AERA Announces 2013 Fellows

Article ID: 600372

Released: 14-Mar-2013 12:55 PM EDT

Source Newsroom: American Educational Research Association (AERA)

Newswise — WASHINGTON, March 12, 2013─The American Educational Research Association (AERA) has announced the selection of 23 scholars as 2013 AERA Fellows. These individuals are being recognized for their exceptional scientific or scholarly contributions to education research or significant contributions to the field through the development of research opportunities and settings. The new Fellows, listed below, were nominated by their peers, selected by the Fellows Program Committee, and approved by the AERA Council.

The new Fellows will be inducted on Sunday, April 28, during the Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California. They join 534 current AERA Fellows.

2013 AERA Fellows
Frank Achtenhagen, University of Goettingen
Philip G. Altbach, Boston College
Arthur Applebee, SUNY, University at Albany
Thomas Bailey, Teachers College, Columbia University
Deborah Ball, University of Michigan
Cherry Banks, University of Washington, Bothell
Betsy Becker, Florida State University
Carol Camp-Yeakey, Washington University in St. Louis
Michelene Chi, Arizona State University
Victoria Chou, University of Illinois, Chicago
Jill Fitzgerald, MetaMetrics; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Marybeth Gasman, University of Pennsylvania
Jeffrey Henig, Teachers College, Columbia University
David H. Jonassen, University of Georgia
David F. Labaree, Stanford University
Jaekyung Lee, University of Buffalo, SUNY
Larry H. Ludlow, Boston College
Andrew Martin, University of Sydney
Russell Rumberger, University of California, Santa Barbara
Frances King Stage, New York University
Keith E. Stanovich, University of Toronto
Amy Stuart Wells, Teachers College, Columbia University
Kenneth Zeichner, University of Washington

# # #

To reach AERA Communications, call (202)238-3200; Amy Weiss ( or Lucy Cunningham (

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the national interdisciplinary research association for approximately 25,000 scholars who undertake research in education. Founded in 1916, AERA aims to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.


Chat now!