Webcast Media Briefing: Discoveries in Acoustics

Article ID: 595113

Released: 18-Oct-2012 4:00 PM EDT

Source Newsroom: Acoustical Society of America (ASA)

Newswise — Scientists will present some of the latest findings from the science of sound at a webcast press briefing at 10:30 a.m. CDT (11:30 a.m. EDT) on Tuesday, October 23, 2012. The briefing will cover select topics being presented at the 164th meeting of the Acoustical Society of America (ASA) in Kansas City, Mo., October 22 – 26, 2012.Media representatives not attending the meeting are invited to participate in this live webcast.

What: Media Webcast: Notable Research from Acoustical Society Meeting

When: Tuesday, October 23, 2012; 10:30 – 11:30 a.m. CDT (11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. EDT)

Webcast Registration: http://www.aipwebcasting.com

Panelists• Mustafa Abbasi, University of Texas, will discuss “seeing” through flames with acoustics• Diana Deutsch, University of California, will discuss the genesis of perfect pitch• Michael Stocker, Ocean Conservation Research, will explore how whaling and noise in the ocean are related• Randal Ali, Penn State University, will present a tool for monitoring the temperature of nuclear fuel rods • Andrew Piacsek, Central Washington University, will present context and final thoughts on the presentations and relay questions to the rest of the panel

ASA Worldwide Press Room (news releases, lay-language papers, etc.): http://www.acoustics.org Main meeting website: http://acousticalsociety.org/Searchable index of meeting abstracts: http://asa.aip.org/asasearch.html

# # #


Comment/Share





Chat now!