Media Intern

nalasapu@iu.edu

Cadence Baugh Chang
Digital Communications Specialist

clbaugh@iu.edu

Haley Begay
Communications Intern

hbegay@iu.edu

James Boyd
Director of Marketing and Communications
at School of Public and Environmental Affairs

joboyd@indiana.edu

(812) 856-5490

Barbara Brosher
Presidential communications and public affairs specialist

bbrosher@iu.edu

812-855-1175

Lauren Bryant
Editor of Research & Creative Activity

labryant@indiana.edu

812-855-4152

Chuck Carney
Director of Media Relations

ccarney@iu.edu

812-855-1892

Jamie Cesanek
Intern Journalist

jcesanek@iu.edu

Kelsey Cook
Associate Director of Research Communications

kelrcook@iu.edu

(317) 274-5090

Amber Denney
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications

ambdenne@iu.edu

317-278-7703

Rosanne Emerick
Administrative Business Manager

rdye@iu.edu

812-855-5123

Joel Fosha
IIDC Office of Public Relations
Science

foshaj@indiana.edu

812-855-6508

Kevin Fryling
Senior News and Media Specialist, Science

kfryling@iu.edu

812-856-2988

Sherry Garrity
Arts/Humanities

sgarrity@indiana.edu

812-856-0695

Kim Hannel
News Editor

khannel@iu.edu

317-274-7733

Drew Hansen
Communications Intern

hansendr@iu.edu

317-999-8090

Leigh Hedger
Digital Content and Analytics Senior Coordinator

lahedger@iu.edu

317-274-5494

Jonathan Hines
Communications & Outreach Manager, IU's Environmental Resilience Institute

johines@iu.edu

812-856-3610

Kirk Johannesen
Communications Consultant

ktjohann@iu.edu

812-855-2193

Mary Keck
Communications Manager

marykeck@iu.edu

(812) 856-2148

Laura Klaum
Director of External Affairs & Special Projects

lklaum@iupui.edu

317-274-1484

Sally Krause
Director of Marketing & Strategic Communications
School of Nursing

skrause@iu.edu

317-278-2048

Bill Layden
Adjunct Professor of Practice

bilayden@iu.edu

812-855-4867

Steve Martin
Senior Communications Specialist
Technology Commercialization; Arts and Humanities

stgmart@iu.edu

317-278-1505

Bethany Nolan
News and Media Specialist

nolanb@indiana.edu

812-855-6494

Mary Olk
Communications Specialist/Content Strategist

meolk@iu.edu

317-274-5432

Darrin Pack
Sr. Content and Media Strategist

darpack@iu.edu

Jennifer Piurek
Director, Communications and Special Projects
Office of the Provost

jpiurek@indiana.edu

812-856-4886

Ryan Piurek
Assistant Vice President, Presidential Communications and Special Projects

rpiurek@indiana.edu

812-855-5393

Amanda Roach
Assistant Director Strategic Communications

ajr1@iu.edu

812-856-3717

John Schwarb
Senior Communications Specialist

schwarbj@iu.edu

317-274-2195

Avery Scott
Communications Intern

avescott@iu.edu

6308818186

April Toler
Senior Associate Director of Communications, Office of the Vice President for Research

artoler@iu.edu

812-855-3851

Debbie Ungar
Communications Manager for Center for Global Health

debungar@iu.edu

3175019043

George Vlahakis
Associate Director of Communications and Media Relations
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

vlahakis@iu.edu

812-855-0846

Holly Vonderheit
Executive Director, Strategic Communications

hvonderh@iu.edu

317-274-5434

Karen Walker

WALKERK@IU.EDU

8128764539

Michelle Watson
News Editor

mw89@iu.edu

812-856-9035

Justin Whitaker
Communications Consultant

jw57@iu.edu

317-966-8177

Nicole Wilkins
Executive Director of Research Communications

nnwilkin@iu.edu

812-856-2119

Marah Yankey
Senior News and Media Specialist

mqharbis@iu.edu

(812) 856-1442

Andrea Zeek
Senior Content and Media Strategist

anzeek@iu.edu

317-278-1703

Twitter

close
0.67068