TMS Installs New Board Leadership at 143rd Annual Meeting and Exhibition

Article ID: 614284

Released: 26-Feb-2014 10:40 AM EST

Source Newsroom: TMS (The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society)

Newswise — February 24, 2014 – Warrendale, PA (USA) - The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) installed new officers during its 143rd Annual Meeting & Exhibition February 16-20 in San Diego, California.

Hani Henein, a TMS member for 31 years, took the helm as the 58th President of TMS. Henein is a professor at the University of Alberta, Canada, and director of the Advanced Materials and Processing Laboratory (AMPL) there.

In his previous role as Vice President of TMS, Henein worked to foster the development and involvement of young professionals in TMS, and hopes to continue that work in his new role. He plans to build on TMS’s past successes and will lead the formulation of the organization’s next strategic plan.

“2014 will be a great year building on our successes of the past, and providing TMS members with greater opportunities for networking, dissemination and service,” he said. “We will be working for a more prosperous TMS with greater international stature, and a well-endowed TMS Foundation serving the needs of students and young professionals, to ensure a bright future for our TMS community.”

Henein earned his B.S. and M.S. degrees from McGill University in Montreal, Canada, and his doctorate from the University of British Columbia. He is a registered Professional Engineer in the Province of Alberta.

The main thrust of his research is in the area of advanced materials processing, developing new near-net shape processing routes. He has one patent, published 250 technical papers, and edited nine books. Additionally, he has received numerous professional awards and honors.

As a member of the Society, Henein served on the TMS Board as the Director of Programming from 2009 to 2012 and also has served on numerous technical committees.

The following directors also were installed at the TMS 2014 Annual Meeting & Exhibition:

Patrice E.A. Turchi, distinguished member of the technical staff and group leader in the Condensed Matter and Materials Division of the Physical and Life Sciences Directorate at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL), took office as TMS Vice President. He has been an active member of TMS for more than 25 years, and has served on the TMS board as Chair of the Electronic, Magnetic & Photonic Materials Division (EMPMD). The office is part of the TMS three-year presidential cycle, so Turchi will serve as President in 2015.

Eric N. Brown, the group leader for neutron science and technology in the Physics Division at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL), became the new TMS Content Director.

Jeffrey Fergus, a professor of materials engineering at Auburn University, was installed as the new Professional Development Director.

Roger Narayan, a professor in the Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of North Carolina and North Carolina State University, joined the board as a TMS Director and Chair of the Functional Materials Division (formerly the Electronic, Magnetic & Photonic Materials Division).

Mark Schlesinger, a professor of metallurgical engineering at the Missouri University of Science and Technology in Rolla, Missouri, was installed as a TMS Director and Chair of the Extraction & Processing Division (EPD).

ABOUT TMS The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) is a member-driven international professional society dedicated to fostering the exchange of learning and ideas across the entire range of minerals, metals, and materials science and engineering, from minerals processing and primary metals production, to basic research and the advanced applications of materials. Included among its more than 12,000 professional and student members are metallurgical and materials engineers, scientists, researchers, educators, and administrators from more than 70 countries on six continents. For more information on TMS, visit


Chat now!