Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Names 2014-2015 Board of Directors

Article ID: 618400

Released: 30-May-2014 11:30 AM EDT

Source Newsroom: Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

Newswise — CHICAGO – Nineteen national leaders in nutrition, health and business will serve as the 2014-2015 Board of Directors of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, the world’s largest organization of food and nutrition professionals. The Board is responsible for strategic planning, policy development and fiscal management for the Academy.

Members of the Academy’s Board of Directors will serve from June 1 until May 31, 2015. They are:

Sonja L. Connor, MS, RDN, LD, Portland, Ore., President
Connor is a research associate professor in the department of medicine at Oregon Health & Science University; director of the university’s nutrition elective for medical students and developer of the nutrition course for physician assistant students.

Tracey Bates, MPH, RD, LDN, Raleigh, N.C., Director-at-Large
Bates is a child nutrition specialist with the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.

Don W. Bradley, MD, MHS-CL, Durham, N.C., Public Member
Bradley is senior vice president for health care and chief medical officer at Blue Cross-Blue Shield of North Carolina.

Catherine W. Christie, PhD, RDN, LD/N, FAND, Jacksonville, Fla., Director-at-Large
Christie is an associate dean and professor at Brooks College of Health and the graduate program director in the department of nutrition and dietetics at the University of North Florida.

Evelyn F. Crayton, EdD, RDN, LDN, Montgomery, Ala., President-Elect
Crayton is the director and nutrition consultant at Living Well Associates and a professor emeritus at Auburn University.

Denice Ferko-Adams, MPH, RDN, LDN, Nazareth, Pa., Director-at-Large
Ferko-Adams is the president of Wellness Press LLC, a provider of worksite wellness campaigns, cooking demonstrations and online consulting services.

Margaret P. Garner, MS, RDN, LD, CIC, Tuscaloosa, Ala., Director-at-Large
Garner is an associate professor of family medicine and assistant dean for health education and outreach at the University of Alabama College of Community Health Sciences.

Sandra L. Gill, PhD, Lisle, Ill., Public Member
Gill is dean of the College of Business and associate professor of business at Benedictine University.

Diane W. Heller, MMSc, RDN, LD, Marietta, Ga., House of Delegates Director
Heller is a consultant at Nutrition Solutions, providing worksite nutrition programs at corporations and physicians’ offices and nutrition education in schools.

Marcia A. Kyle, RDN, LD, CDE, Rockport, Maine, House of Delegates Director
Kyle is a nutrition and diabetes educator at PenBay Medical Center’s Nutrition and Diabetes Care Center; coordinator of PenBay’s National Diabetes Prevention Program and a consultant for Waldo County (Maine) Head Start.

Nancy M. Lewis, PhD, RDN, FADA, Stokesdale, N.C., House of Delegates Past Speaker
Lewis is a professor emeritus of nutrition and health sciences at the University of Nebraska.

Donna S. Martin, EdS, RDN, LD, SNS, Augusta, Ga., Treasurer
Martin is director of the Burke County (Ga.) school nutrition program.

Dr. Glenna McCollum, MPH, RDN, Chandler, Ariz., Past President
McCollum is vice president of health and nutrition for PhycoBiosciences and serves on Arizona’s statewide leadership board of directors for Project CENTRL (Center for Rural Leadership).

Aida Miles, MMSc, RD, LD, Minneapolis, Minn., Speaker-Elect, House of Delegates
Miles is the director of the coordinated master’s program in public health nutrition at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health.

Terri J. Raymond, MA, RD, CD, Auburn, Wash., Academy Foundation Chair
Raymond is the president and owner of Dietitian Consulting Service LLC.

Mary K. Russell, MS, RDN, LDN, FAND, Chicago, Ill., Past Treasurer
Russell is a senior manager, medical affairs, at Baxter Healthcare and a lecturer at the Rosalind Franklin School of Medicine and Science.

Elise A. Smith, MA, RDN, LD, FAND, Brandon, Miss., House of Delegates Speaker
Smith is the director of media and special projects and a consultant for Nutrition Systems Consulting.

Kay Wolf, PhD, RD, LD, Dublin, Ohio, Treasurer-Elect
Wolf is a professor, graduate studies chair and director of curriculum at the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences and director of the Health Sciences and Medical Dietetics Division at The Ohio State University College of Medicine.

Patricia M. Babjak, GSLIS, Chicago, Ill., Chief Executive Officer
Babjak has been the Academy’s CEO since 2009. Previously, she was executive vice president for strategic management and governance and director of the Commission on Dietetic Registration.

Full biographies and photos of the members of the Academy’s Board of Directors are available by emailing


All registered dietitians are nutritionists – but not all nutritionists are registered dietitians. The Academy’s Board of Directors and Commission on Dietetic Registration have determined that those who hold the credential registered dietitian (RD) may optionally use “registered dietitian nutritionist” (RDN) instead. The two credentials have identical meanings.

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the world’s largest organization of food and nutrition professionals. The Academy is committed to improving the nation’s health and advancing the profession of dietetics through research, education and advocacy. Visit the Academy at


Chat now!